Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield 2500W Shredder

Mountfield 2500W Shredder
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Review 1 for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional for the price
16 Feb 2015
By GuernseyBlue
, Suffolk
" Easy to assemble in 5 minutes. Sturdy and dealt with all I had to throw at it over 5 hours including small branches rose bushes etc.
Blockages were few and far between and dealt with by reversing the motor.
One very minor suggestion is that it could do with a bigger collection chute, but that is really a very minor quibble.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Shredder MS2500
24 Dec 2014
By DIYArt
, Nottingham
" Does exactly what it says.
Cant fault it.
Dont know about reliability..yet. Time will tell.
Its seems well built and works well on both hard and bushy garden refuse.
Treated refuse easily used in garden.
As I would expect.
Art
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Competent shredder
5 Dec 2014
By AnthonyP
, Cornwall
" Not the cheapest, but more than man enough to deal with large amounts of brush, small branches and other garden detritus. Solidly built and easy to assemble. Wheels are large enough to make transporting the shredder over rough ground very easy. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chips galore
27 Jul 2014
By chipsgalore
, HITCHIN
" I was going to buy the other one (B****) after reading the reviews glad I did not buy. Bought the mountfield and it has not let me down, so easy to clean out when it clogs up 4 allen bolts to remove plate and the safety switch so secure. ***** "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent machine
20 Jul 2014
By jessdog
, plymouth
" This machine works so very well compared with shredders I have used in the past. Its automatic feed is totally reliable drawing in the items to chop up and discharging them into its collection box in easily baggable little bits. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fred the Shred
6 Apr 2014
By Zalophus
, Emsworth
" So firstly, full marks to Screwfix - best price in the market, really fast delivery and turned up exactly when they said delivery slot would be.
I'd been looking for a heavy duty shredder and was leaning towards a B****, but noticed some reviewers having issues with bins shaking loose and not coping well with green matter. So I took a chance on the Mountfield because it seemed robust and simple... and that's exactly how it's turned out.
Three months on, I've used it for several intensive sessions, working through mountains of old and new Leylandii prunings, brambles, woody shrubs and branches of trees that really have no place in a garden like ours. This machine eats it all with no hesitation. I've even tried it on new leaves just to see if I can outwit it, but it just chugs on.
The shreddings are pelletized sufficiently to compost or use as mulch. It's really hard to overload the machine as the feeder seems perfectly sized to prevent oversized material (greater than 45mm) being fed in. On the odd occasion I've managed to do it, the reversing function quickly clears the material.
The collecting bin just works. Good sized capacity, I typically shred for 10-15 minutes before emptying, if material starts to build up under the rotor just tilt the machine (with the blade still turning if you really want to) and shake it back.
It's dead easy to set up and adjust the rotor, there is a single adjusting handwheel that you turn until the rotor just brushes the plate to leave a few fine metal shavings in the bin.
On one occasion I thought I'd gone too far with lots of half-rotted Leylandii foliage, and blocked up the rotor with compacted soggy material leading to the motor cutting out (probably overheated). The front plate came off with 4 allen screws allowing the rotor and blade to be cleared, and as soon as the motor had cooled down off we went again. I've given 4 stars for reliability simply because of this incident (which was my fault for using material that was too wet), but really it could be 5s throughout.
Overall, if you insist on your garden machinery being green and German you could buy a B****, otherwise I'd go for this one every time. It's cheaper, too. "
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product poor backup
3 Mar 2015
By GardenRose
, Newbury
" An attractive piece of garden kit designed in Italy made in China and badged Mount field. Assembly is easy and straight forward The setting up instructions were not so clear ( Multi language of course.) On first use I thought that I had followed the instructions looking for metal filings in the collection bin, sure enough there were the filings. When I put some pruning's through they looked like a string of sausages so I advanced the pressure adjuster to no effect. I tried contacting Mount field several times, not wishing to damage a new machine I was unable to contact anyone that new anything about shredders, frankly their contact line is as much use as a chocolate teapot! I have advanced the pressure adjuster until the results are acceptable, to be told that in the first place would have made use that much easier "
Review 8 for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield MS2500 Garden Shred
29 Jul 2014
By Berts
, Trowbridge
" This is a great tool for your garden. Dead easy to put together eats up the branches really well .
Need to use the reverse function every once in a while to keep the blades clear just check now now and again & all is good. Easy to unblock if you forget, I have had a Mountfield lawn mower for over 20 years no issues and this seems just as well built.
"
Review 9 for Mountfield MS2500 2500W 200kg/hr Electric Garden Shredder 230-250V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mountfield MS2500
20 Feb 2015
By GalaxyEH
, Edinburgh
" I bought this shredder on the basis of good customer reviews.
On unpacking it, found the plastic bin was broken where it slides in to the frame of the shredder.
Screwfix replaced it quickly and having just unpacked the replacement item have found exactly the same damage in the replacement item.
It's a packaging problem from the supplier - the plastic bin is used to contain the very heavy motor during transit. The plastic bin would never be designed to carry 27kg of machinery - I've now experienced two examples of it being damaged during transit. Am I alone ?
Hoping I can write a positive review for my third one !
"