Product Reviews

Erbauer Sheet Sander 230-240V

Erbauer Sheet Sander 230-240V
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Review 1 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sander
21 Apr 2015
By Smokeybear
, Blyth
" I decided to buy this as my previous sander (Titan 1/2 sheet) literally fell to bits after 4 months of VERY little use. I took it all back to Screwfix and they asked if I wanted a refund or an exchange. I told them I'd seen an Erbauer sander (ERB 405 SDR) which was more expensive than the Titan, so they gave me a refund on the Titan, I paid the extra money and bought the Erbauer instead. Comparing this with the Titan is like comparing a jaguar to a lada, there is virtually no vibration when using it. When I used the Titan it felt like it wanted to jump out of my hands so I'm not surprised it fell to bits. I've only had the Erbauer for a few days but I am VERY pleased with it so far. Obviously I can't speak for reliability but I've had other Erbauer tools for years, so I don't see any problems here.
Well done Screwfix, I have used them for well over 15 years without any complaints, I wonder how many other suppliers you can say that about.
Would definitely recommend this sander. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good little sander
15 Aug 2014
By sithlord1082
, Staffordshire
" This is a good sander for the money, it is only 220w but it will sort out pine. Don't bother with the paper included, simply use your own brand with the easy to use hole punch. it vacuums up the dust really well. Although it does takes a little while to smooth the wood (compared to a belt sander), it is quite a decent workhorse, I also like the bag it comes in, very handy! Would highly recommend to anyone. "
Review 3 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value sander
25 Jan 2013
By DIYoldboy
, Newbury
" I bought this to replace my old dead 1/3rd sheet sander and am very impressed. There is very little vibration when using and gives a very fine finish (if you need to remove lots of material use a random orbital or belt sander!). This is a single speed machine but I always used my old one at full speed so no problem, the only advice is to buy sanding sheets as the ones supplied are very thin and last two minutes (I bought a roll and cut my own and then used the hole punch supplied to make the extraction holes...a great idea...but this does struggle a little using E-grade (heavy grade) paper. "
Review 4 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good sander
8 Jan 2013
By Thebear
, Cambridge
" This sander works well, there is nothing out of the ordinary to say about it really othe than it does its job more adequately and has greatly outproforrmed the last one I bought which didn't last 5 minutes. Also comes in a nice bag. "
Review 5 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sander
3 Dec 2014
By electrobod
, Hampshire
" This sander is a to be a gift, so I have not used it in anger.
However it seems to be well made and is comfortable to hold and is fairly low vibration, so seems ok.
The good feature of this sander is that it can use sandpaper sheets velcro attached or plain sheets attached using the spring clips.
This said, why does Screwfix not stock sander sheets of dimensions 230mm X 93mm to use with the clips?
However, good service as always from screwfix............Thanks
"
Review 6 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not bad
23 May 2014
By petebirdbox
, derbyshire
" The first sander I collected was broken so check item before leaving the store , had a 10 mile round trip to replace a day later, good sturdy machine only used once but seems to work well "
Review 7 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sander
3 Sep 2013
By Rodney
, Worcester
" Good sander, does what is is meant to do sands well/ "
Review 8 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid sander
21 May 2013
By Karno
, Ceredigion
" Well made, comfortable to use even one-handed, consistent results. Lacks variable speed and the clamp system is awkward - a protrubance on the top of the plate prevents the paper folding over properly without a bit of a fiddle. The sheets included are rubbish but other self-cut sheets lasted well. Decent cable length. Sanded a 10sq.m. t&g floor in no time. "
Review 9 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
240V Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 She
31 Mar 2015
By Tb3tb3
, Weymouth
" A good well priced sander that has both hook and loop and clamp facility. Works well and is not too loud. It was disappointing that after only a couple off uses the corner of the aluminium bade broke off -screwfix replaced it but the time cost and inconvenience ended up costing more than the sander. "
Review 10 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
light weight
9 May 2015
By aajobs
, colchester
" The sander works fine with light weight sandpaper. The spring clips holding the sandpaper inplace are not strong enough. "
Review 11 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NOT what it says on the tin
1 Feb 2013
By haitch
, West Midlands
" The catalogue says it is hook & loop fastening but it is not. It is only clamp. I needed something to use straight away so ended up using it and keeping it but I'm pretty disappointed over the misdescription in the catalogue AND on the website. I'm now also stuck with a pile of hook & loop sandpaper. :-/ "
Review 12 for Erbauer ERB405SDR 1/3 Sheet Sander 230-240V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A solid piece of equipment
22 Oct 2013
By OldProfessional
, London
" This is a well constructed tool with low vibration. Rugged but can be used precisely to remove material from corners and edges. The hook and loop attachment is reliable and does not slip but using the metal catches to secure abrasive paper is not really a good idea because there is no rubber back to hold the paper in place so lightweight paper easily tears where attached at the ends of the platen. (Perhaps an old piece of rough h & l paper would hold plain backed in place or a thin sheet of rubber between the platen and the abrasive.) The bag is super. the lead is long and does not tend to twist. Good stock removal and the rate of removal can, of course, be varied according to the pressure applied so the single speed is not any disadvantage. All in all, a very good buy. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.