Product Reviews

Compact design screw-down lockshield. Approved to BS 2767-10.

Compact design screw-down lockshield. Approved to BS 2767-10.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Review 1 for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lockshield with drain valve
29 Aug 2011
By SAABDude
, Worcester
"Nice bit of kit - looks well made. I bought this for the drain valve in the tailpiece. I used it with a Pegler Terrier Chrome TRV 15mm Straight (96528) and swapped the tailpiece from this in place of the original tailpiece of the lockshield valve that came with the TRV. Fits perfectly. I think this is the only way to get a drain valve on a straight chrome TRV set.
Can't comment on reliability yet but don't expect any problems - it's a Pegler after all.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pegler
29 Aug 2011
By divvyhead
, London
"Al good and never any problems, always use them. Pegler are good value for money, balanced with quality."
Review 3 for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
L/S drain off
16 Feb 2010
By stplumb
, Cumbria
"Usual peggler quality, drain off positioned so radiator can be drained without whole system if required."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Need good keys
25 Jan 2013
By Fuzzyfelt
, York
"I too share a concern a previous reviewer had made regarding the limited small size of the bleed nut.
When I used my trusty brass bleed key, it slipped and could have easily rounded the nut off. Fortunately, I had an aluminium/nickel key in my toolbox which worked perfectly.
I wonder if something like: http://www.screwfix.com/p/plumbing-tools-by-rothenberger-4-way-radiator-services-cabinet-key/84379 may provide a better match of key"
Review 5 for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks good not that reliable
19 Jul 2011
By boris
, London
"Fitting such a drain off makes radiator maintenance and removal so much easier. Should be mandatory. The Pegler valve is most suitable for new installations as the drain off is between the radiator tapping and the return pipework, so will not swap for an ordinary lock shield valve if you are upgrading. The cheaper but clunky Item 62013 will probably fit and costs a quarter of the Pegler price. I have just bought a new Pegler to replace a 3 year old original whose drain off would not stop leaking once the system was filled to working pressure."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great idea, Disappointing
21 Nov 2013
By ramasaig2
, Isle of Mull
"I thought this was a great idea. I fitted one a couple of years ago. Recently I came to change the radiator, and tried to drain it. I could not make it budge, and have now only succeeded in rounding off the square drive (using a brass radiator key).
Eventually I drained the radiator in the time honoured way by loosening the union connector.
Even after removing the valve I can't get the drain plug to move, despite 24 hour soak in WD40. There's no sign of corrosion, no lime-scale (this is a soft water area).
I'm disappointed.
"
Review 7 for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Needs non-standard key
4 Nov 2013
By Tode
, London
"Warning - the drain-off spigot size is 4.5 mm! A standard rad key (5 mm or 5.1 mm) is loose but will work when the valve is new.
I have one of these fitted. I needed to drain off about 5 years after installed, and found it jammed too tight for a standard key to open. A 4.5 mm clock key (available on line) fits perfectly - get a steel one if the valve is really jammed as it will break a brass key.
The new Pegler fitting I bought to replace the jammed one has the same size spigot, so they're still non-standard.
"
Review 8 for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good idea - poor performance
9 Nov 2011
By Millmann
, Maidstone
"This drain off looks a great idea and I have fitted several, but in use the drain spigot is very short and the only tool that fits the spigot is a radiator bleed key, I have now broken three (quality) radiator keys and rounded several spigots trying to release the drain screw (which are still at the factory tightened torque).
Peglar need to increase the length of the spigot, produce a purpose made key that provides sufficient torque to operate the drain or reduce the torque that they tighten these valves too during manufacture.
The lockshield is well made and finished, my only issue is with the operation of the drain off."
Review 9 for Pegler Terrier Lockshield Valve 15mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Drain off
25 Mar 2013
By Lankie
, Lichfield
"Of the 8 I have purchased the drain has rounded before it would open on 2 and the other 6 have all leaked, again through the drain off, to exchange for another product would involve altering all the pipework. Sorry, especially as they are relativly expensive, I can't recommend this product at all."