Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita Palm Sander 240V

Makita Palm Sander 240V
Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
54 of 58(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Review 1 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top sander
3 Feb 2016
By
, York
" Excellent piece of kit. I've used a lot of sanders in my time and this is better than every one I've used, it's really handy for skirtings, architraves and doors. Pads last a long time with no clogging. "
Review 2 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little sander
15 Jan 2016
By
, Liverpool
" Very light and powerful enough for all jobs.I actually enjoyed using it! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic sander from Makita
28 Nov 2015
By
, Worcestershire
" I have used this for a while now for various jobs on both old and new wood stock and it has turned out to be a worthwhile purchase. Using for long periods is great as the vibration is minimum and it's quieter when compared to other cheaper sanders I have used. Leaves an excellent finish and make easy work of a dull and usually labourious job.
Benefitting from both hook & loop or clamps to hold the sand paper in place securely. The unit is supplied with a plastic template punch which pierces the sandpaper in the right places so the vacuum function operates correctly, as well as some sand papers of various grits. I use mine with the sandpaper rolls that screwfix sell and just cut it down to approx size, changing the paper is quick.
As expected from makita the build quality is excellent and proving very strong and durable. I also registered it on the makita website for a three year warranty which is another bonus. The cord is also very good quality and has not gone stiff even though it is stored outside in my cold workshop.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good sander for professional or hobby use. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Powerful and effective sander
8 Nov 2015
By
, Oxfordshire
" Does the job well and light enough for the wife to use. The mains lead could be longer, but not a big deal. Fitting non-velcro sheets is a little fiddly at first, but have got used to it. Would definitely recommend. "
Review 5 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value
14 Sep 2015
By
, london
" very reliable
Good value.
Ordering and picking up process is very good/
"
Review 6 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light and efficient
28 May 2015
By
, London
" Light enough to use overhead and works well.
The only downside is the sandpaper fitting mechanism. It takes a few minutes to change the paper if you are not using velcro attachable sheets.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
palm sander
18 May 2015
By
, Portsmouth
" Thi is a very good palm sander, good value for money. Its not to noisey either unlike some other makes. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita BO455
7 May 2015
By
, Swansea
" Bought as a replacement for my dewalt palm sander which gave up the ghost after 5 years. £20 cheaper and just as good. Not sure about reliability as yet but having used Makita products for years now, I'm sure it will stand the test of time "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy little sander
24 Mar 2015
By
, Telford
" I bought this to replace an old bosch green one i have had for years that finally gave up, i couldnt be happier the power ratio is superb it helps conplete jobs in less than half the time it would take to do by hand which is awesome when your non stop busy, only downside is its in a cardboard box so might get abit battered in the back of the van could of done with a rigid preform case "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good piece of kit.
16 Feb 2015
By
, Suffolk
" Usual Mak quality, powerful little thing. Great that it uses decorator's roll sized paper so no expensive replacement sheets. Recommended. Not had it long enough to test reliability, but with a three year guarantee, Makita must be confident that it will keep on trucking , and so am I. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Item
9 Feb 2015
By
, North Lancashire
" Purchased over other models after comparing reviews. Not cheap but of good quality and, I trust, with longevity. It joins my other Makita tools. "
Review 12 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
power
2 Feb 2015
By
, Bristol
" Bought this sander to replace a mouse sander by robi.
The makita has a lot more power, and as a result it has saved hours of labour sanding.
I wish i had bought this sooner the results are brilliant.
The photo on the website is incorrect, this model does not use the paper bag collector, it has a proper material dust bag that can be emptied. This is great as no need to keep purchasing disposable bags.
I cant comment on reliability.
Again as others have mentioned the power lead is too sort.
However this is a very good tool. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita quality
5 Jan 2015
By
, England
" Standard makita quality very happy with the purchase. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pocket rocket!
31 Dec 2014
By
, london
" Very powerful for its size. Love the fact you can use any sandpaper on it just as long as you cut it to size. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good gear
31 Dec 2014
By
, Devon
" Nicely balanced and seems well-made. Bought it for the good reviews and ability to use with roll paper. OK the flex is short if you're working on a ceiling but its robust and proving fit for purpose. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander
8 Dec 2014
By
, Glasgow
" Neat compact sander - fits hand comfortably but full of power and does an excellent job "
Review 17 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita BO4555, Palm sander
24 Nov 2014
By
, Birmingham
" Being used to sand a large, random strip, tongue & groove, salvaged, mahogany floor, approx. 6m x 4m. Target is to remove any dried on wax & varnish & to reduce, as far as possible, the colour variation between areas exposed to sunlight & areas that were shaded. Considering the relatively low powered motor & the description of 'a finishing sander', I am delighted with the performance of this product. It removes the wax & varnish fairly easily with 80 grade paper, & a quick blast with 120 grade gives an excellent finish. I am about half way through the job. Complete removal of the colour variations mentioned, would require the use of a large drum sander, but the BO4555 has made a valiant attempt! Used for 1.5 hour plus sanding sessions & has not overheated. Both methods of retaining the 'sandpaper', give a firm fix, with no creeping or buckling of the paper. Would recommend this palm sander to any DIYer. or light/medium use professional.
Would be good to have a longer, more flexible cable, but this is really nit picking.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
powerful little sander
22 Oct 2014
By
, south-east
" I've had other 'palm sander's in the past, like the mouse sander and I didn't rate it. This however is another kettle of fish. It is solidly built, as most Makita tools are, and is comfortable to use. The dust bag works well and it does the job perfectly for its size. One of the bonuses is that you can use your own sandpaper and don't have to mess about with Velcro pads etc.
I used this on Oak and for those who haven't sanded oak before, it's a bit like stone, and this little sander performed brilliantly and left a super smooth finish, Pleased with my purchase.
"
Review 19 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this sander!
21 Oct 2014
By
, Manchester
" I bought this sander when my old Black and Decker decided to die on me in the middle of a job. Every review I have read has praised this Makita Palm 1/4 plate sander and all I can do is reiterate their comments. The major plus is the ability to use roll paper, I use Norton Oakey rolls and they have been brilliant in my experience. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 3rd palm sander from Makita
11 Oct 2014
By
, Enfield
" I use these sanders in my day to day work as a Painter/Decorator and they provide everything a larger and "Professional" sander claims.
This product is quieter and able to sand in smaller spaces than most others and reliability has been very good, I'm hoping this one's quality is as good.
The only fault has been with an older model which had started to cut out whilst in use, but that is it in 5 solid years of hard use.
I like these sanders and have proved it by buying another for work.
"
Page : 1 2 3 next>