Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita BHP459RFW 18V Combi

Makita BHP459RFW 18V Combi
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Review 1 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Drill
18 Nov 2014
By 0xyz0
, Ipswich
" Super Combi Drill, battery last ages, very versatile and a super quality product. "
Review 2 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best power tool I have ever bo
11 Nov 2014
By Anonymous
, Stafford
" This is the best power tool I have ever bought, the battery life is almost endless and when needed the battery recharges very quickly in 20-25 mins The drill has a solid feel, and is well balanced and comfortable to use, with a very comfortable rubber grip.
Overall I would say this is without doubt the best drill I've ever owned and I'd happily recommend it to anyone, from a DIY beginner through to a professional tradesman.
"
Review 3 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
30 Aug 2014
By Sparky204
, Kent
" I have owned quite a few drills but this has to be the best drill i have ever bought. The battery seems to go on and on and when it does run out it only takes 20mins to charge which is just about enough time to enjoy a cup of coffee before getting back to work.
I have used this drill mainly on masonry and metal and have not been let down by its performance.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the Drill I Wanted
31 Jul 2014
By Artie69
, Epsom
" Makita 18v BHP 459 brushless. Having used the drill, it has all ready become my favourite over my other two battery drills, the battery seems to last a lot longer than the others, I still haven't had to recharge it. The chuck is a delight to use, having arthritis in my hands the lock up when tightening and loosening the bits means I can get a good grip. I have purchased other Makita power tools and haven't been disappointed yet. "
Review 5 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great quality drill *****
2 Jul 2014
By cacmo
, Norfolk
" As a keen DIYer I thought I would invest in a Makita as it seems to be the brand of choice for many trade and DIYers with good reviews. On the few occasions I have used this drill, so far it has been a real pleasure. First impressions of using this drill was it’s much lighter and feels much more comfortable and balanced than the cheaper brands I have previously purchased, it also feels more robust than any previous drills I have had. Time will tell if it is as reliable as people claim. "
Review 6 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Drill
8 May 2014
By Griddave
, Bristol
" I have owned Makita battery drills for at least 20 years and this one looks like it is going to follow the tradition of being just brilliant.
I am constantly amazed how much work can be achieved using just an 18 volt battery.
"
Review 7 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant light weight drill
22 Apr 2014
By Paddington75
, London
" I bought this drill to replace my old Black and Decker 12v cordless drill. As with all Makita's it is well made and feels robust. The brush less motor is very quiet and the battery life is much longer than the other Makita 18v drill I have.
Being that the drill is light weight and short in body length means you can get between joists and into awkward access areas much more easily.
Only gripes are that the max torque level reachable is lower than expected, that there is no metal chuck (a shame because the metal indexing chucks are beautifully made) and there is no screwdriver bit holder. "
Review 8 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Pure brilliance"
13 Apr 2014
By HandymanJake345
, wensleydale,
" After five years of extensive use, my old Makita drill (Ni-Cd), decided to give up (well, the batteries did!) Taken this opportunity, I decided to upgrade to a Lithuim-ion drill. I decided to go for this model, given its brushless motor that Makita suggest's gives double the runtime. Charged battery once and I have done amazing amounts of work with it, and the battery has shown no signs of wear. One month later, I eventually needed to charge it up, which only takes 22 mins, but seemed a lot quicker. "
Review 9 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb product!
16 Mar 2014
By Yiddoboy
, London
" This is a non trade review. I purchased this based on the reviews of tradesman. I cannot believe a cordless drill can work this well. Ok It's not cheap. I have drilled into brick and stone with only the slightest jitter it's not as quick as my old Bosch pro electric. It does a good job to match it without the hassle of cables. I am sure there are cheaper versions however this is quite and powerful and well worth the little extra cash in my opinion. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Combi Drill
25 Jul 2013
By ProviCott
, Surrey
" I read that Makita's Brushless DC motor gives double the runtime from a single charge because there is no friction caused by brushes. This BL system reduces heat and increases output. I was impressed by this drill - it is compact, light but deceptively powerful, is well-balanced, has a smooth and precise response, is quieter than other drills and does remain cooler in use. It is a joy to use. I have had it a month now and used the hammer, drill and screw functions in many tasks including securing heavy wooden posts into masonry. The doubled runtime from a fast 22 minute charge lived up to the claims and I feel confident that a 2nd battery is not required. The LED job light is a very useful feature although a brighter one would be welcome. Overall am really pleased with this drill and unreservedly recommend it. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BUY ONE
8 Jul 2013
By Trade13man
, GLASGOW
" BUY THIS
If you are thinking about buying any Makita drill buy this well worth the extra money. I have a Makita 18v li-ion a few years older and its great but this is in its own league its lighter, better looking, more powerful, BL motor & what the trade wants
Don't hesitate you wont regret it "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
light powerfull compact
1 Jul 2013
By skipratking
, yorkshire
" best drill iv ever had, battery last me 2/3 days average use,
I was going to get a second battery but its not needed, unless you want to drill for England, when battery runs down half way though a job pop it back on charge for 5 min,
compact body, so it fits in really tight spaces,
light and powerful enough to drill a lot of 10 mm holes in steel overhead,
LED light could be better, body of drill casts a shadow on drill bit, if i could switch it on independently and use it as a work light.
"
Review 13 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit
18 May 2013
By darceydefarcey
, Huddersfield
" Not the cheapest drill and only comes with 1 battery. Its true in this case that you get what you pay for though. fantastic drill and long life 3ah battery life. Super fast battery charge. Just need to save up for a second battery now! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Makita BHP459RFW 18V 3.0Ah Li-ion Cordless Brushless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit!!
29 Apr 2013
By Ecnal
, Tamworth
" Want a fantastic, reliable, hardworking and mature drill? Don't click anything else until you have had a real good look at this.
Bought this drill in November. This ticks all the boxes and more!! The only minor down side is only one battery comes with the drill, but bought another, no problem. Awesome 22 minute charger, even better when got 2 batteries, never had to wait for one to charge up. I use this drill every week, at least.
Lovely brake on the drill. Chuck has come a bit loose I think twice, thankfully not while drilling, just with a screw driver bit in
Best drill ever bought!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.