Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Powered by a 150cc Mountfield recoil start engine, this lawnmower will provide a good finish on all types of lawn. Featuring a robust steel chassis, single point height of cut adjustment with 5 positions from 20-70mm and a 55 litre capacity grass collector.

Powered by a 150cc Mountfield recoil start engine, this lawnmower will provide a good finish on all types of lawn. Featuring a robust steel chassis, single point height of cut adjustment with 5 positions from 20-70mm and a 55 litre capacity grass collector.
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Mower
21 Apr 2012
By
, Salisbury
"Excellent mower all round. Very quite, smooth to use, easy to start, economical. Replaces 17 year old Mountfield and is surprisingly good in comparison. Old one also had plastic grass box which lasted fine so no worrys there. Paid nearly the same for old one so very good value relatively speaking."
Review 2 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Mower
8 Apr 2012
By
, South Wales
"This mower is the same make as my previous one which lasted for years. I thought it was excellent value for money and this model is better than my old one as it has an adjustable throttle. The cutting box is large and easy to remove for emptying. The mower was easy to assemble and I would throughly recommend this mower to anyone."
Review 3 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent mower
20 Oct 2011
By
, Birmingham
"Brilliant value for money (discounted ).Easy to assemble (30 min ). Started first pull.Good clean cut,with stripes.Very large grass box. Altogether an excellent choice."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mountfield mower
1 Sep 2011
By
, Clitheroe
"Starts first pull, very easy to adjust cutting height, not too noisy and very easy to use.
the steel construction looks like it is built to last and finally the grass collector is large enough to avoid constant stopping to empty. An excellent product. Screwfix delivery was outstanding (e-mail giving delivery time and the delivery was on time!).
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
27 Jun 2011
By
, Banffshire
"A brilliant mower that does an ace job of cutting the grass.Starts on the first or second pull. Gardens that would take me ages to cut with an electric mower are now done in half the time. Just a little heavier to push."
Review 6 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job.
10 Jun 2011
By
, Moray
"A little fiddly to assemble but very little to actually put together. Started on first pull, ran beautifully and cut the grass efficiently.
Fragile old ladies should maybe consider the powered version because it is a little heavy to push up a slope.
4 Stars for reliability as I only got it today!
Well worth the money!
"
Review 7 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield HP184 mower
8 Jun 2011
By
, Aylesbury
"The first one of these which I bought had a carburettor which was not tightened up properly. I cut the grass shortly after buying it and put it back in the shed. It leaked all of its fuel over the mower. This lifted the decals on the front and damaged the paint too. Mountfield invited me to take it to one of their dealers 7 miles away. I actually fixed the fault myself but given the state of the mower and my shed - it stank of fuel for days, I decided to take it back to Screwfix. No quibbles and it was exchanged for another. The mower is brilliant. It cuts cleanly, runs smoothly and uses very little fuel. It is also very light which is handy if you need to lift it into a vehicle or a shed. A great buy."
Review 8 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
2 Jun 2011
By
, Sorbie
"Having Burnt out my electric hover mower I bought this and wish I had done it years ago. Makes a great cut and cuts close to the side. Easy to start and operate and the one handle height adjustment is a breeze, quiet enough not to frighten our dog too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant mower
1 Jun 2011
By
, sn6 8pt
"Received the mower very promptly and it was easy to put together. Runs like a dream and is easy to use as it's not too heavy.
Very pleased with the product, delivery and price!
"
Review 10 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beware of smoke!
7 May 2011
By
, Southampton
"Based on other reviews of this product we dashed to Screwfix and collected our 1st Petrol lawn Mower. It's probably a little larger than we need for our small garden & allotment.........
We set it up with the required liquids & lubricators & fired it up. It spluttered into life and cut the lawn. However there was smoke coming out of the engine, which continued after turning off. This was rather alarming to us novices, but after ringing the customer helpline (stuck to the mower), we were reassured that this is completely normal and after 30 mins use would discontinue!
So far so good.
"
Review 11 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really quiet mower
4 May 2011
By
, north of England
"I was very surprised how .quiet this Lawnmower was when I first started it up.
Easy to start and light to push.
I would recommend this lawnmower as a good value product
"
Review 12 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes the chore out mowing
26 Apr 2011
By
, East Yorkshire
"This is my fourth petrol lawn mower to date, easy to assemble with the tool supplied, filled it up with oil (not supplied) and gas it started first pull, it popped, splutters and smoked for the first 5 minutes then it settled down with the occasional pop. I got on with cutting the lawn the handle is comfortable and sturdy with a good reach it was a pleasure to cut the lawn, it performed better than the Mountfield Tuff Cut I once owned, (bent the drive shaft on a protruding kerb). It was no effort to push along and manoeuvre around the trees and shrubs. The wide wheels and the 1 lever height adjuster worked well also. The grass box is adequate I managed to cut the lawn without the need to empty it; it has a good fan on the cutting blade blowing the grass to the back of the grass box. The grass was dry.
The build quality and finish was good so was the price and would recommend it.
"
Review 13 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol
18 Apr 2011
By
, Northumberland
"easy to assemble. very easy to start and a pleasure to use, It has a very good dead man lever, you have to hold the lever in place to start and operate the mower and as soon as you let it go it stops the engine."
Review 14 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NO WORKOUT NECESSARY
16 Jun 2010
By
, EAST YORKSHIRE
"WE BOUGHT THIS LAWNMOWER ABOUT FOUR WEEKS AGO AND, SO FAR, IT'S BEEN LIKE A BREATH OF FRESH AIR AFTER THE ONE WE'VE HAD FOR THE LAST 8 YEARS.
THE OLD ONE WAS SECONDHAND WHEN WE BOUGHT IT AND IT WAS THE FIRST PETROL MOWER WE'D EVER BOUGHT. IT WAS REALLY HARD TO START, WE FELT LIKE WE'D DONE AN HOUR OF AEROBICES TRAINING BY THE TIME IT STARTED.
THIS NEW MOWER IS JUST AMAZING, NOT ONLY DOES IT START THE FIRST TIME REALLY EASILY, BUT IT ACTUALLY CUTS THE GRASS BEAUTIFULLY ASWELL, EXACTLY WHAT YOU'D EXPECT FROM A LAWNMOWER!
DON'T KNOW WHY WE WAITED SO LONG TO BUY A NEW ONE, WE COULD HAVE HAD A BEAUTIFUL LAWN 8 YEARS AGO IF WE'D KNOWN ABOUT SCREWFIX THEN!
"
Review 15 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield mower again
20 Jun 2012
By
, south east London
"I have owned a Mountfield mower for years but it finally gave up the ghost a few weeks ago.
I wanted to buy a new one and I saw no reason to buy anything but a Mountfield as the mower had given good service without any looking after. The new Mountfield we bought seems every bit as good as the previous one, better even.
I can only hope it lasts as long as the previous one."
Review 16 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My nice new mower
18 Sep 2011
By
, North Tawton, Devon
"Practically everything about the Mountfield HP184 is very good indeed, and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else except for two things. The first is that there are no idiot proof assembly instructions in the box, and you have to have some mechanical experience and intuition to assemble it. The second is a little more serious; it started up beautifully on the pull cord, but when I came to restart it after emptying the hopper, I found that the plastic handle of the pull cord had shattered as it rewound into its bracket on the pushbar. Luckily I still had the broken Mountfield I was replacing and so could cannibalise the knob from the old machine, but other users may not be in such a fortunate position. Mountfield really should improve the grade and design of their plastic knob. The old knob is much more robustly designed and kinder to the hand, but if it goes again I shall use a nice bit of old wooden fork handle!"
Review 17 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money
8 Jun 2011
By
, Cirencester
"Assembly not helped by slight difference to design not reflected in instructions and also a bit fiddly but OK and started 1st time.
Wheels, collection box and mounting all in plastic and not sure how long it will last. But can't complain given the price and has done the job required so far."
Review 18 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good gear
3 May 2011
By
, SALTCOATS
"good bit of kit dont over fill with oil it will make a mess if you do"
Review 19 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value
30 Jul 2010
By
, Chepstow
"After looking through lots of web sites this was by far the best value with the best reviews from other buyers.
I was not disapointed, its easy to use, not to heavy(I have to lift it into my shed) and starts easily.
"
Review 20 for Mountfield HP184 45cm Petrol Rotary Push Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
right tool for the job
29 May 2010
By
, Devon
"Having just moved to a property with 1/4 acre of lawns in 4 different areas of the garden this mower was just what I needed to maintain them in neat condition in a reasonable time"
Page : 1 2 next>