Product Reviews

Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb

Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
10
61 of 77(79%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Review 1 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best for the Bucks
24 Nov 2015
By
, Warwickshire
" I fell in love the moment I swung this bad boy. It's made my life so much easier and glides through wood like a knife does butter.
Just get one even if you don't need one, you'll feel more manly!
"
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of kit
6 Nov 2015
By
, Dunoon
" High quality maul, comfortable and easy to use. Splits larger logs with ease. Great for use with log grenade for more stubborn logs. Highly recommended. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Maul
27 Oct 2015
By
, Sandiacre
" This worked for better than I expected although the logs I am splitting are well seasoned, may be harder if green.
I use the maul (hammer side) with a log bomb for knotty sections of logs and this also works very well.
It helps to use a large log as a base when splitting on grass and also make sure you wear safety glasses. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roughneck maul 8lb
17 Oct 2015
By
, Hadleigh
" As everybody else has said, this makes really easy work of splitting all but the toughest knotty wood a real breeze - would recommend this to anyone who wanted something more successful than an axe.
Greet too that it can be used as a sledgehammer
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maul - easy held
14 Sep 2015
By
, Belfast
" don't know much about these type of products but here goes it is my 1st buy. It splits logs with a bit of effort from your shoulders but I would not be without it (need the exercise) It feels sturdy in the hand, good weight behind it to split. If in doubt how to split watch videos 1st. (I did).
I am expecting to have this for a long time as its well made with a rubber soft handle grip which I liked a lot. Make sure you have a soft ground or bottom sheet of wood, sometimes the force you hit the wood will also hit the ground and if on driveway it will lift it very soon. Don't chop near windows or cars, wood will fly! (at times)
Wifi would help at this shop though.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stress Buster
14 Sep 2015
By
, Cambridge
" Excellent piece of kit, makes light work of splitting the most challenging logs.
never jammed once. Stressed day, Pick up a maul and maul away, No more stress. Simples!
"
Review 7 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roughneck splitting maul
14 Aug 2015
By
, Banbury
" Used it as soon as it arrived and it surpassed my expectations in log splitting. Wish I had bought one years ago! "
Review 8 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job
20 Apr 2015
By
, Lincolnshire
" Great axe splits logs easily. Wish I had brought one years ago "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Chopper
6 Feb 2015
By
, Burnley
" I have put off buying a splitting maul for a number of years and have persevered with a felling axe.... Why? Why? Why?
The weight and shape off the maul make it easy to split big logs, even when still green. The roughneck is well made and hopefully will last a long time, so £30 well spent.
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Piece of kit
4 Feb 2015
By
, Scunthorpe
" First time I used it I was amazed how easily it split logs with little effort. I have put 5 stars for reliability so I hope it lives up to my expectations. "
Review 11 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job it's designed for
25 Jan 2015
By
, Devon
" Heavy - almost too heavy for me - but splits most stubborn logs that other, lighter mauls might struggle with. Yes of course chunks will fly off the log when it splits and if that's a problem for some then just stand the log inside a suitable vehicle tyre. I also have 2 axes and a 2kg maul as swinging the 8lb beast is hard work but some of the logs I need to split are big, heavy and wet and that's when it's used. A 6lb maul would probably suit most people for occasional/weekly use.
This maul is cheap compared to many, they range from below £20 up to around £200. I have used my 8lb Roughneck 'hard' for over 2 years now with no problems, defects or weak points.
"
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roughneck maul
10 Dec 2014
By
, Northliegh
" Made cutting blocks very easy.
This is a great tool for the job.
"
Review 13 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Agree with Others
4 Oct 2014
By
, New Forest
" Have to agree with other reviewers. This was bought for splitting logs and, for that purpose, it is excellent.
But...this was the most expensive axe in the shop, so maybe I should expect this performance? "
Review 14 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Splitting Maul
1 Oct 2014
By
, West Midlands
" Hit a 3 foot high section of Poplar tree trunk.... It exploded. Marvellous tool, good exercise. Its as much fun cutting as it is burning. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Testing log splitting maul
3 Sep 2014
By
, Fleet, North Hants
" I bought the maul and log grenade to hopefully split 1/2 ton of new oak slabs from a recently felled 200 year old tree.
I was thinking a chainsaw might be needed but wanted to try hand splitting. The slabs were 2 to 3 feet in diameter and about a 12 to 18 inches thick. I started scoring the slabs with a circular saw and banging away with the grenade. After 40 minutes I stopped using the saw and just converted the stock into nice chunks of great firewood only using the maul straight off, only using the grenade for narly bits where the fibres go left and right. The maul is great to split or to pound the grenade. The maul head nearly never jams (unlike an axe). The chunks just fly off. Don't forget to split the logs on a good base of tree section. Picture shows 1/3 of the slabs. It took an afternoon complete the lot. I can't comment on reliability after a short test. Very satisfying. Good products.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
30 Aug 2014
By
, Birkenhead
" I had some oak logs that were tough to split with an axe, this maul split them with ease "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase
17 Jun 2014
By
, Prestwick
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" My wife asked me why I needed to spend money on this when I was going to our local Screwfix to get it: I need the right tool for the job, says I.
And it really is. I had been trying to split some logs using a short handled axe, a wedge and a lump hammer, and getting really frustrated.
This thing goes through logs really easily. Even for the incompetent. like myself (I now have a hole in my plastic storage container from half a log flying off into it from my chopping block) it's a dream to use.
If you have big logs and need them to be smaller, and you want to do it manually, go and buy one. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maul
13 May 2014
By
, Pontypridd
" Very nice maul,I purchased this for a friend and had nothing but good reports he says that it is a lot lot less stressful to use than a wooden handle tool as there is less shock and vibration transmitted down the handle.It is a heavy tool to use,and I did sharpen the edge considerably.(but most good axes are supplied without a cutting edge) Will update in future as to durability. "
Review 19 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Split them logs
3 Jan 2014
By
, London
" It does what it says on the tin. You take a mighty swing and split the logs in two.
However, this isn't going to split those awkwardly knotted large rounds so you'll still need wedges or bombs which you can then use the non-splitting side of this maul to hammer in.
It's a great product and would recommend it to anyone that doesn't mind a bit of work.
However, if unlike me, you can get a steady supply of sensible sized logs I'd use a hydraulic splitter. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A maul which is a maul
29 Nov 2013
By
, Bedford-ish
" As has been pointed out by others, this is a maul. It's not an axe. As it isn't an axe I imagine it wouldn't be good at doing an axe's job; the 'blade' is intentionally not a blade and trying to change the maul into an axe by sharpening it will stop it from being able to do either job.
Straight out of the box it has worked extremely well for its intended purpose. It has only had a few hours use so far so I can't comment on reliability yet, but it's certainly made well as well as functioning well - a pleasure to use.
"
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>