Product Reviews

Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb

Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Average Customer Rating:
3.868 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
10
40 of 53(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Review 1 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Agree with Others
4 Oct 2014
By
, New Forest
"Have to agree with other reviewers. This was bought for splitting logs and, for that purpose, it is excellent.
But...this was the most expensive axe in the shop, so maybe I should expect this performance?"
Review 2 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Splitting Maul
1 Oct 2014
By
, West Midlands
"Hit a 3 foot high section of Poplar tree trunk.... It exploded. Marvellous tool, good exercise. Its as much fun cutting as it is burning."
Review 3 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Testing log splitting maul
3 Sep 2014
By
, Fleet, North Hants
"I bought the maul and log grenade to hopefully split 1/2 ton of new oak slabs from a recently felled 200 year old tree.
I was thinking a chainsaw might be needed but wanted to try hand splitting. The slabs were 2 to 3 feet in diameter and about a 12 to 18 inches thick. I started scoring the slabs with a circular saw and banging away with the grenade. After 40 minutes I stopped using the saw and just converted the stock into nice chunks of great firewood only using the maul straight off, only using the grenade for narly bits where the fibres go left and right. The maul is great to split or to pound the grenade. The maul head nearly never jams (unlike an axe). The chunks just fly off. Don't forget to split the logs on a good base of tree section. Picture shows 1/3 of the slabs. It took an afternoon complete the lot. I can't comment on reliability after a short test. Very satisfying. Good products.
"
Review 4 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
30 Aug 2014
By
, Birkenhead
"I had some oak logs that were tough to split with an axe, this maul split them with ease"
Review 5 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase
17 Jun 2014
By
, Prestwick
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My wife asked me why I needed to spend money on this when I was going to our local Screwfix to get it: I need the right tool for the job, says I.
And it really is. I had been trying to split some logs using a short handled axe, a wedge and a lump hammer, and getting really frustrated.
This thing goes through logs really easily. Even for the incompetent. like myself (I now have a hole in my plastic storage container from half a log flying off into it from my chopping block) it's a dream to use.
If you have big logs and need them to be smaller, and you want to do it manually, go and buy one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maul
13 May 2014
By
, Pontypridd
"Very nice maul,I purchased this for a friend and had nothing but good reports he says that it is a lot lot less stressful to use than a wooden handle tool as there is less shock and vibration transmitted down the handle.It is a heavy tool to use,and I did sharpen the edge considerably.(but most good axes are supplied without a cutting edge) Will update in future as to durability."
Review 7 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Split them logs
3 Jan 2014
By
, London
"It does what it says on the tin. You take a mighty swing and split the logs in two.
However, this isn't going to split those awkwardly knotted large rounds so you'll still need wedges or bombs which you can then use the non-splitting side of this maul to hammer in.
It's a great product and would recommend it to anyone that doesn't mind a bit of work.
However, if unlike me, you can get a steady supply of sensible sized logs I'd use a hydraulic splitter."
Review 8 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A maul which is a maul
29 Nov 2013
By
, Bedford-ish
"As has been pointed out by others, this is a maul. It's not an axe. As it isn't an axe I imagine it wouldn't be good at doing an axe's job; the 'blade' is intentionally not a blade and trying to change the maul into an axe by sharpening it will stop it from being able to do either job.
Straight out of the box it has worked extremely well for its intended purpose. It has only had a few hours use so far so I can't comment on reliability yet, but it's certainly made well as well as functioning well - a pleasure to use.
"
Review 9 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Log Splitter
1 Sep 2013
By
, Yorkshire
"Bought this to split logs from chopping down some trees as my smaller wooden handle axe hardly made a dent, even on 2ft x 2ft logs. I needed a real log splitter.
This does the job with ease smashing through the 2footers and much bigger. I was happily impressed. For the really big logs or if your strength is less than average you may want to grab the roughneck grenade or other wedge too as the blunt end of the axe head means you can use the roughneck maul to hammer it through a partly split log but in my opinion this product splits large logs on its own, has great grip and weight and usually splits a log with no more than a couple of swings. It comes looking blunt but it splits logs with bruit force so don't worry. We'd all like a £100+ wood handle one but if that's pushing your budget you won't be disappointed with this.
"
Review 10 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
roughneck splitting maul
7 Dec 2012
By
, wiltshire
"have used this to split recently seasoned pile of pine logs some of which were very notty and up to 30inch diameter .Nicely balanced and didnt get stuck once also showed no sign of wear with some miss hits.Overall a very nice product to use."
Review 11 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great - not an axe!
9 Oct 2012
By
, Winchester
"This is what it says - a splitting maul. Not an axe and it doesn't work in the same way. It does work really well though and can give you an hour of very satisfying exercise and a large pile of logs.
Get a bit of practice: get your aim straight and use the weight of the maul. A few whacks will split any log and the most satisfying ones go with one hit.
Oh and put your log on a nice heavy duty block to ensure it absorbs all the impact."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works!
22 Sep 2012
By
, Keighley
"Was a bit sceptical about this but I didn't want the hassle of a grenade and sledgehammer. Even more sceptical when I saw how 'blunt' it was.
Tried it on some old, wet and knotted rounds and was amazed. My axe just buried itself in these but this thing just blasted them apart. Wish I'd bought one years ago.
I guess it will be defeated where a grenade and sledgehammer will win, but for most jobs it is perfect and a lot faster than lining up a grenade over and over again. It also has the advantage that you can just use the pounding end with a grenade if you need to."
Review 13 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great splitter
27 Mar 2012
By
, Sheffield
"Very effective tool for log splitting. Glad I got this instead of an axe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Beast...
15 Mar 2012
By
, Cornwall
"Smacks timber to shreds with little effort... the edge is surprisingly blunt so dont expect to use it as an axe.
If you need to bash logs into manageable sizes it is pure joy.
Highly therapeutic after a stressful day ;)
"
Review 15 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
axe
6 Mar 2012
By
, copmanthorpe york
"we got this item after looking at whot others had said it does the job great with no problems at all"
Review 16 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
roughneck 8lb splitting maul
10 Jan 2012
By
, nottingham
"top quality item will highly recommend,excellent price plus it doubles as a 8lb sledge hammer......cant go wrong ...buy it.. cant comment on reliability as not had it long enough....only used to split 3 ton logs as yet.."
Review 17 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
roughneck splitting maul
4 Jul 2011
By
, Ellington
"took a bit of getting used too. performs quite well with little effort. best used with a large diameter hardwood log as a chopping block minimum 18" long."
Review 18 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin
18 May 2011
By
, London
"I bought one of these recently as we have just had a large eucalyptus taken down in the back yard.
Some of the stumps are up to 80cm in diameter and all about 30-40cm high. I thought I was going to have to swallow my pride and call someone to haul it away or rent a hydraulic splitter until I tried this out on them.
This maul splits the big ones amazingly well 1 or 2, hardly ever 3 shots and its gone. Only thing I would advise is to get your self something light and sharp to split up the smaller pieces if you need to do this, at 8lb this is a bit heavy.
The head has never been stuck in a stump so that feature definitely works.
It’s my first experience chopping wood on this scale so I have nothing to compare it to and I don’t know about this sharpening the blade stuff mentioned by other reviewers, mine was not actually sharp and I left it like that as it works just fine.
I'm certain there are better splitting mauls out there but not at this price."
Review 19 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really effective tool
9 May 2011
By
, Wiltshire
"Had two huge piles of logs to split after having a number of mature leyladii type trees felled last autumn. Every time I looked the piles seemed to get bigger. Time to tackle the job so I puchased the Roughneck 8 lb. maul and started with some trepidation. What a joy - it really does the job. Gets better with practice as you improve your technique and gain confidence. Got this one because it has the anti-jam feature and it works well. Have split logs diameter 9 inches mostly with single swing.
Nice to have a tool that is good to use. Mind you, expect to find muscles you didn't think you had!
Bought the grenade splitter at the same time and this works well with a few swings of the flat of the head used on larger sections of trunk.
Now, where do I store all those split logs?
"
Review 20 for Roughneck Splitting Maul 8Lb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Axe
5 May 2010
By
, ipswich
"I am new to log choppin!! i was originaly using my dads 3.5lb axe, and was tring to split large bits of chain sawed log. that axe would do it but would take 6/7 swings and got stuck in the log all the time. I then bought this! This i great axe for the first cut....one or two swings and thats it...and it doesnt get stuck! but if you want to cut up the two halfs with any precision then you will need a couple of smaller axe's to!"
Page : 1 2 3 next>