Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

8" x 2" (203 x 50mm). Achieve a professional, precise finish when sharpening chisels and plane irons from ¼"-2¾" (4-60mm).

8" x 2" (203 x 50mm). Achieve a professional, precise finish when sharpening chisels and plane irons from ¼"-2¾" (4-60mm).
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Review 1 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the box
5 Feb 2014
By pagewrite
, Worthing
"Does the trick nicely, and managed to sharpen my chisels quickly and easily. Made such a difference!
Found the guide somewhat confusing to use, and the instructions are, shall we say, basic - but the stone did the trick, and I've always sharpened my chisels by hand anyway, so not a problem."
Review 2 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for Chisels
13 Jul 2012
By wolverine874
, Cumbria
"A really good kit for keeping chisels sharp, and really easy to use. I found that with the stone in my woodworking vice I can sharpen the chisels up much more regularly, and in just a few minutes I can have my whole set done.
The clamp that holds them at the correct angle is good, although if you unscrew the bar that holds the chisel tight, the mechanism does drop apart and bounce to all four corners of your workshop!
The bottle of oil is quite small, after only a few goes I have reverted to using a few drops of standard machine oil as a substitute.
All in all though, an excellent kit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharpest tool in the box
5 Apr 2012
By detee
, Chatham
"Found this easy to use and it worked well , only used it on 2 chisels so far, but they turned out very well"
Review 4 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
17 Oct 2011
By CraigAC
, Nantwich
"Does exactly what it says.... Excellent product.
The guide makes getting the angle correct when sharpening chisels a breeze.."
Review 5 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
must have peice of kit
18 Sep 2011
By tellboy
, north yorkshire
"if you are sharpening your planes or chisels
on a regular basis this is a must to have ,keeps the bevel edge spot on every time
"
Review 6 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good product
18 Dec 2009
By nev1
, southport
"it works very well so much easier than not having it alot better than trying to guess the angle of the blade you want to sharpen it is worth the price of 13.60each"
Review 7 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chisel sharpener
29 May 2013
By Mbugs
, Kent
"A useful bit of kit for keeping chisels in good order.
Care is needed when clamping the chisel to the apparatus to ensure it is at right angles
Overall I am pleased I made the purchase and I have now got a lot of useful chisels for doing woodwork rather than relegated for opening cans of paint!"
Review 8 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stone
4 Nov 2012
By willyr
, belfast
"the stone isnt the best however the guide is brilliant keeps the chisel 100% bevel and no problem"
Review 9 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dearer than it should be
29 Sep 2011
By torbayman
, torquay
"not very good quality has pit/pock marks in the grit on one side"
Review 10 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works Well
6 Jul 2010
By KwikDIY
, Anglesey
"The sharpening kit works well and produces a great edge on my badly worn chisels. The honing guide and wheel feels a bit cheap, but it works fine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Waste of money
5 Aug 2012
By BobtheDemolisher
, York
"Better to buy the cheap block, it's the same as sharpening tool is cheap and useless."
Review 12 for Stanley Chisel Sharpening Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Faulty as supplied
16 Apr 2012
By berny
, Bournemouth
"I bought the sharpener last March and had no cause to use it until today in April, so it was out of warranty. Bad luck for me as the flip out angle gauge was missing!
Advice - - - - inspect the gauge through the packet before opening it. I didn't so no chance of a claim. I've used it today without the gauge and guestimated the 25 degree angle. It sharpens chisels OK, the coarse side soon shifts the metal but the fine side seems to have some kind of inclusions in the surface, not as good as the coarse side, but we will see how it goes with use.
The stone is supplied dry and soaks up a lot of oil initially about half the bottle supplied and its still not what I would call an oil stone. I'm going to soak the stone in loads of light oil, think it will perform even better once its saturated.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.