Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita Palm Sander 240V

Makita Palm Sander 240V
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 of 33(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Review 1 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this sander!
21 Oct 2014
By
, Manchester
"I bought this sander when my old Black and Decker decided to die on me in the middle of a job. Every review I have read has praised this Makita Palm 1/4 plate sander and all I can do is reiterate their comments. The major plus is the ability to use roll paper, I use Norton Oakey rolls and they have been brilliant in my experience."
Review 2 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 3rd palm sander from Makita
11 Oct 2014
By
, Enfield
"I use these sanders in my day to day work as a Painter/Decorator and they provide everything a larger and "Professional" sander claims.
This product is quieter and able to sand in smaller spaces than most others and reliability has been very good, I'm hoping this one's quality is as good.
The only fault has been with an older model which had started to cut out whilst in use, but that is it in 5 solid years of hard use.
I like these sanders and have proved it by buying another for work.
"
Review 3 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding Machine
9 Oct 2014
By
, Swansea
"Small in size but huge performance. Easy to fit sheet paper ( money saving). Very little vibration when being used. Heavy for it's size. Does a good gob of collecting dust in the cloth bag. Excellent finish on bare wood. Just buy it!"
Review 4 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bit of kit!!!
16 Jul 2014
By
, Cardiff
"One of the best tool I have bought yet!
Amazing price for the product.
Have used this a lot since I bought this.
Amazing for sanding sanding down patch plastering work.
Would recommend this to anyone
"
Review 5 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little product.
30 Jun 2014
By
, Darlington
"This is a great little sander,a bit smaller than I thought but works superbly.
The dust collection bag works well and saves a lot of time cleaning up dust. I have not had to replace the sanding pads yet so can't comment on that subject.
Overall I am very pleased with this sander
"
Review 6 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit
13 Jun 2014
By
, Surrey
"Just got this sander and just saved me a whole lot of work. Good price for the make great motor action for light or harder sanding work, dust bag works real well to and nice and compact. Great buy...."
Review 7 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
4 May 2014
By
, Sheffield
"For the palm sender is pretty powerful,
an of course quality by Makita.
Good ergonomic design let any sanding job be easy. Highly recommend.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit
24 Feb 2014
By
, Manchester
"I was a bit dubious about spending 50 quid on a sander but the more basic branded models just didn't feel very solid. The Makita has a quality feel about it and good sized and shape grip.
The clips to take standard sheets of paper (cut up) mean that its a very economical sander long term when compared to the ones where you have to buy a specific type of velcro pad. I get through a lot of paper and this will save me a lot in the long run.
I think this is about the perfect size for a sander for the diy enthusiast - big enough but a good shape for detail work. be careful though - it's very efficient!!"
Review 9 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You won't be dissapointed
4 Feb 2014
By
, Charlton
"Pros:
- Performance better than expected for such a compact sander
- Feels well made and low vibration
- Sanding bag (reusable material) catches well.
- Superb value
Cons:
- None for the price
I bought this tentatively in Feb 2014 after the rotary larger Makita sander was out of stock. I was dubious this could handle the job but given positive experience with Makita professional tools I gave it a shot.
It made very easy work chomping through a large amount of 2 part wood filler on green mdf, and I only needed to change the (included) sanding pad once for what must have been about 10m2 of total sanding. I had bought a whole roll of 120 grit in anticipation but didn't have to use any!
I love the square shape as it makes it easy to get right in the corners, and the design of the sander means nothing gets in the way of the overhang.
Very pleased, and excellent price from Screwfix."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Useful piece of equipment
28 Oct 2013
By
, Stroud
"Very useful for smoothing blemishes prior to decorating."
Review 11 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sander
25 Jul 2013
By
, Newbury
"Does a great job of sanding filler on walls. I've used it with the supplied sanding pads and also the cheap Titan sanding roll - which also works great; just cut 150mm lengths and clip it in! The clips hold the paper really well.
Only small downside is that the flex could be a bit longer"
Review 12 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best by far!
28 May 2013
By
, Bath
"After burning out two cheaper models, i returned to my trusty Makita brand. Super sander, has been in use almost daily for 3 months now.
Soild, quiet considering its power and does the job fast!. Having now to replace the sanding pad - but it has done considerable work!
Two negatives.... the cable is ridiculously short and you WILL have to use an extension cable at all times and that the sandpaper 1/2 sheets you will need are annoyingly requiring a second cut as the pad is just short of half a sheet.
Still, the best sander I have ever come across and re-inforces my brand loyalty to Makita."
Review 13 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Invaluable little sander
29 Apr 2013
By
, Birmingham
"I have had my previous makita sander for years and it has been invaluable. Light, easy to use and amazing build quality. I have tried others but non were as comfortable to use as this. New one is remarkably quiet and very efficient. Threw the collector bag and paper punch away as I dont like them, they just get in the way. I have always recommended this sander to everyone. Best there is."
Review 14 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Palm sander
12 Mar 2013
By
, Glos
"The clamping mech is easy to use and the tool is easy to hold. You can use velcro pad sand sheets as well as sanding roll. You can't turn it off by accident when sanding as it has a proper on/off switch not a pressure pad button which is great. The sander is easy to control and gives a very good finish even when sanding across the grain of the wood.
I would be suprised if this tool breaks in the future as Makita products are very reliable."
Review 15 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
palm sander
12 May 2012
By
, bideford. Devon
"great price great item many thanks have used this item and works great"
Review 16 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exellent Sander
10 Feb 2012
By
, Derby
"This may cost more than the DIY store ones but a Rolls Royce costs more than a Ford.
The power cord length was not an issue for me, it didn't drag the extension lead around with it when in use.
It doesn't come in a nice plastic carry case and I would liked to have seen a vacuum attachment but the dust bag does work well.
All in all, very pleased with the performance, it feels robust and well made, only time will tell for reliability.
"
Review 17 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita Palm Sander
30 May 2011
By
, South London
"Definitely the best palm sander I have used.
Very light, not too noisy, sturdy.
Have tried all sanders there are and although the Makita is a bit more expensive than others it is reliable and the grip hooks don't look as if they are about to break which is a problem I have had previously. Would be nice if it came in a case but you can't have everything I suppose.
"
Review 18 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb sander
10 Apr 2011
By
, Woking
"This is my 3rd sander and more expensive than the first 2. Worth every penny! It it reasonably quiet, has virtually no vibration, and most important does what it is suppost to - sand down - really efficiently! It is light in weight, so easy to use for long periods. It collects a fair amount of dust - could be better. The paper is held really well with the spring clips, havnt bothered with the 'velcro stuff' yet.The worst point is the lead - it is too short! Come on Makita, you give us a great tool then force us to use an extension lead almost everywhere!!! Still thoroughly recommend it though."
Review 19 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
terrific sander
16 Mar 2011
By
, halifax
"does the job perfectly, little vibration transmitted to your hand,unlike others i have tried.the punch plate is a bonus, could do with longer cable, but a minor setback for such a great product"
Review 20 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Sander!
14 Dec 2010
By
, Milton Keynes
"As you would expect from Makita... This is a great little sander. I would tend to agree on the length of the cable, just a little too short, but still rate it 5 star.
The clips for holding the paper are excellent and changing paper is quick and easy. The hole punch template is a nice touch, but I tend not to use it. Can't rate this highly enough. Worth the extra pennies!
Have tried cheaper brands over the years but keep throwing them away. I've had a Makita belt sander for over 20 years and it still works as good as the day I bought it, so hope this proves as relaible as all the other Maktia tools I have bought"
Page : 1 2 next>