Product Reviews

Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg

Sika Waterproof Coating 5kg
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
18 of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Review 1 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical and effective
3 Feb 2016
By
, Carlisle
" Great solution to leaky joints in bricks and mortar. Goes on well, works well externally and internally.
Worth taking the time to do the job properly for best results. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
12 Nov 2015
By
, Abingdon
" Excellent product, Read instructions carefully especially preparation and follow recommendations. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sika waterproof cement
23 Jan 2015
By
, Cardiff
" Ideal for DIY as it stays "fresh" in its resealable container and can be applied with either a brush or a trowel. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best on market
24 Dec 2014
By
, oxford
" Excellent product easy to mix and apply Good coverage and Effective with good results "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good waterproofer
8 Aug 2014
By
, llangurig
" seems to working so far
best to spilt tub into half as once mixed goes off quite quickly
"
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well
29 Oct 2013
By
, East Scotland
" Applied two coats, easy to apply, works well, remember to check the date, use with in 6 months of manufacture "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent result
23 Aug 2013
By
, Hamilton
" I found this product easy to apply as instructed with a masonry brush and since doing so it has stopped the water penetration problem I was having in my garage. Did exactly what it said! "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product But Be Careful
2 Aug 2013
By
, Farsley, Leeds
" I bought 2 tubs from the Leeds branch. When I got home and read the instructions on the tub I noticed that they should not be used if more than 6 months from the dom. One was ok, but the other 1 month out of date.
I called SIKA and they said certainly do not use if more than 6 months old. I called Scewfix and they were unaware of this 6 months life. However, they were quick to replace the out of date tub and provide a £10 gift card by way of apology.
The product is great, but goes off quite quickly; I mixed all 5kg for the first coat and the last few brush strokes were difficult. For the second coat I mixed 2 tubs of 2.5kg each; much better. "
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
6 Nov 2012
By
, Newcastle upon Tyne
" bought this as garage leaked when heavy rain, easy to mix and apply, so far so good, have covered the garage walls (4 tubs) worth every penny, solution goes a long way when applied evenly. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job
15 Oct 2014
By
, Chepstow
" We bought this for our garage walls as they were letting in water. We gave them two coats and so far were very pleased with the result. We have a couple of patches to go over again as we still have a trickle coming in. We didn't put it on as thick as we should have so more than likely that's our fault as you have to mix it up, gauging the amount you need if not using the whole tub. It's working and doing the job over 95% of the walls, the 5% being as described above. Make sure it's within the shelf life date. Would recommend the product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Effective
26 May 2014
By
, london
" one application solved a very stubborn damp problem. Finish was course but easily skimmed over to make a good finish "
Review 12 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Waterproof Coating
18 Sep 2012
By
, Isle of Wight
" I am quite impressed with the ease of use of this product. Compared with bitumen-based products which are difficult to apply to uneven surfaces and have a noxious vapour in enclosed spaces, it was very easy to apply, dried quite quickly and had no smell. I used it to damp-proof a basement wall (below damp-proof course level). I can't yet vouch for the effectiveness or reliability as it has only just been applied. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
12 Sep 2012
By
, Newcastle upon Tyne
" After heavy rainstorms, I was having problems with occasional severe groundwater seepage into my basement garage through a line of crumbling old bricks and mortar low down on one wall. This was seven feet below ground level so I was forced to treat the inside only.
When we got some dry weather I scraped off the loose mortar and brickwork surface with a wire brush, then applied a layer of rapid dry cement. A couple of days later I was able to put on the first coat of Sika.
I feel it is important to follow the Sika instructions to the letter, so I made up the mixture to their exact ( and I mean exact)specification for consistency with regard to the ratio of water and waterproofer and stirred it for a good five minutes. I was a bit wary as to how "runny" the mixture was (like slurry) but having sprayed the line of brickwork very lightly with water to just dampen it, I found I was able to brush on a coat of Sika with a large paintbrush without any of it falling off.
I waited 48 hours then applied another identical coat - and since then the garage wall has been bone dry!
There may be easier ways of solving the problem - I don't know - but I do know this product did the job it was supposed to so I am quite happy.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sika waterproof coating
16 May 2012
By
, plymouth
" very good product,one of the only ones that is paintable-must remember to dampen the surface well or its hard to spread. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good for small areas
24 Apr 2012
By
, South West
" I have now purchased a couple of these while I rennovate our house, used to waterproof an old concrete floor of 1920s house to be used as a bathroom, before tiling I found it simple to mix and easy to use. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to use
4 Oct 2011
By
, Essex
" I used this to seal a crack between brickwork and a concrete path. It made a neat job. It looked a bit sloppy when first made up. I was worried putting on the first coat but once this had dried the second coat went on easily. Waited 24 hours between coats. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Out of date
18 Sep 2015
By
, Southampton
" This coating deteriorates with age before it is applied. It needs to be used within six months of manufacture. When I got home and took the tub out of its outer cardboard box I found that it was well past the six months. So I had to drive back and return it. And all the other tubs in stock at my local Screwfix were also out of date.
It looks as if Screwfix does not have a good stock control system for handling perishable products. "
Review 18 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product
9 Dec 2014
By
, South Norfolk
" Purchased 3 tubs of this to cover the floor of a bedroom in a bungalow to prevent any damp from below.
Initially had some issues with sourcing tubs that were within the 6 month shelf life, but eventually managed to find them from a total of 3 local depots.
Frustratingly more than a year on since a reviewer noted that this product shouldn't be used beyond 6 months from DOM, Screwfix still seem blissfully unaware. I rang the sales number just to check, to be told that "the manufacturer is wrong (and worded their tubs incorrectly) and that the product shouldn't be used after 6 months from first opening it...." I rang Sika and unsurprisingly they told me it shouldn't be used after 6 months of DOM !
Screwfix thanked me for bringing it to their attention, but hopefully this time they will take it on board.
If following the guidelines on the side of the tub it then produces a very thick mixture which I can't see how could be brushed onto a surface. Had to spread it around with a plastering trowel which wasn't too bad and gave a reasonably smooth surface (for a novice).
It dried fairly quickly for the time of year, and hopefully will ensure the room stays damp free. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wetter than before
12 May 2014
By
, Glasgow
" I have just had the same experience as Stanislaus (10 dec '13). I applied the product to a damp cellar wall and floor. Both wall and floor are now wet! The seeping water appears to sweat through the coating and form beads of moisture "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sika Waterproof Coating Grey
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Damp still penetrating!
10 Dec 2013
By
, Liverpool
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Despite following the instructions to the letter I still have penetrating damp in my cellar. The walls were not wet with any water ingress but since I applied this product water is seaping through the brickwork and on to the surface. I know it takes time to cure but it has been 2 months since I did it and it has never fully dried out. "
Page : 1 2 next>