Product Reviews

Mountfield 45cm Rotary Mower

Mountfield 45cm Rotary Mower
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield HP180 45cm 3.5hp 148cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield HP180 45cm 3.5hp 148cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A GREAT FIND
17 Jul 2013
By JOHN3015
, Bristol
" After the demise of my old mountfield I searched around until a friend told me about this product. I went to screwfix at Brislington in Bristol and the staff were excellent, not only did they know their product but hey carefully helped me to put it into the car. I found it easy to assemble and it started on the second pull. Our garden is not huge and I decided on a hand push as I needed to negotiate around the swimming pool deck which has some awkward niches. A perfect little machine for this and it coped really well. If we had a huge area of lawn no doubt I would have opted for the self propelled model. Anyway all in all an excellent product and I would not hesitate to recommend screwfix. "
Review 2 for Mountfield HP180 45cm 3.5hp 148cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grand little mower
2 Oct 2013
By triumphman
, Guildford
" Well built and excellent price. Mountfield reliability. "
Review 3 for Mountfield HP180 45cm 3.5hp 148cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield HP180
12 Jun 2013
By FitzyG
, Northampton
" Excellent value, easy to assemble, starts first pull and cuts the grass!
What more do you want?
"
Review 4 for Mountfield HP180 45cm 3.5hp 148cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield just work!
10 Jun 2013
By Jemplus
, Southampton
" I bought this to replace my old Mountfield that finally gave up after 20+ years. Assembly was straight forward and having bought some oil (not supplied) fired it up for first cut. Started first time but find the manual priming a drag but only needed first time - despite instructions it fires on restart without furthe priming.
The build quality is good but not the same as old mower, wheels in particular are cheap plastic and struggle when being pushed over a stone driveway - fine on grass though.
Fuel economy is great and only other concern is when pushing under bushes as another reviewer has commented.
For the money it does what is says on the tin but i would be very surprised if its still runing in 20 years without some modication, especially to those cheap wheels! "
Review 5 for Mountfield HP180 45cm 3.5hp 148cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great mower
14 May 2013
By spudjohnm
, North Wales
" First use was on wet grass on second lowest height setting. Mowed area is a rough bumpy surface and this mower coped brilliantly. Collected wet cuttings without missing a thing or digging into surface. Easy to assemble and use, great value for money. Only question now is reliability but it is too early to say, however knowing Mountfields, as long as it is serviced correctly it should last. "
Review 6 for Mountfield HP180 45cm 3.5hp 148cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK for small garden
22 Apr 2013
By tdbsnr
, Northants
" Fairly good value, easy to start, quite powerful & hard to stall.But, the front skirt is lower than the back making it hard to push over rough grass - I modified the suspension but most people can't do that. Beware pushing it under bushes, as there is a gap between the air filter & front cover - twigs can get in & damage the delicate throttle linkage or spring (mine broke), & is difficult to repair. The blade wasn't very sharp, grinder & file required to improve it. Difference between tickover (a bit high) & full throttle is negligible. It uses less than half the fuel than my old mower. I couldn't recommend it for professional use, but its my 3rd Mountfield, as I've always found them reliable. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield HP180 45cm 3.5hp 148cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lawn mower hp180
24 May 2013
By Mike1812
, Somerset
" Have sent the first one back awaiting a second. Unable to fix handle to machine as screws won't tighten on one side, so unable to give verdict on performance or reliability "
Review 8 for Mountfield HP180 45cm 3.5hp 148cc Push Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad one
26 Sep 2013
By Alcam
, Bournemouth
" This mower has some poor reviews on other sites, but I chose to go with it as on this site it all appears ok. WRONG! I have used the mower 3 times. First started ok. 2nd, had to clean plug and dry it as it would not start. 3rd clean plug, still took many attempt to get it going. 4th Despite doing all it says in the manual, different plug, check petrol, ensure cap is not too tight etc, it will not start at all. A shame really as when it did work it was quieter than my old Flymo, Cut the grass well and collected well. I,m now off to buy a different mower! "