Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Forged from heat-treated carbon steel for extra strength. Epoxy-coated head for improved resistance to rust, scratches, humidity and alkaline in the soil. With soft-grip, forward tilting handle giving the ideal digging angle.

Forged from heat-treated carbon steel for extra strength. Epoxy-coated head for improved resistance to rust, scratches, humidity and alkaline in the soil. With soft-grip, forward tilting handle giving the ideal digging angle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
24 of 28(86%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Review 1 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality budget Garden tools
24 Mar 2014
By atom916
, Doncaster
"Having just moved into a new home with a small garden I didn't want to spend lots of money on tools that won't see a lot of use. These are perfect, excellent price for a spade and fork set. They are a bit on the heavy side, but for occasional use they'll do the job."
Review 2 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality garden tools
21 Mar 2014
By DIYHOME
, Warrington
"For the price these are value for money.
Well made as you would expect from S & J, maybe a little heavier than others but for me this is not a problem. I would definitely recommend these.
"
Review 3 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
she is so happy
10 Mar 2014
By travism
, essex
"Bought these for my wife on our 45th anniversary
she is so happy i might buy her a chainsaw for our 50th
"
Review 4 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Products and Great Value
10 Mar 2014
By NewfyOwner
, Reading
"Needed to replace my Spear and Jackson Stainless Steel spade as I had bent the digging blade trying to take roots out while newly cultivating part of my garden
These products are very strong and have done everything I have wanted - digging trenches, taking our large roots. Only issue could be is that the diameter of handle is quite large making it a little more difficult to use for people with smaller hands.
However, 100% recommend this product!"
Review 5 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value tools that have lasted
12 Jan 2014
By muttley
, North Oxfordshire
"Got these 4 years ago for my allotment and still going - no bends, snaps or issues.
Have had other spades and forks but these s&j ones have good angle for digging, soft handles and hold an edge.
Only downsides are they are fairly heavy and have a fairly large diameter handle, small probs for £20 of decent tools.
"
Review 6 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money
6 May 2013
By PT1952
, Wakefield
"Good strong tools at a very reasonable price from a well known manufacturer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic set
20 Apr 2013
By Metalmogg
, Wakefield West Yorks
"Was really suprised at the quality of the set usually you pay more than that for one item very pleased and happy and should last quite a few years"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job
12 Mar 2013
By Chad1980
, Dorset
"Needed a new fork and spade to dig the veggie patch over, these seemed to fit the bill so ordered and collected next day. Have used them over couple of weekends and are just the job, sturdy but not too heavy and comfortable handles - no blisters!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly What I Needed
14 May 2012
By Basse
, London
"Most of my garden is decked as I don't usually have much time for gardening. I only have a small area of grass so I didn't want to spend very much on tools.
Good enough for what I need. Very pleased with my purchase."
Review 10 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good
25 Apr 2012
By Debby1402
, Crawley
"Only used them a couple of times so far and the spade more than the fork. Purchased them following the reviews on this site and have to agree no complaints from me. We have an allotment and the ground is quite heavy going but I used the spade to dig my potato trench and it cut through the soil as if it was a soft cheese! Even my husband was impressed with the value and quality."
Review 11 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value tools
28 Oct 2011
By anon654
, Edinburgh
"These are quality tools at a very low price. ordered online for pick up in store, where they were ready and waiting for me. staff very helpful"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice tools
17 Aug 2011
By markdespark
, London
"I bought these to do some gardening, they are a lovely couple of tools, a joy to use, they are a bit heavy and I don't know if they would be tough enough for trade use,but overall, excellent."
Review 13 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spear & Jackson Spade/Fork pac
24 Jun 2011
By KDent
, Kent
"Excellent value for money ........................................................................................................................................................"
Review 14 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value
11 May 2011
By 2x4carpenter
, london
"needed something for digging in the garden, was on sale excellent value !!!"
Review 15 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fork and Spade
9 Mar 2011
By Anonymous
, Midlands
"Excellent value for money. Not the lightest fork and spade but looking forward to a lifetime use from them."
Review 16 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Sp
19 Jun 2010
By Sean88
, Montrose
"Really good value for money, solid construction and comfortable to use. I've already used the spade for digging 20 2 foot deep fence post holes and its still holding up strong."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spear & jackson spade & fork
12 May 2010
By ashleyg
, brighton
"I got these as a present & they are the best present I have ever had! Sad but true! I have used them every day since I got them, no going back to another brand-these are beautiful !!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money
9 Jun 2013
By nath958
, Herts
"I used to have spear and Jackson digging fork and spade but the all wooden ones until they got nicked. so i wanted to replace them quickly but with good quality ones as well, so looked around for a couple of weeks and i didn't like a lot of the other makes due to construction of the forks, then i stumbled upon this set, knowing spear & Jackson make and knowing that these are selling individually for about £14.99 to £16.99 in various shops, i thought bargain then £19.99 for spade and fork thank you very much. Very good quality and construction of them, if i had the money i would of rather got the spear &jackson wooden spade and fork but i havent and these are very good and would recommend"
Review 19 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Genuine bargain for light work
14 Jun 2012
By Smiffy1964
, Middlewich
"A spade and fork for general garden use, bedding and such like....Spear and Jackson so the name alone should sell it.....anyway....good price....very hands friendly....and generally a good buy......"
Review 20 for Spear & Jackson Carbon Steel Digging Fork & Spade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality fork & spade
18 May 2012
By lakesclaire
, Lake District
"Seem fine at the moment and handles comfortable. It will be interesting them to see if I still have them in 5 years!"
Page : 1 2 next>