Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Professional quality grinder with overload protection and accidental start protection. Accepts Makita 18V Li-Ion batteries.

Professional quality grinder with overload protection and accidental start protection. Accepts Makita 18V Li-Ion batteries.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita DGA452Z 4½" Angle Grinder 18V - Bare
Review 1 for Makita DGA452Z 4½" Angle Grinder 18V - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good grinder.
5 Aug 2013
By Psycoskippy
, Scunthorpe
" Having read some magazine reviews, this seemed to be a good buy and it is. I have used it to cut the sills off my old discovery and modify an exhaust sysyem which it did with ease . The other reviews which say the red light comes on and the grinder cuts out must be using either flat or damaged batteries. "
Review 2 for Makita DGA452Z 4½" Angle Grinder 18V - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a tile cutter
17 May 2013
By BigDuke6ixx
, Surrey
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I'm a tiler and I use this grinder to cut slots and L shaped notches in all sorts of tiles. On site, where there's no power and setting up the generator is a real pain, this grinder is worth its salt. With a quality blade installed I have no trouble cutting even the hardest porcelain and limestone.
Obviously running off batteries has its limitations in terms of raw power, performance and endurance, so two packs minimum and a quality blade are a must.
I've marked down slightly on value due to the cost of the Li-Ion packs.
In summary, in the hands of a skilled tradesman this tool will do its job well. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Makita DGA452Z 4½" Angle Grinder 18V - Bare
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful and not too Fierce
22 Sep 2011
By FredIOW
, Isle of Wight
" Have mians powered Angle grinders, but this one does everything I want and is not as FIERCE as those.. Make a pleasure to use instead of gritting teeth and holding on tight..
SEEMS that a lot of Makita products are NOT available for Delivery !!
THIS has caused me untold hassle as we do not have a Screwfix Depot on the Isle of Wight ---- to collect from,
So I am HAVING to buy tools from somewhere else and am still trying to get a 18V Jigsaw !!!
|I have been using SCREWFIX since they first opened and REGARD THEM HIGHLY !!!!
SO this is not great .... "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita DGA452Z 4½" Angle Grinder 18V - Bare
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
job done!
4 Dec 2013
By gazthefitter
, dorset
" perfect grinder for cutting tube, tin, bolts etc. Not a replacement for a corded grinder but really usefull as a lightweight addition to the toolbox.
Batteries last about 10 mins on a full charge so you need a few to keep you going.
I would recommend using the 1mm thin cutting discs to get the most from this tool and let the disc do the work (don't push too hard) as this will stall the grinder.
Used sensibly, A really good asset to have.
"
Review 5 for Makita DGA452Z 4½" Angle Grinder 18V - Bare
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Free from wires!
14 Jun 2010
By johnsbegood
, Worcester
" Excellent bit of kit. I got mine in the LXT600 kit. I use it alot cutting out electrical boxes in brick walls for electric sockets and lighting switches. Would of given it 5 stars but the batteries do seem to run out quickly if used alot, but hey, saves getting tangled up in wires while moving around on site! "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Makita DGA452Z 4½" Angle Grinder 18V - Bare
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Flattens batteries quickly
8 Oct 2013
By PhizzAmateur
, Liverpool
" I bought the bare unit in May 2013. It worked fine for grinding out mortar on a re-pointing job for ten minutes! After ten minutes that battery ( a 3AH) was completely flat and needed to be recharged.
I called Makita for advice on whether this was normal and apparently it is. The high torque of the machine eats through the battery life so the answer seems to be buy more batteries or switch to a corded model. "
Review 7 for Makita DGA452Z 4½" Angle Grinder 18V - Bare
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good for cutting cheese
13 Feb 2013
By onge
, reading
" not sure the first two reviews are talking about same grinder or they work for makita ? ive had this grinder for around three months and it really is rubbish at cutting anything remotely harder than cheese , lights come on and it cuts out at instantly , a diamond blade is better but not brilliant , eats batteries in around ten min's and i've had loads of trouble with makita batteries so wouldn't ever buy again , which is a shame as i always considered Makita a good make "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita DGA452Z 4½" Angle Grinder 18V - Bare
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pointless
21 Oct 2012
By stratt
, stoke
" We have it in the toolbar just to sharpen pencils the second you try to do anything with it the little red light comes on and turns it off the Dewalt 18 V grinder is in a different league and we use it constantly with a 5 inch blade cutout flashings cut roof tiles have given the makiti three stars for reliability as I think it will last forever as we don't use it "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.