Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Roughneck 5lb Mattock 33"

Roughneck 5lb Mattock 33"
Average Customer Rating:
4.766 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 47(98%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Review 1 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roughneck Mattock
30 Mar 2015
By Jkgy
, Grimsby
" Brilliant tool. A bit doubtful when I read other reviews, but now I've used it I fully agree. Used it to dig up several large shrubs. Still hard work but works great "
Review 2 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tool
29 Mar 2015
By themightywebb
, Woking
" Unlike other reviewers who all seem to use this for digging out roots etc, I needed to get rid of a concrete shed base. The mattock was light and I could swing it with ease. It smashed up the concrete in about 90 minutes which was excellent. I would recommend this to anyone who had a similar job to do "
Review 3 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bit of gear
5 Mar 2015
By Stu1
, Sussex
" Been needing and wanting one of these since I borrowed one a few months ago. Spent ages looking for one which had good price and reviews. As usual Screwfix has come through with a great product. Made light work of the apple tree stump I had to remove, got three feet under ground to the roots. good hand and works well. It is heavy though to be warned, use with proper manual handing (I have achy back now - but that's my own fault) "
Review 4 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good tool
29 Jan 2015
By KevinMH
, Chorley
" To be honest, there is not much that can go wrong with a mattock but this does seem to be a good one. It's comfortable to use, the handle doesn't slip and the business end is pretty meaty. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saved me effort and time
25 Dec 2014
By locinsys
, Mid sussex
" Knowing I had a couple of tree stumps to dig out, I purchased this mattock and so pleased I did.
It was still hard work but this tool did the job and will last me many, many years.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best gardening tool I own
24 Dec 2014
By HeavyMan
, Oxfordshire
" Bought this to dig out some tree / large shrub stumps. Wasn't expecting it to be as efficient as it is, this thing tears through heavy stumps and roots like butter. Amazing. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant piece of kit
1 Dec 2014
By spanish
, Farnborough
" Used this for removing stumps, made life nice and easy. "
Review 8 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tool
21 Oct 2014
By gissy
, blackpool
" Excellent build quality. Decent comfortable handle. Made easy work of project. "
Review 9 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant tool
10 Oct 2014
By falcoperegrinus
, Portsmouth
" Looks good.
Works really well.
Made short work of lifting substantial tree stump.Wish I'd had one earlier.
"
Review 10 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A cracking tool
5 Oct 2014
By OxonChris
, Oxford
" Bought this for breaking up hard ground and grubbing up evergreen roots. Went through the roots really easily. Excellent bit of kit and well worth the money. The reviews on here were useful too. "
Review 11 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
roughneck 5lb mattock
3 Oct 2014
By mbp1
, exeter
" excellent tool removed 5 20ft fir trees in a couple hours good leverage for roots and cut through roots easy!! "
Review 12 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MATTOCK - VERY GOOD
19 Sep 2014
By Allyson
, maidstone
" EXCELLENT TOOL, DOES THE JOB QUICKLY AND EFFECTIVELY
EASY TO USE
GOOD PRICE
WELL WRAPPED
EXCELLENT SERVICE AT SCREWFIX TOO
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect
2 Sep 2014
By BaxtertheDog
, Ash
" Great product, good price. Cuts through roots with ease, good grip, does the job. Perfect. "
Review 14 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best digging tool
1 Sep 2014
By CheekyMwnci
, Carmarthenshire
" You must try one of these...if you have a large amount of soil to break up, tree roots to remove and for general landscaping this is the tool for you. Easy to use & reasonably priced. "
Review 15 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bit of a Beastie
19 Aug 2014
By paw465
, Watford Herts
" Bought this to help with the stump/root removal of my 25ft long conifer hedge. Made really light work of digging out the compacted earth and chopping through the roots. Almost as easy as when I bought it with click and collect - ordered it, collected it and started digging within the hour. Simples! Highly recommended! "
Review 16 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like another member of staff
18 Aug 2014
By elliesgrandad
, axminster
" my recent purchase was just like having another member of staff. It was such a great help removing old bush stumps from a clients garden. Easy to use, comfortable handle with good grip and well balanced. Made the job so much easier. "
Review 17 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool
9 Aug 2014
By rigor
, Manchester
" I bought this as I had a few shrubs to remove, it made short work of geting the roots out.
Brilliant :-)
"
Review 18 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional Tool
6 Aug 2014
By ReeceA
, Birmingham
" I bought this for my gardener who needed to dig out deep roots, he was amazed by its performance, completed the job in a couple of hours, he said it saved him 80% of his time! If you need to dig out roots, or get into hard soil, this is the tool for you! "
Review 19 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roughneck 5lb Mattock
1 Aug 2014
By Nargles
, Brighouse
" This is a very good product. Although the head is around 5lb's the shaft is fibreglass which brings flexibility and is lighter than a traditional wooden handle. I broke up nearly 2 tons of compacted soil in no time.
I also loved the reserve and collect feature because I reserved it online and it was ready, literally, 5 minutes later. Other DIY websites I have tried wanted me to wait a full day before collecting. Which to my mind was more of a reserve, wait a day and then collect. I will definitely be using ScrewFix again. "
Review 20 for Roughneck 5lb Mattock Fibreglass 33"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good solid tool
14 Jul 2014
By jdldjaljdasudosi
, Plymouth
" Reasonable quality for the price and much more effective than a pick for digging out roots. The head could be a slightly better fit on the handle. "
Page : 1 2 3 next>