Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Hitachi 4½" Angle Grinder

Hitachi 4½" Angle Grinder
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Review 1 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New grinder
20 Nov 2015
By
, Leeds
" Bought this to replace a DeWalt machine which has served me well, but died.
Not as powerfull as old machine, but performed more than adequately on 1st use, and comes with a solid case, which others don't.
As a trade user, the case makes life easier and protects the tool.
"
Review 2 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi Angle Grinder
5 Aug 2015
By
, Norwich
" This is a great little piece of kit at a very reasonable price - ordered it on Monday and it was delivered by Parcel Force first thing on Tuesday free of charge, enabling me to complete the job earlier than I had anticipated and also saved me sourcing it around the local retailers.
One point - it comes with an addendum to the instructions, which states that if you are using a cutting disc you need to order a separate guard for the disc and yet it is supplied with a cutting disc. So why doesn't it come with the appropriate guard? "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hitachi angle grinder
15 Mar 2015
By
, Portsmouth
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this at the last moment for cutting floor tiles when I found out there was no machine guard on a angle grinder that I rediscovered in my garage. I am very pleased with the balance of the Hitachi and the easy to use on / off switch. A further benefit with this purchase was that it contained a free diamond cutter suitable for tiles and a tough carry case to wrap everything in. I have only given it 4 stars for reliability because I have only used it for the above job but I feel confident that with time it will prove to be 5 stars. "
Review 4 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
handy we grinder
30 Jan 2015
By
, derry
" does the job great size and weight.......................... "
Review 5 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hitachi g12ss
25 Aug 2013
By
, Haworth- West Yorks
" Bought this grinder to cut a dozen or so concrete flags rather than hire a stone saw or similar. Did the job easily with the diamond tipped blade in the case and I still own what seems like a good quality product.
Only gave four stars for reliability because not used it enough yet to give it a proper score.
"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice tool
12 Sep 2012
By
, IOW
" Light and easy to use, very reasonably priced. I like Hitachi power tools. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
21 Mar 2011
By
, wiltshire
" bought this as back up grinder but its worth every penny.
Perfect power and control good size discs ....
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi grinder
4 Feb 2015
By
, marlborough
" Excellent tool well built, works very well. I have not had the tool long enough to confirm it's reliability "
Review 9 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grinder
9 Nov 2013
By
, Surrey
" Ok tool, I keep turning it off by accident when using one handed, on/off switch could be in better place "
Review 10 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
diy machine!
14 Apr 2015
By
, somewhere
" ive done three of these in 1 year, diy only, dont get if you have metalworkshop etc
get something like metabo!
"
Review 11 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Replacement grinder
21 Jun 2014
By
, Bangor Co. Down
" I got this grinder as a replacement for one that stopped working. I had bought it for a specific purpose. I used it for 3 hours with no problems, doing a good job. On the second time of use later the same day after about 20 minutes it stopped working. All fuses checked, machine dead. I got a replacement from Screwfix, new machine is working, how long for remains to be seen. "
Review 12 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unsafe? Hitachi angle grinder
18 Dec 2015
By
, devon
" Nice machine but cheap soft plastic? handle could not be tightened to enable safe handling.
Returned unused hence poor ratings.
"
Review 13 for Hitachi G12SS/CD 4½" Angle Grinder 240V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a 580Watt not 730Watt
22 Nov 2012
By
, Middlesex
" I ordered this product which said on the website and book that it was a 730 Watt. When it arrived I checked the label on the body of the grinder and it was only 580 Watt. So both the book and website are incorrect.
This needs to be changed on the website, as although I can see this grinder is very good quality the 580 Wattage would not have had the durability of the 730 Watt and is not enough power for what I require. This has wasted a lot of my time and now I have to take this back to get a refund. I understand human error happens but feel that for it to be incorrect on both the website and in the book is a poor show. Had I not examined the label on the grinder I might have overloaded it's use. I do however recommend Hitachi products. "
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.