Product Reviews

Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W

Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LAP T8 High Frequency Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W 6' (1845mm)
Review 1 for LAP T8 High Frequency Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W 6' (1845mm)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this item
15 Sep 2014
By
, Tonbridge
" I purchased two of these for my daughters dog grooming premises. Really well made item all fixings even rawlplugs included. These High Frequency lights are a huge improvement over the standard starter type fluorescents. No flashing and popping normally experienced with fluorescents as they start up. The crystal diffusers really do improve the light too. Worth the bit extra money. By it! "
Review 2 for LAP T8 High Frequency Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W 6' (1845mm)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality light
31 Dec 2015
By
, Telford
" Really straight forward to fit, but tit would have been useful to have a diagram and slightly fuller instructions.
Will make a real difference in the garage.
"
Review 3 for LAP T8 High Frequency Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W 6' (1845mm)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lap light fixing
12 Feb 2015
By
, Swansea
" Needed a new light for the shed it was replacing another 6ft fitting .was pleased with the light itself the fixing was no problem made a diagram for the wiring to the light switch and all went well.There was a slight problem with fitting the tube but it did fit eventually without any force.Time will tell if it will last "
Review 4 for LAP T8 High Frequency Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W 6' (1845mm)
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bright lights
4 Apr 2016
By
, Kingsbridge
" Very bright just what I wanted but flimsy to put up "
Review 5 for LAP T8 High Frequency Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W 6' (1845mm)
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok
25 May 2015
By
, Bangor
" Product is ok, position of mountings is not very flexible making installation onto vertical studs a bit more hassle than it could be. Also mountings don't feel that sturdy, could probably fall off the wall/ceiling if it was hit with length of wood in workshop if it wasn't for the steel conduit holding it in place. Fairly time consuming to install. "
Review 6 for LAP T8 High Frequency Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W 6' (1845mm)
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fittings ok, bulbs very poor
4 Feb 2016
By
, Stonehouse
" I purchased 10 of these for fitting out some new small workshops / sheds. The outer fittings are fine and my electrician had no real issues with them. The trouble is the supplied bulbs are very poor quality, the issue seems to be the electronics in the bulbs. One would not get bright and 'pulsed' no matter how long left on. then a second bulb after less then a couple hours of being on started to go off completely, then would come on and pulse but very dark. Screwfix did replace the two bulbs but its bit of a hassle as due to their systems they need to 'replace the whole fitting' and give me another, but this meant taking a bulb out of a brand new one.
My concern is all the other bulbs I have on how long they will last, admittedly bulbs are only a fiver for a good brand, but you would expect the ones supplied to work.
Overall would not buy these again, my advice spend more on a better set.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LAP T8 High Frequency Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W 6' (1845mm)
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Poor quality control
4 Apr 2013
By
, Milton Keynes
" Fitting appeared fine, went together without incident until I tried to fit the fluorescent tube, it was about 6mm too long, I had a 25 mile round trip to return the unit for a replacement "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LAP T8 High Frequency Weatherproof Batten 1 x 70W 6' (1845mm)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Quality
12 Feb 2015
By
, Swadlincote
" On the website this looked to be excellent for the job.
On opening it it looked excellent for the job but when I attempted to put it together and install it - Oh Dear!
The clips that hold the diffuser in place are plastic (surely stainless would be better) and push into small bars in the base. These clips fell out at every opportunity, especially when 10ft up a ladder, most irritating (but good exercise).
Final solution was to give up and to totally wire the lamp on the ground, assemble it, install it, then connect up to the supply afterwards. Good thing that I did this since I cannot see that installing it into existing wires coming out of the ceiling would be at all simple. This would be very hampered due to the connecting block for the lamp being very near one end making 'straight' wiring impossible.
There are two stainless clips that hold the lamp to the wall/ceiling clip into recesses in the base which are screwed to the wall/ceiling beforehand.
These are far too thin and hence very flimsy and weak so not going to be reliable. If fact very difficult to get the things to grip the fitting at all unless you give them a good bend to start with. I now have so little confidence in them staying fixed and so, with the possibility of the unit falling on someones head, I have put a long 'tie-wrap' around each each to prevent them springing open. Ok I could have screwed the unit up without using the clips but this is supposed to be a weatherproof unit.
NOT a good purchase.
"