Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

DeWalt 18V Li-Ion Combi Drill

DeWalt 18V Li-Ion Combi Drill
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Review 1 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good drill/driver
12 Oct 2014
By
, Falkirk
"Great drill/driver exactly what you would expect from dewalt. Battery lasts for ages before requiring a charge and does not deplete charge when not being used. I was a bit worried with only getting one battery. But I have now owned this drill for some time now and have never been stuck waiting on battery. Would defo recommend for DIY or trade."
Review 2 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Combi drill/Driver XR DCD785L1
5 Jul 2014
By
, Essex
"My first cordless drill/driver - and now wondering why I waited so long - this product has a mass of features and with variable speed / torque (14) combinations is proving more than flexible enough to meet all the needs of the trade pro or regular DIY-er. The keyless chuck system is great and makes for instant changing between your DeWalt bits. The whole tool is so light compared with my old Bosch drill and even with the 3ah Li-ion battery in place, (this gives simply hours of power on a 1 hour charge) , I could use it all day long. The whole package comes with a stonking great mains charger and is housed in a strong , foam lined case to keep the whole lot together. Powerful, sturdy, flexible and light - buy it - its a no-brainer !!"
Review 3 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesomely powerful drill
26 Jun 2014
By
, northwest
"Bought this drill as an upgrade to my 5 year old ryobi combi which I bought from screwfix.
Just bought a new house which we are currently doing a full refurb on so I wanted a new more powerful drill but still with the freedom of battery power.
First job was installing a new aerial cable through 2 walls with a 30cm, 10mm drill bit. Absolutely amazed at the power, it had no trouble at all and the power was relentless.
Quick charging but seems to last forever with the 3ah battery.
Cheapest price on the internet for this model I could find.
This drill has the quality of a professional traders tool but at a diyers price.
"
Review 4 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must have!
16 Jun 2014
By
, Colchester
"Ive owned this drill for a while now and it is yet to disappoint me! Great quality and durability , would not hesitate to recommend this too anybody! Best drill I have ever owned."
Review 5 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
De Walt 18v 3Ah drill
16 Jun 2014
By
, Cardiff
"A cracking drill that is good value it does exactly what it is supposed to. It's nice and light compared to my last few drills and charges a lot quicker, it holds it's charge for a longer period of time. The only bad thing I can find is that it only comes with one battery, but I solved this by buying a spare battery."
Review 6 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One mean drill
4 Jun 2014
By
, Cotsowlds
"Needed to erect a new shed on my allotment so needed a good battery drill driver. Never owned a DeWalt before so went for a model with a substantial battery, the 18v 3Ah Li-ion model, very impressed with the result. Easily coped with the 10 x 8mm holes drilled in the paving slabs to anchor the shed down followed by all the screw fixings of the sides, roof and accessories. The torque produced was constant with no sign of stress under load, there was no significant heat build-up in any parts - motor or battery and the recharge after use was a little under 5 mins. All in all a mean drill."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3Ah L
3 Jun 2014
By
, herefordshire
"excellent bit of kit took me a while to decide on but glad i made this choice.always had Bosch power tools but glad i changed .cant knock the service from srewfix would definately use again thanks"
Review 8 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drill
29 May 2014
By
, Nottingham
"quality drill does what it says it can do powerful
and long battery life
"
Review 9 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill
27 Apr 2014
By
, UK
"I've had this drill for a year now. It's only had light DIY use while I've been doing my house up. However it's not missed a beat. As others have commented, it's got a great battery that lasts for ages. It's very controllable and can run at slow speeds if you need it. At the same time it's got some power behind it. I've happily drilled 10mm holes in solid stone blocks (admittedly, I did start with a 5mm bit and worked up and I have good quality bits). In concrete and brick, no pilot holes need it just goes in."
Review 10 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeWalt DCD785L18V 3Ah Li-Ion C
10 Jun 2013
By
, New Forest
"This drill has all metal gear parts as opposed to plastic gears in the cheaper drill and also has the lighter weight LITHIUM batteries as opposed to the heavier Ni-Cad type - important point! Much easier to work with being lighter and better balanced in the hand as a result. Much quicker to charge than Ni-Cad and lasts longer, although I have not charged mine yet. Amateur old car workshop use. Why have a mains drill these days. 1/2" chuck same size as mains drill too. All this combined with this drill being on offer for the day made this only £50 more than the £99 cheaper drill. A truly excellent product. My last cordless Makita drill is over 20 years old - how technology moves on - the DeWalt has very fine motor control too, going as slow and smoothly as you could possibly want with no 'lurching' into action at all. All this for £149 !"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DCD785L1GP-GB
4 Jun 2013
By
, worthing
"I have a DC725 already, so I brought this one
on the strength of that one, very pleased, you can feel the different in power, even in masonry drilling, I brought this to up grade to next generation. down side £100 a battery when you can one for £50 (3ah) on the net.
plus side a 3 year guarantee
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product, chuck went early
5 Sep 2014
By
, across the Pond
"Have had this drill for a year and a half and i has served me well. Hammer is good, electric brake is excellent and it is a fine driver too.
With good bits, it can do jobs my big one sruggles to (I was specially impressed in brick and concrete, performed several 14x150 and 16x70mm in bricks without problem or a battery change).
I was surprised to see that there was significant wobble using longer bits, and had a go at changing the chuck for screwfix 50008. Runs true again. Sorted. More expensive models dewalt DCD985 DCD995 come with the all metal chuck which is nicer."
Review 13 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good torque, reliable drill
21 Mar 2014
By
, Oxford
"The drills in this range are great with a lot of torque, long battery life and charges quickly.
Pretty much says it all.
Having tried other makes , this is a reliable product for regular use and I am sticking with the brand
"
Review 14 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had this a week or so.
18 Jul 2013
By
, Belfast
"My two drills have batteries that are not holding their charge as long as they should. I decided to go for the more hi-tech Li-Ion battery as they are getting good reviews. Pricier than others but what cost long endurance when you need it?
The case is great, well padded and it is a doddle to get online and increase the warranty to three years - all in the paperwork.
The drill is light enough for me as I now have weaker wrists these days, well balanced too. Easy to change bits, just remember to keep turning until it locks. Great gradual trigger action - I always thought this was standard but seeming not. The battery is far easier to change than my other two, where I have to depress catches and they take some effort.
I did a full charge from the box and did not have a use for the drill for a week or so. Then I got stuck into a multi tier solid wood flower box. It was frost damaged last year so I had to take out rusty screws, refresh panels (screws), new supports (screws), castors (wood drill for the bolts). By the finish my old drill (a great B&D) would have had to be recharged a few times yet the DW sounds like it is still on a full charge. I love that!
I had considered this DW or a variation with two smaller Ah batteries, one as a back up. However, reading about the charge holding capacity of the Li-Ions I decided to go for the greater Ah power which I an not regretting.
Many people mention the bits dropping out when the spindle lock engages. I do not doubt their word when at high speed, but I did not experience this as the low speed was certainly fast enough for me. I have yet to try it on concrete though, or on metal.
It would have been nice to had a small driver-bit included (as in my other two drills). I found the light OK but it casts a shadow on the bit so not up to much there. The belt holder is really annoying so that is coming off!
Overall: I am happy with the purchase. I gave the four stars because I have not used it enough to give it five. However, I am able to return to the review later and update it.
Whatever you decide, I would suggest spending the extra money on a high rate Li-Ion battery."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DeWalt DCD785L1GP-GB 18V 3.0Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill XR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good drill but could be better
5 Jun 2013
By
, N.ireland
"Good enough drill but slightly let down by chuck,i don't know why all drills come with chucks that drop out the bit holders at the worst possible time,usually when there is a hole or other crevice for it to fall into.The battery is also the slightly cheaper version that does not have the power indictor on it .All in all if u want a good drill that performs well this is it but if you have the money get the twin pack with two of the 4amp hr batteries, its much better value in the long run!"