Product Reviews

The first choice for maintenance-free, long-life applications. Made from rust-resistant, A2 Stainless Steel, the Turbo Ultra is ideally suited to outdoor applications such as fencing and fixings. EN 14592.

The first choice for maintenance-free, long-life applications. Made from rust-resistant, A2 Stainless Steel, the Turbo Ultra is ideally suited to outdoor applications such as fencing and fixings. EN 14592.
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Review 1 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
turbo screw advantage, no rust
7 May 2011
By boris
, London
"Easy starting screw, self countersinking, with added rust resistance for outside use. Not cheap but worth it for longevity. Long screws will need a pilot hole and stainless are more easily sheared than standard screws. Larger diameter option than available for the very long screws would help."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the job
9 Sep 2009
By petersbase
, Portsmouth
"I purchased 2 boxes of 50 screws from different batches, and found them to be perfect for securing 100mm joists. The pilot holes were drilled all the way through the 100mm joist, using a number 6 drill. This left 50mm of screw to fix to the supporting beams. No screws buckled or snapped, and I applied large amounts of touque using a power driver, and manual screwing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
turbo ultra a2 screws
18 Jul 2014
By gen42
, essex
"Using these screws to hold railway sleepers together and so far have to say they do the job well. No pre drilling needed and pull wood together really well."
Review 4 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK Screws for a Great Price
25 Jul 2012
By Adriano123
, Chatham, Kent
"I chose these as they were for external use so needed to be corrosion resistant, and I needed something atleast 150mm long- and there were very few makes that offered this combination at a price which wasn't offensive.
I have put 100 of these into a garden wall made from logs, they bind the wood tightly and didn't cause any splits so I am very impessed with them.
However, they are a little bit 'soft'. When your screwing them in they twist up a little (probably due to the stainless material and their length), which to begin with wasn't a problem, but if you have one which is slightly bent or you put too much pressure on it or it goes in at a little bit of an angle these suckers will wind them selves up and just sheer in half. After I had broken or damaged 4 or 5 of these I learnt to spend a little more time lining them up, and dont bother trying with any bent ones- then after I had no problems.
I would definately use these again- I have another wooden wall project coming up and I will definately buy another couple of boxes- but you need to remember to have a bit of patience with them!"
Review 5 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I Like a Good Screw
27 Sep 2011
By Catty
, Essex
"Good product although 1 did shear its head. but all ok, holding my solar panels on the roof"
Review 6 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
good and bad
9 Sep 2013
By camerasouth
, Brighton
"I can't say that these Stainless Steel screws are rubbish because when they work they are excellent, but I have spent literally hours trying to extract them for whatever reason because the cross slot just so often burrs away when driving them in with a power screwdriver. The metal is phenomenally soft and the cross slots in the smaller screws invariably strip. I really wish Screwfix could supply the same screw but made from a much harder metal . I never get this problem with the Turbogold screws."
Review 7 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not strong enough!
28 Jul 2013
By JD01
, Fareham
"I bought stainless steel screws to join green oak roof rafters together. First screw snapped when I tried to tighten it up. Carefully used the rest but would not use again in green oak."
Review 8 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Can't take the torque
19 Jul 2010
By PhilABZ
, Aberdeen
"Bought these for a shed build. Using C16 grade 4x2 stud work and a power screwdriver these screws were consistently twisting the shank and occasionally shearing off the head when driven into bare wood. Only way I could use them was to use a regular 6x120mm carbon steel screw to pre-tap the hole.
Unable to reuse extracted screws as too bent!
I think they are just a bit too long for the diameter in A2 stainless (which is less strong than carbon steel). Shorter or thicker is recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed
18 Mar 2011
By ShortyDIY
, Kent
"I paid the extra for these because I thought they would be up to the job of going through softwood battens into oak. However I found that they sometimes buckled if I stopped midway and then tried to start again. Also once screwed in completely I was unable to remove them, they would turn but not unscrew. I switched to Turbogold and they were fantastic, put in more than 300 and not one failed, and they were considerably cheaper!"
Review 10 for Turbo Ultra A2 Stainless Steel Countersunk 6 x 150mm Pack of 50
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Purchase Ever
17 May 2009
By delights
, Werst London
"Either we had purchased a defective batch or there is a serious design fault in this product. A single box of 50 screws was bought from the Southall branch. After about 12 attempts and failures to use these screws the box was returned and we were refunded. These screws in all cases buckled when pressure was put on them to drive into soft wood. In some cases they snapped. This failure occurred even after pre drilling. In a number of cases the screws were then impossible to retrieve from the wood resulting in wasted timber and much frustration on our project . I would appreciate some feedback from screwfix."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.