Product Reviews

Trend Sharpening System

Trend Sharpening System
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Review 1 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use.
18 May 2013
By
, Wimbledon, London
"This sharpener is great and easy to use. No skill required. Used standard stones and oil but never achieved as good a finish as with this sharpener."
Review 2 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product
12 Mar 2013
By
, Alloa
"I bought this tool after using an electrically driven horizontal sharpening wheel which was vey difficult to set up. The Trend Fast Track does the job beautifully, the only comment I would make is if your chisels are needing a lot of material taken off to achieve the 25 deg as mine I would recommend buying the 90 grit diamond stone. It still is a lot of work to get them back into shape but the end result is excellent."
Review 3 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth buying
17 Dec 2012
By
, Hertfordshire
"Blunt chisels are both useless and dangerous so this is a welcome addition to any chisel-owners toolkit.
I had an oilstone before but could never get my chisels sharp enough to avoid over pressure on the tool and therefore damage to the material.
This puppie does the trick and then some, my chisels have never been sharper.
If you have chisels, you need one of these."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Sharpener.
25 Feb 2012
By
, Chester
"Used oil stones and diamond sharpening stones for years, but finally decided to treat myself to this sharpener when I purchased a new set of chisels several months ago.
Simple to set up and use and great for refreshing chisels after each use. Sharpest my chisels have ever been.
One word of warning. The Initial sharpening of new or old chisels especially the 25deg primary angles can take a long time and alot of work depending on how your existing chisel angles match up. Would recommend anyone setting up chisels on this for the first time to invest in the roughing stone which saves alot of time and energy. (Not available from screwfix unfortunatley)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great find
16 Mar 2010
By
, Yorkshire
"I recently dropped a chisel onto concrete and knocked lumps out of the blade. I was able to get rid of them quickly and get back to work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharpening Supremacy
23 Feb 2010
By
, London
"It may seem expensive, but this is an excellent piece of kit. Fast, accurate sharpening to a very high standard. If you use chisels on a regular basis treat yourself. They will cut as never before. Just remember to keep the slide lubricated and the diamond stones clean."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit....
14 Sep 2009
By
, Wiltshire
"Off the bat It Worked wonders on my new set of Fatmax's...
Simple and repeatable... got the edge back everytime... Tried and gave up the first time on an old one that I'd got of my Dad.. Used to open paint tins with it..!!! 2 mins on my 4" beltsander got the angle about right and finished it off on the Trend thingy and it's back from the dead...
Could do with buying the other diamond grades at a Screwfix price... Still.. a good bit of kit
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pricey but excellent tool
22 May 2012
By
, Near Montrose, Angus
"As a DIYer I used to sharpen planes and chisels freehand. I bought the Trend jig and immediately realised how poor my previous technique had been. It has taken me a couple of weeks but all my planes and chisels are as they should be, and will be so much easier to keep sharp in future.
It is pricey but I have to allow for R & D costs and it may well be a small market. I think this would fly off the shelves at £30.
"
Review 9 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Chisel Sharpener
16 Jul 2011
By
, Cheshire
"I have found this sharpener easy to assemble and easy to use. Quite straight-forward to assemble and I'm hoping for a extended period of use - beats use of the oil stone and guide I previously used. For DIY enthusiast - I fully recommend this purchase."
Review 10 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharpener
13 Jun 2011
By
, Stockton
"Good bit of kit, however it is pricey. It 'll sharpen well providing the edge is 25 degrees and not well battered. Good for keeping on top of already sharp chisels, but if you have ruined one then it's back to the "grinding stone""
Review 11 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
trend fast track sharpening
29 Aug 2008
By
, wakefield
"very easy to use and maintain... ideal for those that aren't confident to sharpen chisels and irons free hand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trend Fastrack Sharpener
18 Aug 2009
By
, Hampshire
"I have been looking at this product for quite a while now & decided to finally try it. A word of warning, if your chisels dont match the angles of this sharpener, your in for a lot of elbow grease. Your other option is to use an alternative method to reach the required bevel so that you can start to hone your blades. My first experience with this sharpener has been quite a hard slog. To be fair I think that once you have got your blades in tune with the sharpener then keeping a good edge on them should be a quick & easy job. Overall I found it harder to use than I imagined. One other point, I think that the extra course stone should be included in the kit for the price to help your initial sharpening, I think this would make it a better all round package & better value. Despite my initial experience I remain optomistic about its ability to put a quick & accurate edge to my chisels etc."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice to begin with....
18 Mar 2014
By
, Leamington Spa
"Brought this item to sharpen my chisels and planer blade. I have used the popular standard honing guide made by record but is never accurate and edges go off stray.
After about a few hours use the slide came wedged in the slide and was rendered useless. I think this happen with the metal particles getting lodged into it. I had to take it back for a full refund.
Also the elastic band is a cheap idea - this stops the slider coming out of the guide.
Instead I have purchased the honing guide made by Veritas which is very easy to set up and allows you to put a micro bevel on the edge of a tool."
Review 14 for Trend S/FTS/KIT Fast-Track Sharpening System
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed
19 Aug 2011
By
, Wolverhampton
"Bought two of these as a result of reviews. After just 12 chisels, sharpened to an adequate standard, both stones on the first kit now have a bald section running through the centre with a thin line of abrasive down each edge. Trend are sending me replacement stones (which is fair enough) but they recommend using lapping fluid to prolong the life of these stones, (at around £10 a bottle!) No mention of this in the instructions.
This is not a cheap piece of equipment, and at this price I could buy 12 brand new chisels. Luckily the second kit is still in it's box so I'm returning it ASAP. Don't know what to do with the other, useless, one."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.