Product Reviews

Stanley Stud Finder 200

Stanley Stud Finder 200
Average Customer Rating:
1.357 out of 5
1.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
12
1 of 14(7%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Review 1 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good tool
8 Apr 2013
By DIYHeroEastbourne
, Eastbourne
" Good tool for finding live cables in walls, not to bad on price "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing
2 Dec 2013
By HeatingEngineerLancs
, Lancashire
" Very awkward to use, and seems to detect phantom cables/studs "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
really awfull
31 Oct 2014
By MrMarco
, Plymouth
" False readings for studs and electric. Im really amazed at how poor this is. I've thrown it away and gone back to the old fashioned looking one i have that works brilliantly.
I found this thing totally unreliable and only worked twice.
"
Review 4 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Product Ever Brought!!!!
23 Aug 2014
By Morty11
, Burton on Trent
" Having looked at all the Tube Videos to see if I was doing something wrong as the instructions are useless, it appears I am not and the product is unfit for purpose.
It will detect studs but as for electric it find electric in everything.
In the bin now.
Please save your money. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish Product
11 Aug 2014
By pengy
, Portsmouth
" I love Screwfix, and Stanley. So why is this so rubbish? It gives false readings and no readings, as so many other reviewers have pointed out. Chucked mine away - suggest you don't part with the cash! Very sad - Stanley stop marketing this or Screwfix stop stocking it! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely useless
25 Jun 2014
By Biryets
, Aberdeen
" Finds studs that didn't exist and misses ones that do. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
waste of money
24 Jun 2014
By cmars
, bradford
" I bought this item hoping it would help me to save time but instead it just made things more complicated by telling me there were joists and cables where in fact there was nothing. Save your money, dont buy this item "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save your money
24 Apr 2014
By swift53
, Bristol
" Bought to find studs in a wall, found studs that didn't exist and missed ones that did. Gave up on the unit when I put a piece of timber behind a sheet of plasterboard and the tester went past the wood without finding anything. "
Review 9 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pointless
3 Feb 2014
By Anonymous
, east sussex
" I have used other makes of stud finders so I know they can be tricky, but this does not work.
I used it on a new plastered wall to find wooden studs, and it just indicated at random. I rechecked the instructions to ensure I was using it properly and tried it on different walls, but it's just a useless tool. I can only guess 12mm plaster board with a skim is too much.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stanley Stud Detector 200
3 Jan 2014
By quentdkl
, Birmingham
" Useless piece of equipment - wish i read reviews...don't but this product - show be withdrawn...have written to Stanley Black & Decker. "
Review 11 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stanley Stud Finder 200
18 Dec 2013
By Sparky0000001
, Loughborough
" Very poor sensing of cables and joists, it beeped at anything in the wall, alerted for electrical cables when there were none in the wall.
buy a more expensive one.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
5 Dec 2013
By Apdiy
, Braford
" Bought this unit to use in my son's house as he had just moved in and needed to find studs in wall to fix TV bracket. According to stud finder the wall had 240v over whole wall and no studs, which I know it has!
I bought this to replace a stud finder that I have from about .10 years ago and have gone back to that one and got a refund on this expensive unit.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
20 Oct 2013
By Anonymous
, Cardiff
" Apparently I have 240V ac running throug my glass panneled door. DO NOT BUY. Two exchanges and still the same rubbish product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stanley Stud Finder 200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A total waste of money!
15 Apr 2013
By NIckybaber
, Somerset
" This is the worst tool i have ever bought...And i thought i was buying something good with the Stanley name on it, that's why i paid the high price. According to this little gadget i live in an electrical sub station... even walls that i know have no cables in, this was tell me it was very alive with electric.... Needless to say i took it back the very next day and got a refund, found a much much cheaper one and that works perfect. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.