Product Reviews

Titan 235mm Circular Saw

Titan 235mm Circular Saw
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
18 of 23(78%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Review 1 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money
29 Jun 2015
By Maz894
, Harlow
" I bought this circular saw to replace my old one. Immediately from unboxing it i noticed the good build quality of the product and its fantastic carry case albeit rather bulky.
Over the weekend i built a home made table saw using this at its heart. Its first project was to slice 50 long decking boards in order to remove the grooved surface to flatten them out as i wanted to board up the loft and had these from the patio i revently pulled up which I didnt want to waste. Once the table saw was setup correctly this curcular saw ripped through the planks with no issues at all, it was like cutting through butter with a hot knife, and it left a very nice finish (no need for sanding) thanks to the many teeth on the blade. I guess the only thing that would make this product perfect would be to include an addaptor to attach a vacuum to in order to reduce the saw dust. But a great priduct at a great price. I would definitely recommend this to diy'ers alike. I'm unable to comment on reliabilty as i have not had it long but have no doubts this will last a long time.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid bit of equipment
25 May 2015
By Taffcd
, Dunfermline
" Great piece of kit, I would say leans more towards the professional than the DIYer. More than powerful and big enough for 'around the house jobs' My main use was for fencing and decking, more than adequate. Only downside for me is that it was a little heavier than I expected. Price was very good, flexibility was surprisingly good. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tough piece of kit
8 May 2015
By MrMakeGood
, North London
" I rigged this upside down in a portable workbench to use it as a table saw. The base plate fit perfectly into the groove in the workbench. Not an idea solution, but it worked perfectly in an emergency. "
Review 4 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent performance
19 Oct 2014
By EssChipmunk
, Seaford
" I bought this to relpace a smaller less powerful circular saw.
I have used this to cross-cut and rip oak boards 80mm thick.
It went through the oak with ease. Very pleased.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Power in corcular motion
6 Oct 2014
By zeusss
, Penrhys RCT
" I bought this saw to rip four 230 x 100 oak beams 2 metres long. I wasn't expecting the ease and comfort that it cut through them with. Very impressed and would certainly recommend. One tiny niggle, no vacuum adapter is included, (I made my own). "
Review 6 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice tool
5 Jul 2014
By Toughcoocky
, Portree, Isle of Sky
" easy to handle, perfect handling and clean cuts to be made, suits me perfectly "
Review 7 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy
22 Apr 2014
By Deggitt27
, brentwood
" i did the sleepers cut too, 85mm each side x 20 old hardwood sleepers and it munched its way through no problem. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Goodbye sleepers
22 Jul 2012
By RichNewport
, Newport
" I bought this when I put some new sleeprs into my garden. It cut them with ease even at 85mm depth.
It is a bit noisy so I used some ear muffs but well worth the money. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
refreshingly supprised
5 Mar 2015
By Ru55
, Plymouth
" Lets face it - when you buy 'cheap' it normally works cheaply. Imagine my supprise to see this bit of kit doing everything I've asked of it so far - it's going through the sleepers I'm cutting like a hot knife through butter!
The only thing wrong with this bit of kit is it hasn't got a 'brand label' that everyone instantly recognises but if they keep making kit like this, they soon will have!! "
Review 10 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real Value
10 Sep 2014
By Sweetfoot
, Scotland
" Having just used the Titan circular saw for the first time I am left wondering why I took so long to replace my old saw. This unit does everything I want it to and the laser guide helps even me to cut a straight line. Great value for money and reasonable quality. "
Review 11 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value for money saw
22 Apr 2014
By Etonbird
, London
" I purchased this saw as the one I wanted was out of stock. Recommended by Screwfix assistant in store. Very pleased. Cuts with ease and has plenty of power. Only slight downsides are accuracy of alignment, as cut is a little difficult to work out and the saw is quite heavy to keep accurate for more lengthy cuts, despite the lasser. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a very capable saw
7 Dec 2013
By BIGSLUDGE
, Market Rasen
" This TITAN saw has plenty of power and the ability to do all the diy tasks that is asked of it "
Review 13 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall not bad BUT...
6 May 2012
By DIYColin
, Shrewsbury
" A Good Value for money Circular saw thats cut everything I've thrown at it so far!
That ranges from 2" MDF, Aerated Concrete Blocks, 1.5" Wood to Thin Wooden Dowel.
The laser CAN be a bit "funny" at times and turn itself off for no reason, but otherwise its a useful little gizmo to have.
Main drawback is the Blade Guard ... a lot of the time it wont open automatically when you introduce the item to be cut.. so you have to release the guard and hold it open with one hand... which controlling the saw with the other... and its NOT a lightweight saw!
Otherwise a good value Saw thats well worth looking at! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A real "muscle" saw
29 Nov 2011
By KiwiDave
, Merseyside
" Not used it extensively but when used it's performance was great. Yes, it's a bit big (especially the box) & heavy, yes it's spindle feels a bit "slack" but the performance more than compensates. Probably more suited to trade use than the casual DIYer. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It done the Job
24 Oct 2011
By DIYRodders
, United Kingdom
" On use it rattles a bit but did not hesitate even at the max cutting depth.
Could have done with a longer lead, But that is a small gripe compared to the price.
Good Bye
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Saw
17 Oct 2011
By Steve6534
, Bury, Manchester
" Really good value. Powerful saw, well made with some good features. I have been using it daily for a few weeks and its a pleasure to use. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Expectations crucial
29 Mar 2011
By wHInge
, Ledbury
" The first reviewer is right about the gearbox-it is noisy, but many high speed gearboxes such as circular saws,angle grinders, etc are not quiet. Its not an excessive amount of noise and theres no play in the bearing (plus a 2yr guarantee remember) so Im not concerned at all.The blade on mine is perfectly true -I think the first guy just got a bad blade (on a bad day possibly!)
I wasnt expecting Dewalt quality for £70 so I wasnt disappointed.
The machine is very big and quite heavy compared to a 185mm model despite the use of alloys.The cable is around 10ft long and is good quality witha decent tough plug .
The laser is mains-powered so no more flat AAA batteries to replace.The beam is sharp and lines up to the cut out on the baseplate and the blade perfectly.The only bad point is the quality of the button switch (think about christmas crackers...)
The trigger is reasonable quality and the motor is softstart, so it doesnt jump as you begin cutting.The baseplate is thick aluminium plate and the chassis is an aluminium casting-Im not sure if these would take much of a knock.
The adjustment screws fairly chunky and easy to use while there is plenty of clearance between the handle and the blade housing for large hands.
It could have benefited from the inclusion of a front handle.Overall, I'm really pleased with it.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok for the pice
22 Aug 2015
By MattRat
, Bedfordshire
" Generally a very good powerful circular saw that leaves a nice smooth cut. The laser was actually pretty accurate which is good as I can't find a way to adjust it like you can on my other mitre saw.
I do however have two main gripes:
1. It is difficult to get a 90 degree square cut from this saw. It's square setting isn't square and is a few degrees out. Which is fine for thin material but makes a big difference on 40mm thick stuff! When aligning up with a set square it lifts the guide off the stop and I found myself having to check that the blade is square with the base plate after every cut as it has a tendancy to move which is very annoying.
2. The blade guard seems to catch on the material very easily and cause the saw to move around when starting the cut. I was hooking it up with a finger to stop it catching which isn't ideal.
All in all you get what you pay for and if you agent fussed about much precision this will do the trick. "
Review 19 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of Time
17 Apr 2015
By alwhit
, Shetland
" I'm surprised by the many positive reviews here. Bought this saw to rip large timbers. Powerful, BUT several problems within just a few hours of simple ripping softwood:
- Aluminium side rail bent!
- Side rail clamp slipped repeatedly
- Aluminium base bent!
- Didn't cut at 90 degrees presumably as base bent
- doesn't eject dust - just clogs up so had to stop to free it every 30secs. might be better with an extractor but doubt it.
- Worked better cutting at half depth but not much
Just not up to the job unfortunately so it's gone back. Will save up for a top brand. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Titan TTB287CSW 235mm Circular Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Titan 235mm saw
4 Jul 2014
By Sidlon12
, London
" Cheap and nasty. Bearings grind on our newly purchased saw. Pay a little extra and get a decent trade recognised make. "
Page : 1 2 next>