Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita 24.5cc 4-Stroke Blower

Makita 24.5cc 4-Stroke Blower
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Review 1 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit!
9 Nov 2015
By
, Kilkeel
" Bought one of these a few years ago & have found it to be a fantastic addition to my garden equipment! Originally used with the vacuum attachments - worked very well - but more recently switched it over to blowing setup. Simple to start, once you get the knack; no oil/petrol mix required so easy to fuel; good, controllable power; can be a bit heavy after lengthy use so have to swap arms regularly. I'm left-handed so generally use that side, therefore the impeller is away from my body though when swapping sides, the suction can be enough that you can feel it tugging at your clothes although the impeller is well covered so shouldn't cause an issue.
One major issue is that it takes about 20 minutes to change over to the vacuum system plus it can be rather fiddly. So I bought an electric blow/suck machine to do the vacuuming to have the best of both worlds without the hassle of changeover. Bit of a mistake as the electric machine is even heavier to haul about a large area. So...bit the bullet & bought a second Makita to use solely as the vacuum machine & so avoid having to waste time changing parts. Pricey decision but will pay off in the longrun as these are definitely built to last.
Would not hesitate to recommend this machine - no regrets at all. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good, a little bit heavy
2 Nov 2015
By
, Newbury
" This blower performs well, has been reliable and easy to use in the short period I have had it. Plenty of power, the trigger sensitivity allows you to properly control the strength of gust! Sorted out the leaves on a large driveway and front garden in a couple of hours... if only it would also bag up the leaves for me and take them to the tip.
The machine is well balanced but a little heavier than I would like. The ease of use makes up for this:
- Starts first time from cold or warm. Good choke control.
- Easy to set up from new, pretty much just add oil and petrol.
- 4 stroke engine so no mixing petrol and oil.
- Packs away easily when finished.
- Decent user manual.
Picked it up on the last day of Screwfix offering £50 off the usual catalogue price, so obviously very pleased about that! "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blew me away
17 Oct 2015
By
, West lancs
" Great product unlike a lot of people I am not impressed by makita products as opposed to say Dewalt in drills etc but this is really an excellent durable bit of kit great motor and very powerful light compared to some and worked hard and up to task cleared a large area without a problem. idiot proof instructions if read and adhered to, and useful instructions for maintenance and troubleshooting far better than Mc Culloch product also that I've used in the past "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
9 Oct 2015
By
, Hailsham
" I purchased this to clear the leaves and debris from a very "leafy" garden and it has not disappointed. Selected next day delivery to collect in store and received a text informing me that it was in (earlier than expected). Staff at the Hailsham store were extremely helpful both before and after purchase - well done Screwfix.
Followed instructions, added oil, fuel, assembled pipes and it was up and running within 15 mins - started on the first pull. Quality is well up to the usual Makita high standard and I have no issues with stating that it is built to last. I have used it three times now and it always starts quickly and is very easy to use and control. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Petrol Leaf Blower
9 Oct 2015
By
, Cannock Chase,Staffs
" I've seen other people using these blowers and always fancied having one. Saw this Makita make on offer at Screwfix and I couldn't resist. Slightly heavy at first (never used one before) but you get used to it quickly as it's nicely balanced. Plenty of power to deal with wet leaves and debris.
Do not regret the purchase for one second.
Highly recommend this make and model.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Product
15 Sep 2015
By
, East Grinstead
" This machine has to be the best garden blower I've ever purchased. It's simple to set up, light to use and also very quiet due to the 4 stroke engine. Genius !!!! Well done Makita..... "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blower
1 May 2015
By
, Buckingham
" Easy to set up and start .no faff with mixing petrol I tested it on a dusty old shed it really cleaned the place up I would recommend this product ! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most Excellent !!
20 Nov 2014
By
, WARWICK
" I scoured the internet and looked at all sorts of Blower/Vacuums….. This one had really good reviews . There were one or two disappointed buyers but if you are a person who is even only half practical minded you will have no worries using this machine. It is brilliant , I love it.
Yes, putting the oil in was a bit fiddly but you just take your time …and , yes, the tubes are on the tight side but take your time and you will be fine( some people have no patience ).
If you take care of your tools , they will look after you…… keep it clean , keep it serviced and this will serve you well……………Why did I not buy one of these earlier ??
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gret Blower
20 Aug 2014
By
, Bristol
" Another quality piece of kit from Makita.
I have owned this for about a year now.
I used it for blowing the leaves into a massive pile in the half acre garden last Autumn.
I also use it to blow all the grass off of my ride on Lawn Mower after I have cut the grass, and around the paths as I am too lazy to use a brush!
The blower starts first time, even with my Jack Russell trying to attack it as soon as I start pulling on the pull cord.
Being a 4 stroke it is quieter, with no mixing procedures. Although it probably makes it a bit heavier than a 2-stroke counterpart, it really is quite a light and well designed machine.
I find I have to make sure I button up my gardening jacket when I'm using it, as it tends to get sucked against the air input.
It can be used in either hand easily.
I did have a problem with it for a bit when it was quite new, where it kept cutting out. I eventually tracked it down to the fuel filling cap had a bit of muck in the breather, so as the fuel was being used it would create a vacuum in the petrol tank. I cleaned out the piece of muck, and I haven't had a problem since. Starts first time every time, and blows really well. I'm gonna marry it!
"
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Machine
2 Dec 2013
By
, glasgow
" Had this blower for over a year now, starts every time much better than a 2 stroke machine, had a Robyi machine for 9 months and threw it in the bin would never restart when warm.
Great blowing power and quiet first class machine.
"
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Blower
17 Sep 2013
By
, North Wales
" I'd been thinking of getting a petrol blower for a while and having read the reviews decided to go for this one. No regrets. Effective and quiet, though I don't think I could spend long periods with it because of weight. Not a problem in my case. Recommended. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professional blower
13 Jan 2013
By
, Slough
" Professional blower makes light work of leaves and medium size twigs.
It's four stroke so is a lot quieter than two stroke counterparts.
Have used this for over forty hours now. It starts first time every time.
It is not the best blower to handle for long periods (over two hours) but it is just as powerful as other blowers.
It is well balanced and has a lot less vibration than two stroke blowers.
No messy mixing of fuel as it is four stroke straight from the can.
I have used this product professionally, the only drawback is the air intake. As a right handed person it occasionally sucks trousers against the air intake.
BUT, it can be used two handed very easily and has the option of using the flat blower attachment to blow leaves upto ten feet plus making light work of leaf blowing on a three acre lawn.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb
17 Nov 2012
By
, East Yorkshire
" As usual from Makita - an excellent product which appears to have been made to the usual Makita standards.
VERY easy to start, well balanced and comfortable to run, thus not tiring. Engine noise well below many similar products.
Well worth the extra price over cheaper makes. No need to pay any more for more expensive units.
Ask about reliability in ten years. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great kit
29 Oct 2012
By
, guildford
" Starts perfectly every time, plenty of power and a lot quieter than the normal 2 stroke blowers. So much easier to start compared to a 2 stroke too, It would be nice if my 12 inch petrol disc cutter started as easily. "
Review 15 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blower
9 Oct 2012
By
, West Sussex
" Well Ive tried 3 different makes of blowers now and they are all rubbish (manysub £100 models). So I thought I'd try this one. Its brilliant.
So easy to start, big fuel tank, great blowing power and easy to set up.
The 4 stroke engine makes for a really quiet machine and so easy to use.
the best purchase I've made this year!
"
Review 16 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Blower
13 Sep 2012
By
, Leeds
" I chose this blower because I am a lady and find it difficult to start 2 stroke tools. The reviews I read said it was easy to start and it is. I have started it every time easily. It is not cheap, but hoping it lasts a reasonable amount of time. I also chose it because I think Makita make good quality tools. As reported it is very quiet when running and not too many fumes either. Another plus for me is that I can fill it up with petrol rather than mixing up the 2 stroke. The only thing to mention is that the air intake is on the same side as your leg if you are right handed and it sucks your trousers in, but you get used to it. I am very happy with my purchase so far. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
9 Sep 2012
By
, Taunton
" I`ve had a Ryobi 2 stroke vac/blower for years and has been very realable but very very noisy.Last week it died thank god. The Makita 4 stroke is so quiet, its unbelievable.Hardly any vibration, or smell from the emissions. The only nag is filling the oil sump,a bit fiddly.Its so much better in the quality department side that I would recommend this vac to anyone. "
Review 18 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita Blower
2 Apr 2011
By
, Shadoxhurst
" We should all know by now that Makita products stand for quality and long service which equates to value for money, but I was not sure how a 4 stroke engine was going to perform and feel like in a hand-held portable tool.
So I was pleasantly surprised when I started to use this Makita Blower, the starting is perfect, much less effort than starting a 2stroke, use choke when cold, and when warm a little quick pull restarts the 4stroke engine.
The big advantage no fuel/oil mixing, just petrol out the can and away we go, and the bonus no oily fumes, just a clean exhaust, and if this wasn't enough to surprise you, its Quieter running too.
There is also a Vac kit available from MakitaDirect if you need one.
So come on Makita more 4strokes please.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All 'hot' air?!
2 Nov 2015
By
, Essex
" Very pleased with this purchase, it being the first petrol blower I have bought. The 4-stroke engine was an attraction as it certainly gives ease of use and is fine on the dB level. I did have to fill the appliance with oil despite the info in some reviews. The engine starts easily after priming, the plastic tubes fit easily and operation is straight forward. I don't find the blower to be too heavy at all. Fuel consumption seems to be very good. The vacuum attachment seems very expensive so hasn't been bought. Much more effective (as a blower) and easier to use than an electric model I've had previously. I would certainly recommend this Makita. Well made, easy to use, good performance. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Makita BHX2501 24.5cc 4-Stroke Petrol Blower
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1st ever petrol blower
18 Oct 2015
By
, essex
" Needed a petrol blower and was swayed to buy Makita because of the offer price and all good reviews.
I like the easy start 4 stroke engine, good powerful blower. I didn't buy the vacuum pack so cannot comment on that.
The tubes/nozzle are very tight to assemble but probably need to be. Shame they only supply the one type of nozzle, not both types shown.
Only gripe is that the air intake on the side of the body sucks up your clothing onto it so restricting the blow (for right handed people only).
Cannot comment on reliability yet but hope it lives up to the Makita name.
"
Page : 1 2 next>