Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita 8391DWPE 18V Combi

Makita 8391DWPE 18V Combi
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
5 stars
136
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
9
162 of 178(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Review 1 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A WORD OF ADVICE !!!
24 Mar 2011
By
, chelmsford
"A WORD OF ADVICE TO MAKITA!!!!
Don't change a thing this is cracking, charged it up when it arrived and have been using it ever since. handles serious workloads and it's done some round here and never let me down and it's got some grunt to it. Makita have got a real classic on their hands here feels comfortable and does everything you ask of it 30 minute charge time 2 batteries and charger and a case you would be happy to pay £20 for.
These must be flying off the shelf at £99.
Well done to screwfix for value and well done to makita a GREAT piece of kit.
"
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be Independent & Free -Makita
27 Sep 2014
By
, Somerset
"Be independent & Free with the Makita 18V Cordless Combi Drill. This drill is the third one I have purchased from Screwfix over the last thirty years & if it lasts as the other have, I will NOT be disappointed!"
Review 3 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great drill
17 Sep 2014
By
, Essex
"excellent product at an unbelievable price.
no complaints here
"
Review 4 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just keeps going
13 Sep 2014
By
, sarratt
"I have had this drill a few years now. I would say that it has been unbelievable .Totally robust , dropped it , kicked it, just totally abused it. I even used it on a 117 mm core drill to go through a breeze and brick wall- after my sds gave up. It took two fully charged batteries to do it but just kept going. No brainer - just buy one"
Review 5 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard to beat
26 Aug 2014
By
, Colchester
"This is my second purchase ONLY because the charger decided to give out. Cheaper to buy the whole set than a replacement charger. An extra 2 batteries and a spare drill is always useful.
The drill is an excellent machine and over the last 3 years it has coped with everything I have used it for. The hammer drill is very effective on the sub-10mm diameters TCT drills and has a good torque when driving long 8mm dia screws. All in all an excellent all round tool. It is the first tool I take to my work areas. Hopefully Matika will keep this one in production for a long while yet, and perhaps even reduce the replacement cost of its chargers? How about a trade-in service Matika?
"
Review 6 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marvellous Makita
21 Aug 2014
By
, North East
"Bought this exact model from Screwfix six years ago - used continuously in an industrial environment and never flagged but starting to get a little bit tired. Replace like-for-like - excellent price again from Screwfix for an unbeatable product"
Review 7 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best drill & bits
17 Aug 2014
By
, Norfolk
"Exceptionally good drill and bit set. Lightweight and easy to use with quick charge. Perfect."
Review 8 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent drill
4 Aug 2014
By
, yorkshire
"perfect item, long charge
light for me, and easy to use, comes with 2 batteries.
"
Review 9 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent drill again
19 Jul 2014
By
, Skelton
"This is my second makita drill and they are excellent quality"
Review 10 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Come back all is forgiven
18 Jun 2014
By
, Swindon
"Why are you showing not available? Such a good product!"
Review 11 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most amazing tool in my van
26 Feb 2014
By
, Crewe
"I love this cordless drill. I have had it ages and ages and it still performs faultlessly. I use it daily for pro use. Does pretty much everything I've ever needed. The main thing that is awesome is the reliability. I use it and abuse it daily. I've left it out in the rain numerous times. I dropped it numerous times (once off a roof!) and it still works fine. The batteries don't hold the charge as long as they used to but given the charging cycles I've done I can't believe they are still as good as they are. I would buy another at the drop of a hat but this one looks like it'll go on forever."
Review 12 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 18v combi drill
22 Nov 2013
By
, edinburgh
"Great purchase . Very competitive price . Drill
has all the features i require , as a tradesman .Good build quality & a quick half hour charge . Comes with a very sturdy carry case . Highly recommend this product .
"
Review 13 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most reliable drill
19 Nov 2013
By
, Northern Ireland
"have just purchased another two Makita drills for our assembly line. I have tried all the other makes over 20 -30 years and this drill leaves them all standing. Great piece of kit with plenty of torque and settings. The drills are used all year round on a daily basis. Never gave any problems of any kind. second battery is a good thing and takes only half hour to charge. well balanced drill and comfortable to use all day long. Ordered on Friday, and in my office on Monday morning. first class drill and service. Many thanks."
Review 14 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!
30 Aug 2013
By
, Dorset
"This is the first time I've forked-out on a quality cordless; I've always had cheap ones because they'd get damaged so easily and would be much cheaper to replace. I wish I'd bought this Makita years ago; it's superb. I've tried similar products from Hitachi and DeWalt and this is by far the most impressive in all regards. It's certainly the most powerful I've ever used - even the hammer action is as good as any mains-powered hammer drill, with the obvious exception of an SDS. The batteries charge very quickly too. Great quality, great performance."
Review 15 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faultless
29 Aug 2013
By
, Bury St Edmunds
"Had this drill for 6 weeks and cannot fault it. Moved house so needed something that could keep up and this is by far the best drill around for the money. Used to put a shed together and 3.6m x 6m decking without the need to recharge. Plenty of power and I managed to get it with a 101pc tool kit for £99.99. If you need a drill look no further."
Review 16 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makita superb product
20 Jun 2013
By
, kent
"we have had over 15 of these drills purchased over a 6 year period. used and abused on a daily basis. Only now are the early batteries giving up the ghost. I purchased one for myself as the dark green german product is naff in comparison as is there after sales service"
Review 17 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
14 Apr 2013
By
, South East
"Outstanding value for money. Has the same grunt as my £250 De Walt and Bosch pro drills. I stored all my drills for two months at freezing temperatures. This drill was the only one that was still fully charged when I pulled them out."
Review 18 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 8391DWPE 18V Combi Dril
25 Feb 2013
By
, Chatham
"2nd one purchased. Battery life works well for a days work."
Review 19 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly Recommended
26 Jan 2013
By
, Leicester
"Extremely powerful but easy to control, a little heavy maybe, but very well balanced and easy to use accurately. I have only previously experienced the kind of torque this drill can deliver in much heavier and cumbersome mains powered drills and this could well become the only drill I use in future. Maximum capacity in masonry is stated to be 13mm but while I haven't yet tried it I am confident this drill has the power to occasionally put a much larger hole through brick or blockwork.
As stated earlier the drill is perhaps a little heavy but this is a result of the NiCd battery and what is essentially the same drill is available with a singe Li-ion battery at a similar price (at the time of writing) which should be somewhat lighter but loses the advantage of 2 batteries.
"
Review 20 for Makita 8391DWPE 18V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Makita Combi Drill
18 Jan 2013
By
, Exeter
"Superb Makita 8391DWPE 18V Combi Drill, good power, nice design and feel, great value for money. Would recomend to anybody wanting domestic general use and professional contractors. Well done Makita. Shame its not made in the UK!"
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>