Product Reviews

Mountfield 3.5hp petrol rotary self-propelled lawn mower. Suitable for lawns up to 1600m². Powered by a 4-stroke 450 Series Briggs & Stratton engine.

Mountfield 3.5hp petrol rotary self-propelled lawn mower. Suitable for lawns up to 1600m². Powered by a 4-stroke 450 Series Briggs & Stratton engine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
10 of 16(62%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good mower for the price.
28 Jun 2013
By AmateurGardener
, Herts.
"Took ages starting it for the first time, and I am no lightweight. After the first start it was much easier. Cold or hot start 1 or 2 pulls and it fires up. Missus cannot start it though.
Grass collecting was a bit hit and miss but I suspect this was due to the grass being a little wet.
Easy to use.
I have a 400 metre square lawn and this took 30 minutes but the grass was overgrown. Goodbye Flymo.
Nice size collecter bag. 3 bags to do my lawn but again, it was overgrown.
Briggs and Stratton manual states that synthetic 5W30 oil can be used but sticker on mower states to use Mountfield SAE30 oil. This is irritating as a synthetic 5W30 oil is far better than a SAE30 oil in all instances.
For the price, it is an OK mower.
Sturdy steel construction.
Cannot really rate the reliability as I have only used it twice but if it lasts for more than 5 years I will be happy.
For the price it is a good mower.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent
2 Jun 2013
By moirakav
, kent
"Very pleased with lawn mower. Not too heavy. Seems robust model. Would recommend, no problems"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower
27 May 2013
By Lawnman123
, Inverness
"Having trawled internet for petrol mowers and being a believer in getting a known brand ( buying cheap unknown brand=buying twice).
Price was quite good compared to similar mowers.
Service was excellent at Inverness Screwfix, they had a display model, also had in stock, even brought it to my car.
Was easy to build at home and quite quiet engine. Didn't drop any grass even when full and has done a great effortless cut on long grass that had prev clippings strewn through it.
Can't predict reliability but seems sturdy enough, need to get an extra cable tie or 2 though as I'm afraid the cables will get caught in the hedge.
Night and day c.f. old electric mower!
Very suitable for a med sized lawn"
Review 4 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent mower
24 May 2013
By diydaddy
, Colwyn Bay
"I bought this mower, as we recently had our 60foot sq garden turfed, prior to this it was a jungle. I had been researching for a mower, my first one, and everyone was telling me get a honda, honda, honda, honda, but then saw the reviews on this one and thought to take the chance having read good reviews about briggs and stratton engines. I can't complain about this mower, it does everything I want it to do, there is a large grass box, which means I'm not empytgin every time i take the length of the garden, whereas my uncles honda mower that i used was being emptied every length. I used this numerous times now, it starts on the first pull even when cold, and when warm, separate fuel tank to the oil tank meaning no mixing, well worth the £249.99 that I paid, glad that I got the self propelled one though!!!"
Review 5 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent mower
6 May 2013
By maigrait
, Enniskilen
"Been using brother in laws honda mower for the last few years and its great. My lawn is very sloped so really needed a mower with power wheels.
Saw this with 100 quid off and decided to invest. You could go crazy comparing mowers from all different places but screwfix made it easy.
Putting it together was very easy, few bolts and job done. It probably isn't as 'solid' as the honda but it performs great. Oil in, petrol in and you are away.
Required a few strong pulls on initial start but after that, one pull each time.
Grass box collects loads and it seems quite well built. All in all very good for the price and highly recommended.
Not sure about SP180 couldn't find it on mountfield site, I assume its a special model for screwfix.
Got delivered to Northern Ireland which some places want 50-60 quid to do... so really this is a bargain.
"
Review 6 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely effortless!
21 Apr 2013
By AYAA
, Sutton
"Have only used mower once - just got it today, but couldn't wait to review as i am so pleased with it. Lawn usually takes hours to cut with small hover mower. Finished it with this in 20 - 25 mins. Will be quicker next time, as took a little getting used to as it pulls away quite suddenly on starting. Also, needed to get used to maneuvering around irregular shaped areas - this seems best done without the self propulsion as it's more controllable that way. Very glad i didn't buy the cheaper hand propelled version though, as it's heavy when pushed. I'm looking forward to the next chance to use it!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent mower
20 Mar 2013
By chewer
, warrington
"This is a really well built mower with the acclaimed Briggs & Stratton engine.Before this I had a hand propelled Makita model which was okay but like so many of the petrol models didn't quite cut low enough for my liking.This one though has a variation of 20 - 70mm on the single lever which at least gives you the choice of the extra low option. Also has a really capaciuous collecting bag."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfiled SP180 - Good Price
20 Oct 2013
By T2GDN
, North West London
"I Bought this mower on a wet Sunday morning. It was easy to assemble and add oil.
Had a lot of trouble starting for the first time, in the end I removed the spark plug (very easy to do & took 2 mins) which did not seem to be wet from flooding. I then just heated it with the flame from a lighter put it back and the engine then it started on the first pull.
The lawn was very wet, soaking in fact so I just gave it a quick once over to test the machine.
It seemed to work well and I look forward to cutting the lawn properly when it is dry, before the winter sets in.
"
Review 9 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield 180 SP
11 Jul 2013
By Bill1010
, Birmingham
"The product itself was fine, a bit disappointed that the box had been opened
consequently bolts were missing and it took three attempts to get the correct bolts.
Lesson to be learned, however eager do not accept boxes that look as if they have been opened after leaving the manufacturer.
"
Review 10 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets all expectations
31 May 2013
By DIYRAY42
, SURREY
"Picked up this mower with a discounted price. Assembled in 30 minutes and used it immediately. Took a little effort to start engine but now fine. Used to take 3 hours plus to cut both lawns, now only takes 45 minutes. Cut is great, short where I want and longer in other areas with no trouble adjusting the height. Overall, a great choice and would strongly recommend."
Review 11 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Makes heavy work of it
5 Dec 2013
By BigHowie
, Teesside
"Got this to replace a very similar Mountfield push rotary, looking forward to making lighter work of the grass cutting. Well cutting the grass was the easy part; trying to restart the machine after each emptying of the grass box was what exhausted me.I just about pulled my arm out.Have had several petrol rotaries in the past, with no problems, This was a nightmare. I thought maybe I wasn't doing something right. but an experienced local gardener also had a go with it, and gave up after a long struggle. Happily Screwfix refunded it without quibble, and I will definitely continue to deal with them, but I wouldn't buy this particular machine again."
Review 12 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Teething problems
29 Jun 2013
By Sparticus
, Billingshurst
"Goes like a dream but refuses to start after emptying grass box."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Petrol Mower I ever used
11 May 2013
By Gardenersevenoaks
, Sevenoaks
"It only starts when cold, so when you have to stop to empty the grass box it wont start. I have blisters & bruises on my fingers from trying to start this mower. I got rid of it after 2 days as so disappointed with it & spent 3 x as much on a Honda that is a dream. I know you get what you pay for but I have owned many mowers in the past & this was the hardest to get stared. I would not recommend this mower!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Big disappointment
27 Aug 2013
By Dobbin59
, North kent
"Having read all the reviews I purchased this mount field self propelled mower. Got it home and assembled fairly quickly. Started well and proceeded to start mowing and bang the drive belt cover shattered. So I assumed that I had not assembled correctly, however a quick call to the mount field technical helpline assured me that the drive cover must have not been factory fitted properly. So I returned the mower to Screwfix, who provided a new mower immediately.
Returned home assembled and commenced mowing, in truth I was very pleased with the results and happy my original mower was a one off. However second use of the mower was Groundhog Day, started it up, set off and bang the drive belt cover shattered again.
I have got my money back and am looking for a mower with a metal cover, not flimsy plastic.
"
Review 15 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid this
6 Aug 2013
By screwyg
, northants
"As soon as it was out of the box i could see it was poor quality and not built to last. I did not even assemble it because it was clear that the height adjustment mechanism would not stay in place; the button is 5cm long and the axle movement is greater."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield SP180 45cm 3.5hp Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Starter!!
24 Jul 2013
By Anonymous
, Essex
""It only starts when it wants too! so when you have to stop to empty the grass box it wont start. I have knocked my back out trying to start this mower and have arms like Conan great excersise! For a job I hate doing in the first place Mountfield/ Briggs & Stratton make this a very nasty experience.... I would not recommend this mower!!"
Will return back to supplier as faulty!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.