Product Reviews

Cement based coating for preventing water and damp penetration in walls and floors.

Cement based coating for preventing water and damp penetration in walls and floors.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Review 1 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good waterproofer
8 Aug 2014
By bedford
, llangurig
"seems to working so far
best to spilt tub into half as once mixed goes off quite quickly
"
Review 2 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well
29 Oct 2013
By Aithernie
, East Scotland
"Applied two coats, easy to apply, works well, remember to check the date, use with in 6 months of manufacture"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent result
23 Aug 2013
By Academical
, Hamilton
"I found this product easy to apply as instructed with a masonry brush and since doing so it has stopped the water penetration problem I was having in my garage. Did exactly what it said!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product But Be Careful
2 Aug 2013
By Ned99
, Farsley, Leeds
"I bought 2 tubs from the Leeds branch. When I got home and read the instructions on the tub I noticed that they should not be used if more than 6 months from the dom. One was ok, but the other 1 month out of date.
I called SIKA and they said certainly do not use if more than 6 months old. I called Scewfix and they were unaware of this 6 months life. However, they were quick to replace the out of date tub and provide a £10 gift card by way of apology.
The product is great, but goes off quite quickly; I mixed all 5kg for the first coat and the last few brush strokes were difficult. For the second coat I mixed 2 tubs of 2.5kg each; much better."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
6 Nov 2012
By Anonymous
, Newcastle upon Tyne
"bought this as garage leaked when heavy rain, easy to mix and apply, so far so good, have covered the garage walls (4 tubs) worth every penny, solution goes a long way when applied evenly."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Effective
26 May 2014
By tracteurguy
, london
"one application solved a very stubborn damp problem. Finish was course but easily skimmed over to make a good finish"
Review 7 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Waterproof Coating
18 Sep 2012
By CastleViewJohn
, Isle of Wight
"I am quite impressed with the ease of use of this product. Compared with bitumen-based products which are difficult to apply to uneven surfaces and have a noxious vapour in enclosed spaces, it was very easy to apply, dried quite quickly and had no smell. I used it to damp-proof a basement wall (below damp-proof course level). I can't yet vouch for the effectiveness or reliability as it has only just been applied."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
12 Sep 2012
By steelydan
, Newcastle upon Tyne
"After heavy rainstorms, I was having problems with occasional severe groundwater seepage into my basement garage through a line of crumbling old bricks and mortar low down on one wall. This was seven feet below ground level so I was forced to treat the inside only.
When we got some dry weather I scraped off the loose mortar and brickwork surface with a wire brush, then applied a layer of rapid dry cement. A couple of days later I was able to put on the first coat of Sika.
I feel it is important to follow the Sika instructions to the letter, so I made up the mixture to their exact ( and I mean exact)specification for consistency with regard to the ratio of water and waterproofer and stirred it for a good five minutes. I was a bit wary as to how "runny" the mixture was (like slurry) but having sprayed the line of brickwork very lightly with water to just dampen it, I found I was able to brush on a coat of Sika with a large paintbrush without any of it falling off.
I waited 48 hours then applied another identical coat - and since then the garage wall has been bone dry!
There may be easier ways of solving the problem - I don't know - but I do know this product did the job it was supposed to so I am quite happy.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sika waterproof coating
16 May 2012
By barnyC
, plymouth
"very good product,one of the only ones that is paintable-must remember to dampen the surface well or its hard to spread."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good for small areas
24 Apr 2012
By barobi
, South West
"I have now purchased a couple of these while I rennovate our house, used to waterproof an old concrete floor of 1920s house to be used as a bathroom, before tiling I found it simple to mix and easy to use."
Review 11 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to use
4 Oct 2011
By frequenttrav
, Essex
"I used this to seal a crack between brickwork and a concrete path. It made a neat job. It looked a bit sloppy when first made up. I was worried putting on the first coat but once this had dried the second coat went on easily. Waited 24 hours between coats."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Is this Cement?
1 Jan 2013
By MAKhan
, London, United Kingd
"i don't know if its only me or somebody else noticed that this is just cement, as it smell like it and also the same texture"
Review 13 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wetter than before
12 May 2014
By Anonymous
, Glasgow
"I have just had the same experience as Stanislaus (10 dec '13). I applied the product to a damp cellar wall and floor. Both wall and floor are now wet! The seeping water appears to sweat through the coating and form beads of moisture"
Review 14 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Damp still penetrating!
10 Dec 2013
By Stanislaus
, Liverpool
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Despite following the instructions to the letter I still have penetrating damp in my cellar. The walls were not wet with any water ingress but since I applied this product water is seaping through the brickwork and on to the surface. I know it takes time to cure but it has been 2 months since I did it and it has never fully dried out."
Review 15 for Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Inferior product
6 Sep 2012
By DrWood
, Northumberland
"Thought I really must review this product whilst every failing is still fresh in the mind. Over the past 4 years I have used considerable amounts of tanking cement/slurry on my renovation project, so I do know what I am talking about! Originally I bought up stocks from “Red Pencil” builder’s merchant when they discontinued the line and subsequently have used the product used by many of the professionals. As I am coming to the end of my project and this latest area was not too large I decided I would use Sika® Waterproof Coating as it was easier to stick it on the end of a Screwfix order. Having now used 2 X 5kg just for the first coat, way more than I had calculated based on my previous usage, I have gone back to Wykamol tanking,(what a difference!). The coverage of Sika® Waterproof Coating is very poor a high percentage not adhering so landing on the floor (no wanted on this occasion) I have never experienced this on brick, sandstone or concrete block in the past. Even as another reviewer mentioned wetting the wall did not help, it would hardly coat the undamaged colliery brick surface and then collected into “snots” with minimal brushing. I only hope its waterproof properties are better than its application ones. My advice is to shop around for tanking cement as price varies and as I have found so does quality."