Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pointing & Grouting Gun

Pointing & Grouting Gun
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Review 1 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Time Saver
24 May 2015
By
, Wokingham
" A great product and a real time saver. As with other reviews, get the mix right and it works a treat. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best on the market
18 May 2015
By
, West Sussex
" These pointing guns where the 1st on the market and are still by far the best, do not bother wasting your time buying the cheap nasty faithfull or silverline ones. I undertake about 5000m2 of pointing per year and would never use anything else. "
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pointing a lot Easier
23 Apr 2015
By
, Rayleigh
" As a DIY'er, what I wanted was something I could use to re-grout the gaps between the slabs without getting mix all over the slabs. This gun gave the control required to do that with minimal effort, time and mess. "
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
8 Apr 2015
By
, Bridgend
" Not a professional but this bit of kit saved me hours. Just get the mixture right (yoghurt consistency) and take time.
Flush container every other filling
"
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good!
19 Mar 2015
By
, grimsby
" I'm a joiner not a brickie, so when I was asked to do some re pointing as part of a joinery job I was a bit reluctant. Anyway I said yes and decided to buy one of these. It is brilliant, my pointing looks professional, and pretty quick again. So long as care is taken with the mix the gun is faultless.
Very pleased.
"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product for pointing
21 Dec 2014
By
, Wigan
" I picked on of these up today after taking back the cheaper roughneck gun due to it breaking. This gun is very industrial in build and feel and makes pointing fast and easy.
The only downside is some of the mortar backs up and it can be a little messy when refilling, but you soon get the hang of it. The secret is not having the mortar to firm or to runny. It takes a little practice to get the mixture just right but well worth it. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why didn't I buy one years ago
27 Oct 2014
By
, Manchester
" I can't believe how fast I pointed a patio using the pointing gun. A job that I thought would take a couple of hours was finished in one. You need fairly runny mortar but the gun will ensure that the mortar really fills the joints. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Point, straight to the...
7 Nov 2012
By
, Cirencester
" Excellent bit of kit. Mortar needs to be totally lump free, and use a plasticiser. Also needs to be a lot wetter than a normal pointing mix.
Too wet and it makes a mess, too dry and it clogs up the nozzle. Do take time to practise on somewhere out of sight.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome pointing tool
22 Oct 2012
By
, Stockport
" An essential tool for pointing any wall. Enables you to force in mortar deep in to the brick joint for a strong and long lasting pointing joint.
You need to make your mix more "sloppy" than normal and use plenty of plasticizer (I use washing up liquid) but this is fine as you still get a fine finish.
Can be a bit messy and wasteful of your mortar mix but the benefit of getting a rapid deep fill more than makes up for this. "
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit!
26 Aug 2012
By
, West Wales
" Using this to inject lime mortar deep into stonework joints prior to final pointing. Bit of experimenting first to get consistency correct (not too dry or too wet).
Could do with a third nozzle with wider bore.
Couple of tips:
Wash main tube out with hose pipe after every injection.
A jam funnel makes filling easy. Found a plastic one with a 5cm diameter stem on internet for about £4 - perfect! "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once you master it . Fabulous
4 Jul 2012
By
, Cheshire
" I bought one of these years ago from Screwfix. Still got it now and it is superb. A few years ago I needed to replace the main cartridge. I soon worked out that the sizes of it are identical to round guttering downpipe and I still have my 'downpipe' fitted to it now !!. I think the manufacturers just use downpipe, I do !! "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cox'a pointing & grouting gun
15 Feb 2012
By
, Birmingham
" Great gadget, only one problem and that is that Screwfix do not carry the spare components, I had to order from a different supplier. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Item
29 Sep 2011
By
, Shetland
" This is a great item, I'm vext that I never bought one of these years ago, It would have saved me a lot of time and would have kept the jobs that I was doing a whole lot cleaner.
Its a well built peace of kit, so this item will last years if you look after it.
I hope this helps you in your dicision making.
Regards "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
get pointing
21 Feb 2016
By
, caernarfon
" a good quality gun, altho needs to be a sloppy mix it dose the job, bit expensive or what t is "
Review 15 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Time saving piece of kit
15 Sep 2015
By
, York
" It's a bit hit and miss to get the consistency of the mix right but once you do it's easy to use and fills the joints nicely. I used it on a patio of Indian stone and you almost inject the mortar into the irregular joints. Don't try and mix too much, if you do the mortar starts to go off and won't flow through the nozzle. I ended up mixing a barrel at a time. "
Review 16 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's all about the mix.
14 Sep 2013
By
, Northumberland
" If you get the mix right this will save you hours of time and give a proffesional finish. I recomend using a paddle mixer. Have done about 10 sq mts so far and it shows no signs of wear. You must keep it clean. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PC COX Pointing Gun
15 Nov 2011
By
, London
" Very good sturdy product, and a good investment. Made the job of repointing a wall by an amateur that much easier, and quicker.
Clogged up to start with, but once I mastered the mortar mix at the right consistency, and with a bit of practice, it really worked very well. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OK I suppose
12 Apr 2016
By
, Honiton
" I used this gun when grouting 5mm spaces between my 600 X 300 bathroom tiles. Make sure you adjust the piston correctly and cut the nozzel so the grout dispenses freely. It was clean and easy to use but no quicker than using a spatula. I did find a couple of design faults. I found that, as the nozzel is only a push fit on to the barrel, when stopping between runs by pressing the pressure release trigger, the barrel detaches from the nozzel, rather than the piston retracting. This resulted in the contents being lost through the resulting gap which was very wasteful and messy. Also you need 3 hands to retract the piston, One to hold the barrel, one to hold the release trigger and one to pull the piston rod. The other thing is that the gun never fully empties. More waste. After trying twice and a lot of mess, I returned to using a spatula. "
Review 19 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Average at best
14 Sep 2015
By
, uk
" Depending on use this gun can be useful or it can be a complete waste of time. It takes up a lot of extra time in prep than in traditional pointing methods as you have to get a perfect creamy mix that is wetter than normal but still has to be very very well mixed or the gun will jam then all of a sudden splodge out everywhere! Now i'm a time served builder that's laid & pointed over 100k of bricks and I would never use this for a professional clean finish but if you have an old wall that needs re-pointing and it doesn't matter what it looks like then this is useful and will save a little time but still tricky to get the mix just right especially as the paddle it comes with isn't up to mixing any decent amount. Gun needs cleaning every 2-3 refills at most and found the trigger jams and does not release easily. also you will need to work above whatever you are pointing as the seal is not great and leaks a lot of mortar out the back of the tube. "
Review 20 for P C Cox Ultrapoint Pointing & Grouting Gun
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A quality product but . . .
8 Jul 2015
By
, Ayrshire
" A well constructed, well thought out product but it has the potential to be messy as the mix has to be soft enough to come out the nozzle and not jam. I tried it but was not happy with the result, possibly due to my lack of experience in using it (possibly not). In the end after watching some builders using Pave Fix Plus to fill in the gaps on a patio I decided to use that. "
Page : 1 2 next>