Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

High performance palm sander for fine finishing work. Supplied with punch plate and 3 abrasive papers.

High performance palm sander for fine finishing work. Supplied with punch plate and 3 abrasive papers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Review 1 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit
24 Feb 2014
By Antiok
, Manchester
"I was a bit dubious about spending 50 quid on a sander but the more basic branded models just didn't feel very solid. The Makita has a quality feel about it and good sized and shape grip.
The clips to take standard sheets of paper (cut up) mean that its a very economical sander long term when compared to the ones where you have to buy a specific type of velcro pad. I get through a lot of paper and this will save me a lot in the long run.
I think this is about the perfect size for a sander for the diy enthusiast - big enough but a good shape for detail work. be careful though - it's very efficient!!"
Review 2 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You won't be dissapointed
4 Feb 2014
By zcfat
, Charlton
"Pros:
- Performance better than expected for such a compact sander
- Feels well made and low vibration
- Sanding bag (reusable material) catches well.
- Superb value
Cons:
- None for the price
I bought this tentatively in Feb 2014 after the rotary larger Makita sander was out of stock. I was dubious this could handle the job but given positive experience with Makita professional tools I gave it a shot.
It made very easy work chomping through a large amount of 2 part wood filler on green mdf, and I only needed to change the (included) sanding pad once for what must have been about 10m2 of total sanding. I had bought a whole roll of 120 grit in anticipation but didn't have to use any!
I love the square shape as it makes it easy to get right in the corners, and the design of the sander means nothing gets in the way of the overhang.
Very pleased, and excellent price from Screwfix."
Review 3 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Useful piece of equipment
28 Oct 2013
By Colsjob
, Stroud
"Very useful for smoothing blemishes prior to decorating."
Review 4 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sander
25 Jul 2013
By DarrenW
, Newbury
"Does a great job of sanding filler on walls. I've used it with the supplied sanding pads and also the cheap Titan sanding roll - which also works great; just cut 150mm lengths and clip it in! The clips hold the paper really well.
Only small downside is that the flex could be a bit longer"
Review 5 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best by far!
28 May 2013
By Anonymous
, Bath
"After burning out two cheaper models, i returned to my trusty Makita brand. Super sander, has been in use almost daily for 3 months now.
Soild, quiet considering its power and does the job fast!. Having now to replace the sanding pad - but it has done considerable work!
Two negatives.... the cable is ridiculously short and you WILL have to use an extension cable at all times and that the sandpaper 1/2 sheets you will need are annoyingly requiring a second cut as the pad is just short of half a sheet.
Still, the best sander I have ever come across and re-inforces my brand loyalty to Makita."
Review 6 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Invaluable little sander
29 Apr 2013
By seadogyellow
, Birmingham
"I have had my previous makita sander for years and it has been invaluable. Light, easy to use and amazing build quality. I have tried others but non were as comfortable to use as this. New one is remarkably quiet and very efficient. Threw the collector bag and paper punch away as I dont like them, they just get in the way. I have always recommended this sander to everyone. Best there is."
Review 7 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Palm sander
12 Mar 2013
By WoodBeaver
, Glos
"The clamping mech is easy to use and the tool is easy to hold. You can use velcro pad sand sheets as well as sanding roll. You can't turn it off by accident when sanding as it has a proper on/off switch not a pressure pad button which is great. The sander is easy to control and gives a very good finish even when sanding across the grain of the wood.
I would be suprised if this tool breaks in the future as Makita products are very reliable."
Review 8 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
palm sander
12 May 2012
By chrissy
, bideford. Devon
"great price great item many thanks have used this item and works great"
Review 9 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exellent Sander
10 Feb 2012
By KevD
, Derby
"This may cost more than the DIY store ones but a Rolls Royce costs more than a Ford.
The power cord length was not an issue for me, it didn't drag the extension lead around with it when in use.
It doesn't come in a nice plastic carry case and I would liked to have seen a vacuum attachment but the dust bag does work well.
All in all, very pleased with the performance, it feels robust and well made, only time will tell for reliability.
"
Review 10 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita Palm Sander
30 May 2011
By renee
, South London
"Definitely the best palm sander I have used.
Very light, not too noisy, sturdy.
Have tried all sanders there are and although the Makita is a bit more expensive than others it is reliable and the grip hooks don't look as if they are about to break which is a problem I have had previously. Would be nice if it came in a case but you can't have everything I suppose.
"
Review 11 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb sander
10 Apr 2011
By Handymanpete
, Woking
"This is my 3rd sander and more expensive than the first 2. Worth every penny! It it reasonably quiet, has virtually no vibration, and most important does what it is suppost to - sand down - really efficiently! It is light in weight, so easy to use for long periods. It collects a fair amount of dust - could be better. The paper is held really well with the spring clips, havnt bothered with the 'velcro stuff' yet.The worst point is the lead - it is too short! Come on Makita, you give us a great tool then force us to use an extension lead almost everywhere!!! Still thoroughly recommend it though."
Review 12 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
terrific sander
16 Mar 2011
By robert57
, halifax
"does the job perfectly, little vibration transmitted to your hand,unlike others i have tried.the punch plate is a bonus, could do with longer cable, but a minor setback for such a great product"
Review 13 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Sander!
14 Dec 2010
By TASW
, Milton Keynes
"As you would expect from Makita... This is a great little sander. I would tend to agree on the length of the cable, just a little too short, but still rate it 5 star.
The clips for holding the paper are excellent and changing paper is quick and easy. The hole punch template is a nice touch, but I tend not to use it. Can't rate this highly enough. Worth the extra pennies!
Have tried cheaper brands over the years but keep throwing them away. I've had a Makita belt sander for over 20 years and it still works as good as the day I bought it, so hope this proves as relaible as all the other Maktia tools I have bought"
Review 14 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant :-)
10 Sep 2010
By Khauff
, Aberdeen
"Great product, very reliable feels brilliant whilst in use and no numbness on hand while doing so.
Ok cable is a bit short but their is such a thing called an extension lead so im very happy."
Review 15 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
impressed.
16 Sep 2009
By stew1803
, Bristol
"As a painter and decorator i would recomend this bit of kit. Ideal size great power, hook and loop allways the better option so you can put your own abrasive on and not get ripped off on sheets that come loose, good motor in it but allways a good idea to use it in shorter rather than prolonged periods so the motor gets a rest now and then.
Great on walls timber sash windows!!! doors etc etc. buy it you wont want another...had dewalt before but this is far superior.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice Sander
2 Sep 2009
By Mitch62
, Derby
"I've used sheet sanders years ago and they have certainly got better, used this with the Mirka 40 grit paper for sanding down walls, not had to change the paper yet!
Can't comment on reliabilty as I've only had this a week or so, but for the price you can't go wrong, I would agree with the other guys that the lead should be longer, apart from that I love it."
Review 17 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE LEAD IS TOO SHORT
21 Aug 2009
By reviewer1
, Paignton
"Great little tool, you could pay half as much and maybe get the same results, thats your choice, I prefer to buy Makita. BUT THE LEAD IS WAY TOO SHORT."
Review 18 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sender!
7 Oct 2008
By zytech
, London
"This is very good sender, Excellent stuff *****
Worth any penny you spend.
Will be work longer then any you had before!!
"
Review 19 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money
4 Nov 2013
By JTS180
, Southport
"I have now had this sander for 1mouth and have been nothing but pleased with it. The sander does a very good job of collecting the dust it makes. The dust bag is a material so you can just empty it out after use. The build quality is great and it is forgiving on your hands unlike some cheaper sanders. The cable could be a bit longer but would recommend to anyone."
Review 20 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I'm turning Japanese!
27 Oct 2013
By Jimmcg
, Cannock
"This is a very good sander. It is Japanese. (They make great guitars too!) It is well made, really solid, but like all sanding some of it needs to be done by hand first before a product like this comes into its own. The heavy gauge sandpaper that came with it was ok, (though only a measly three max), but once my table top had been sanded by hand first, it was then that the Makita, along with the one fine sandpaper pad that came with it, finished it off, so that the top was really, really smooth; and the dust extractor actually works! I've yet to try it with other brands of heavy gauged sandpaper, but the clamp fixings are sturdy so this may well be the way forward for sanding prior to final finish. (I might well be a little picky here as I did four years barfitting and the counter tops had to be very well prepared before polishers finished them.) I am sure painter and decorators would find this a gem of a sander, as some have said in earlier reviews, and it is built to last, unlike some other sanders out there. Pity there is no carry case. The cable length seemed alright to me, but I can understand why contractors etc would have wanted a longer cable."
Page : 1 2 next>