Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita Palm Sander 240V

Makita Palm Sander 240V
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
47 of 51(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Review 1 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light and efficient
28 May 2015
By Vargabp
, London
" Light enough to use overhead and works well.
The only downside is the sandpaper fitting mechanism. It takes a few minutes to change the paper if you are not using velcro attachable sheets.
"
Review 2 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
palm sander
18 May 2015
By neiljayjay
, Portsmouth
" Thi is a very good palm sander, good value for money. Its not to noisey either unlike some other makes. "
Review 3 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita BO455
7 May 2015
By Renegade
, Swansea
" Bought as a replacement for my dewalt palm sander which gave up the ghost after 5 years. £20 cheaper and just as good. Not sure about reliability as yet but having used Makita products for years now, I'm sure it will stand the test of time "
Review 4 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy little sander
24 Mar 2015
By Reapz
, Telford
" I bought this to replace an old bosch green one i have had for years that finally gave up, i couldnt be happier the power ratio is superb it helps conplete jobs in less than half the time it would take to do by hand which is awesome when your non stop busy, only downside is its in a cardboard box so might get abit battered in the back of the van could of done with a rigid preform case "
Review 5 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good piece of kit.
16 Feb 2015
By unidentifiedbones
, Suffolk
" Usual Mak quality, powerful little thing. Great that it uses decorator's roll sized paper so no expensive replacement sheets. Recommended. Not had it long enough to test reliability, but with a three year guarantee, Makita must be confident that it will keep on trucking , and so am I. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Item
9 Feb 2015
By TonyB2
, North Lancashire
" Purchased over other models after comparing reviews. Not cheap but of good quality and, I trust, with longevity. It joins my other Makita tools. "
Review 7 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
power
2 Feb 2015
By Widepie
, Bristol
" Bought this sander to replace a mouse sander by robi.
The makita has a lot more power, and as a result it has saved hours of labour sanding.
I wish i had bought this sooner the results are brilliant.
The photo on the website is incorrect, this model does not use the paper bag collector, it has a proper material dust bag that can be emptied. This is great as no need to keep purchasing disposable bags.
I cant comment on reliability.
Again as others have mentioned the power lead is too sort.
However this is a very good tool. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita quality
5 Jan 2015
By 00chris00
, England
" Standard makita quality very happy with the purchase. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pocket rocket!
31 Dec 2014
By Amit81
, london
" Very powerful for its size. Love the fact you can use any sandpaper on it just as long as you cut it to size. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good gear
31 Dec 2014
By Zigs
, Devon
" Nicely balanced and seems well-made. Bought it for the good reviews and ability to use with roll paper. OK the flex is short if you're working on a ceiling but its robust and proving fit for purpose. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander
8 Dec 2014
By glasgowman
, Glasgow
" Neat compact sander - fits hand comfortably but full of power and does an excellent job "
Review 12 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita BO4555, Palm sander
24 Nov 2014
By 25yeardiyer
, Birmingham
" Being used to sand a large, random strip, tongue & groove, salvaged, mahogany floor, approx. 6m x 4m. Target is to remove any dried on wax & varnish & to reduce, as far as possible, the colour variation between areas exposed to sunlight & areas that were shaded. Considering the relatively low powered motor & the description of 'a finishing sander', I am delighted with the performance of this product. It removes the wax & varnish fairly easily with 80 grade paper, & a quick blast with 120 grade gives an excellent finish. I am about half way through the job. Complete removal of the colour variations mentioned, would require the use of a large drum sander, but the BO4555 has made a valiant attempt! Used for 1.5 hour plus sanding sessions & has not overheated. Both methods of retaining the 'sandpaper', give a firm fix, with no creeping or buckling of the paper. Would recommend this palm sander to any DIYer. or light/medium use professional.
Would be good to have a longer, more flexible cable, but this is really nit picking.
"
Review 13 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
powerful little sander
22 Oct 2014
By feralchild
, south-east
" I've had other 'palm sander's in the past, like the mouse sander and I didn't rate it. This however is another kettle of fish. It is solidly built, as most Makita tools are, and is comfortable to use. The dust bag works well and it does the job perfectly for its size. One of the bonuses is that you can use your own sandpaper and don't have to mess about with Velcro pads etc.
I used this on Oak and for those who haven't sanded oak before, it's a bit like stone, and this little sander performed brilliantly and left a super smooth finish, Pleased with my purchase.
"
Review 14 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this sander!
21 Oct 2014
By Creigiau
, Manchester
" I bought this sander when my old Black and Decker decided to die on me in the middle of a job. Every review I have read has praised this Makita Palm 1/4 plate sander and all I can do is reiterate their comments. The major plus is the ability to use roll paper, I use Norton Oakey rolls and they have been brilliant in my experience. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 3rd palm sander from Makita
11 Oct 2014
By Letler
, Enfield
" I use these sanders in my day to day work as a Painter/Decorator and they provide everything a larger and "Professional" sander claims.
This product is quieter and able to sand in smaller spaces than most others and reliability has been very good, I'm hoping this one's quality is as good.
The only fault has been with an older model which had started to cut out whilst in use, but that is it in 5 solid years of hard use.
I like these sanders and have proved it by buying another for work.
"
Review 16 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding Machine
9 Oct 2014
By WoodWorker67
, Swansea
" Small in size but huge performance. Easy to fit sheet paper ( money saving). Very little vibration when being used. Heavy for it's size. Does a good gob of collecting dust in the cloth bag. Excellent finish on bare wood. Just buy it! "
Review 17 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bit of kit!!!
16 Jul 2014
By Jo3y
, Cardiff
" One of the best tool I have bought yet!
Amazing price for the product.
Have used this a lot since I bought this.
Amazing for sanding sanding down patch plastering work.
Would recommend this to anyone
"
Review 18 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little product.
30 Jun 2014
By AHEB
, Darlington
" This is a great little sander,a bit smaller than I thought but works superbly.
The dust collection bag works well and saves a lot of time cleaning up dust. I have not had to replace the sanding pads yet so can't comment on that subject.
Overall I am very pleased with this sander
"
Review 19 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit
13 Jun 2014
By pwphil
, Surrey
" Just got this sander and just saved me a whole lot of work. Good price for the make great motor action for light or harder sanding work, dust bag works real well to and nice and compact. Great buy.... "
Review 20 for Makita BO4555/2 ¼ Palm Sander 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
4 May 2014
By SimonBi
, Sheffield
" For the palm sender is pretty powerful,
an of course quality by Makita.
Good ergonomic design let any sanding job be easy. Highly recommend.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>