Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hitachi 2kg SDS Plus 230V

Hitachi 2kg SDS Plus 230V
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Review 1 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't go wrong
22 Apr 2015
By Anonymous
, Norwich
" Nice piece of kit, does what says on the tin. I was in doubt in between DeWalt and Hitachi. All this time Hitachi never let me down. "
Review 2 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking kit
10 Apr 2015
By Bayle
, walsall
" My JCB sds drill burnt out half way through a wall. I needed a new drill sharpish but had little funds. So i bought this one, and it performed phenomenally. Cut through "bentley" brick like butter. I shall look at the other Hitachi range as and when i need to replaceine. Well worth the money. "
Review 3 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus
7 Apr 2015
By spenbak
, Beckenham
" Excellent product ripped up my patio and path without missing a beat. really easy to handle and punches above its weight. really pleased with this purchase. "
Review 4 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abuse it !
25 Feb 2015
By GKR007
, Highlands
" I've given mine abuse, used entirely for demolition of reinforced concrete and granite blocks. It has spewed grease and reached temperatures in excess of it's design. Yet still it will not die, I should be ashamed of what I've done to it, but I just can't work out how it keeps going. I love it. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
packs a punch
1 Jan 2015
By Dcheatingservices
, Northants
" This excellent drill would drill a hole though ste's makita . "
Review 6 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bit of kit
28 Dec 2014
By Kitch019
, LedburyHerefordshire
" I have been using it to channel out back boxes for switches and sockets and its like a hot knife through butter and with the extra £20 discount it was a steal brilliant!! "
Review 7 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice All Round Quality Drill
28 Nov 2014
By OlyLo
, Chesire
" After my Bosch died I tried the Titan drills but they were either too big, the chuck was slightly misaligned and they didn't feel quality.
After handling the ~£100 ~2kg opposition (DeWalt, Bosch, Erbauer) in the shop I went with the higher powered and better built Hitachi. The only features missing in my book is two speed and variable speed.
Only used it for a few jobs so far, but one was on a 157mm core drill through a brick cavity wall. The aerated brick was like butter, the house brick was OK but it took ~20 mins. After halfway the clutch was kicking in so perfect alignment was critical but less critical after chiselling out some of the cored brick. Overall it did the job of a drill twice as powerful at less than half the price but over twice the speed! It would have been a nightmare in engineering brick though! But I doubt I'll be using such a large core again!!
Overall a great, well built, quality, all round drill that isn't too big/heavy to work with all day but with care and patience will complete the big/heavy jobs too. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good machine
7 Jul 2014
By Brazil
, East Sussex
" Only used it once so far as only bought it Saturday LOL, but it served me well for drilling through tiles, pipe holes, etc, on a bathroom refit. "
Review 9 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi Recommended
16 May 2014
By PoachedTraders
, Twickenham
" This SDS Plus hammer with rotary stop is up there with the Bosch. Both Bosch & Hitachi are a nicer feel than the builder standard Dewalt. I've had 6 years (2 drills) of oil leaking SDS chuck Dewalts that died on time wherease a Bosch that just keeps going. This Hitachi feels like a Bosch, lighter, quieter, and surprisingly powerful. Nice feel, easy to use, no leaks. Comes with a small case (unlike cavernous Dewalt) useful for storage & nothing else, not even factory sealed so best not to buy from a branch. Thinner than bother dewalt & Bosch, probably slightly more power. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 May 2014
By Brummycraig
, Birmingham
" Excellent value with a 3 year guarantee, seems like a solid bit of kit!
Only used briefly so can't comment on reliability.
"
Review 11 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Power Little Price
25 Apr 2014
By OilFixIt
, Newtownards
" I have used this SDS drill now on a number of jobs and I have to say, I was not expecting so much power for such little cost (thank you ScrewFix!). Hitachi have exceeded my expectations. I agonized over what SDS drill to buy and after weighing the options I decided on this little 2.7J number.
I do mainly channeling, concrete drilling and brick drilling up to 28mm with it and it has kept pace better than other drills I've owned. Speed control is good and the chuck is slick to use. Nothing worse than trying to change bits in a hurry and the chuck deciding to fuse to the bit; this is NOT the case with this drill, the bits pop in solidly but comes out with ease when I pull on the chuck release.
It is light but feels utterly robust, the material used in its construction is solid and doesn't feel in the least bit flimsy. From the plug to the chuck this is one tough machine! The cord was a big worry before buying because they tend to be made of cheaper material, but this was not the case; the cord is made from durable thick rubber and gives the impression it will last for job after job.
The durability and reliability of this drill did not come as a surprise because Hitachi have a good name. However, I was astonished at the tip-top power considering the low price. Additionally the carry case is very helpful, the cord rolls neatly and easily into it and I look the business walking on site with my bright green Hitachi case!!
Thank you ScrewFix & Hitachi! "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good strong drill
9 Apr 2015
By nitwit
, stevenage
" lightweight ,power ,and easy to use ,slightly shooddy case but for the price does the same as a makita ,would buy more hitachi brand "
Review 13 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Drill
29 Mar 2015
By Anonymous
, Middlesbrough
" This is my first purchase of a Hitachi product and I have to say I like it a lot. The performance exceeds the previous Bosch drill I owned. The hammer drill action deals with brick work no problem and the chisel action does what it says on the tin.
My only criticism is the length of the cord. It is too short and even using it on a 5-rung step ladder is a stretch. "
Review 14 for Hitachi DH24PX/J1 2kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 230V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice to use -BUT
9 Jun 2014
By TheHouseDoctor
, West London
" I bought this toll to replace another Hitachi which had performed excellently for many years.
I have had this tool in use for only 3 months & the hammer has become intermittent. I am not impressed with the quality of the newer model and am just about to return it under warranty but still will be inconvenienced while its away.
Very disappointed.
"