Product Reviews

Door Chime with Transformer

Door Chime with Transformer
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Review 1 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Proper job
28 Apr 2014
By
, Devon
"This seems a really good product with clear instructions in proper English and easily fitted by a pensioner to replace a 40 year old system. Good value too. Actually too soon to comment on reliability, but no option to leave rating out.."
Review 2 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than my last one
23 Aug 2013
By
, Newhampton
"The transformer burnt out on an old unit i had, came to Screwfix to find a transformer, only to find that this new kit was cheaper! Bought it and fitted it that day.
I think a great product is something you can fit and then forget about, safe in the knowledge it will work. This is that type of product."
Review 3 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works a treat
21 Aug 2013
By
, Swansea
"Buy the kit, fit the kit, job (as they say) is a good'un. Highly recommended."
Review 4 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the ticket
20 Jun 2013
By
, Aberdeen
"I have this kit, but teamed up with a different button. Had no problems with it and for the price can't fault a thing. I didn't fit the item myself, but I know we did not use the original clips (stood out against the walls too much), but useful to have them in the drawer for another project."
Review 5 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good functional door bell
18 Oct 2014
By
, Leicestershire
"A competitively priced wired door bell system with the option to be mains powered via a transformer or alternatively by a 9v battery. It was easy to fit and and works well for me.
I have fitted it because the bell push on the wireless system I had previously was too far away from from the chime unit.
"
Review 6 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product and a great price
17 Oct 2014
By
, Ramsgate
"Quality product that was easy to fit. Produced a loud ding-dong and will definitely use again. Only small gripe is the size of the transformer (it is large and not something you would want in your hallway, it would have been nice if had been fitted in the bell housing."
Review 7 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good value
5 Jun 2014
By
, East Sussex
"As Leslie Phillips would say 'Ding dong!" my only gripe is lack of cable clips supplied so order some more clips if your'e going to have a long run of wire, other than that it does the job and easy to install."
Review 8 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money
11 Jan 2014
By
, Glasgow
"Would have preferred a buzzer sound as I don't like the ding-dong sound of any bell but this one works well."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap and Cheerful
8 Mar 2013
By
, Inverness
"Value for money with Bell and Transformer, bell push basic. Bell good and loud for small property might struggle on larger. Wire waste of time to thin and breaks easily , use bigger and better quality wire, clips were to big for wire."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Did it ring?
17 Oct 2014
By
, Birmingham
"Possibly the quietest door bell I've ever heard.
I got this as it was the cheapest way to get the transformer. It would probably be ok for a flat or small house but not loud enough for my house with 4 kids running around.
"
Review 11 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute joke of a product
2 Jun 2014
By
, Heathrow
"I bought this to replace a wireless system (in fact we've had three ranging from cheap and expensive ones with lots of issues) and decided to go wired instead.
Bought this and everything about the product (price, build quality, etc) seemed great except for the fact there is only a ding and no dong sound! I thought it was just my unit but when I took it back for a replacement the next one was the same (i took a 9V battery with me to test it). So the staff member helped me go through all the stock they had to test each one and they all have the same issue! The bell hammer only goes one way to make a ding sound but doesn't bounce back far enough to make the dong sound.
Very poor product, I think a spring or simple solution would have fixed this. Seems like other reviewers experienced same issue.
Can't fault the staff though, very helpful - they were amazed how poor quality the product was and gave back a full refund."
Review 12 for Byron Wall-Mounted Door Chime Kit with Transformer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish bell
12 Apr 2013
By
, Somerset
"Cheap & fiddly. Wire is too thin & bell not loud enough. Actuator doesn't hit both 'bells' & often just get ding, not dong!
Save yourself hours - buy a different product.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.