Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

All-metal gearing, rubber body protection and soft-grip handle. Supplied with carry case.

All-metal gearing, rubber body protection and soft-grip handle. Supplied with carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.549 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (173 reviews)
5 stars
132
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
9
157 of 173(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Review 1 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A WORD OF ADVICE !!!
24 Mar 2011
By oakydokey
, chelmsford
"A WORD OF ADVICE TO MAKITA!!!!
Don't change a thing this is cracking, charged it up when it arrived and have been using it ever since. handles serious workloads and it's done some round here and never let me down and it's got some grunt to it. Makita have got a real classic on their hands here feels comfortable and does everything you ask of it 30 minute charge time 2 batteries and charger and a case you would be happy to pay £20 for.
These must be flying off the shelf at £99.
Well done to screwfix for value and well done to makita a GREAT piece of kit.
"
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marvellous Makita
21 Aug 2014
By blythmag
, North East
"Bought this exact model from Screwfix six years ago - used continuously in an industrial environment and never flagged but starting to get a little bit tired. Replace like-for-like - excellent price again from Screwfix for an unbeatable product"
Review 3 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best drill & bits
17 Aug 2014
By sparrowbird
, Norfolk
"Exceptionally good drill and bit set. Lightweight and easy to use with quick charge. Perfect."
Review 4 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent drill
4 Aug 2014
By fazz1
, yorkshire
"perfect item, long charge
light for me, and easy to use, comes with 2 batteries.
"
Review 5 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent drill again
19 Jul 2014
By Delboy68
, Skelton
"This is my second makita drill and they are excellent quality"
Review 6 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Come back all is forgiven
18 Jun 2014
By Stagehand
, Swindon
"Why are you showing not available? Such a good product!"
Review 7 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most amazing tool in my van
26 Feb 2014
By Bmwonder
, Crewe
"I love this cordless drill. I have had it ages and ages and it still performs faultlessly. I use it daily for pro use. Does pretty much everything I've ever needed. The main thing that is awesome is the reliability. I use it and abuse it daily. I've left it out in the rain numerous times. I dropped it numerous times (once off a roof!) and it still works fine. The batteries don't hold the charge as long as they used to but given the charging cycles I've done I can't believe they are still as good as they are. I would buy another at the drop of a hat but this one looks like it'll go on forever."
Review 8 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 18v combi drill
22 Nov 2013
By alskie
, edinburgh
"Great purchase . Very competitive price . Drill
has all the features i require , as a tradesman .Good build quality & a quick half hour charge . Comes with a very sturdy carry case . Highly recommend this product .
"
Review 9 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most reliable drill
19 Nov 2013
By Thecraftsman
, Northern Ireland
"have just purchased another two Makita drills for our assembly line. I have tried all the other makes over 20 -30 years and this drill leaves them all standing. Great piece of kit with plenty of torque and settings. The drills are used all year round on a daily basis. Never gave any problems of any kind. second battery is a good thing and takes only half hour to charge. well balanced drill and comfortable to use all day long. Ordered on Friday, and in my office on Monday morning. first class drill and service. Many thanks."
Review 10 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!
30 Aug 2013
By xyz123
, Dorset
"This is the first time I've forked-out on a quality cordless; I've always had cheap ones because they'd get damaged so easily and would be much cheaper to replace. I wish I'd bought this Makita years ago; it's superb. I've tried similar products from Hitachi and DeWalt and this is by far the most impressive in all regards. It's certainly the most powerful I've ever used - even the hammer action is as good as any mains-powered hammer drill, with the obvious exception of an SDS. The batteries charge very quickly too. Great quality, great performance."
Review 11 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faultless
29 Aug 2013
By Coley1981
, Bury St Edmunds
"Had this drill for 6 weeks and cannot fault it. Moved house so needed something that could keep up and this is by far the best drill around for the money. Used to put a shed together and 3.6m x 6m decking without the need to recharge. Plenty of power and I managed to get it with a 101pc tool kit for £99.99. If you need a drill look no further."
Review 12 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makita superb product
20 Jun 2013
By domby
, kent
"we have had over 15 of these drills purchased over a 6 year period. used and abused on a daily basis. Only now are the early batteries giving up the ghost. I purchased one for myself as the dark green german product is naff in comparison as is there after sales service"
Review 13 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
14 Apr 2013
By Eloclegin
, South East
"Outstanding value for money. Has the same grunt as my £250 De Walt and Bosch pro drills. I stored all my drills for two months at freezing temperatures. This drill was the only one that was still fully charged when I pulled them out."
Review 14 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 8391DWPE 18V Combi Dril
25 Feb 2013
By colorlites
, Chatham
"2nd one purchased. Battery life works well for a days work."
Review 15 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly Recommended
26 Jan 2013
By Shedhead55
, Leicester
"Extremely powerful but easy to control, a little heavy maybe, but very well balanced and easy to use accurately. I have only previously experienced the kind of torque this drill can deliver in much heavier and cumbersome mains powered drills and this could well become the only drill I use in future. Maximum capacity in masonry is stated to be 13mm but while I haven't yet tried it I am confident this drill has the power to occasionally put a much larger hole through brick or blockwork.
As stated earlier the drill is perhaps a little heavy but this is a result of the NiCd battery and what is essentially the same drill is available with a singe Li-ion battery at a similar price (at the time of writing) which should be somewhat lighter but loses the advantage of 2 batteries.
"
Review 16 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Makita Combi Drill
18 Jan 2013
By ReaderontheExe
, Exeter
"Superb Makita 8391DWPE 18V Combi Drill, good power, nice design and feel, great value for money. Would recomend to anybody wanting domestic general use and professional contractors. Well done Makita. Shame its not made in the UK!"
Review 17 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect drill at epic price
15 Jan 2013
By GreenBean
, Plymouth
"Brought as an entry drill, giving me an all round performance in a range of tasks that I shall put it through.
Lightweight to use, so working at some awkward angles was a doddle.
Great charger system simple to quickly glance at while doing other jobs."
Review 18 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill,Poor sevice.
28 Dec 2012
By phantom26
, newmarket
"Makita; allways reliable and for the money one of the best drills on the market. a very sturdy drill and tough. has a bit of weight but fits great in hand for good control."
Review 19 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant!!
12 Dec 2012
By justatad
, ipswich
"a wonderful tool, honest and true description, a 1st class item in every respect, thank you so much."
Review 20 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Buy
3 Dec 2012
By Biscuid
, Gloucestershire
"Impressed by drill so far, charge seems to last for ages, smooth action,"
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>