Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Allows any LightwaveRF device to be controlled remotely using a smartphone or PC. Energy usage can be viewed with an energy monitor device (available separately). LCD display. Set up in Seconds.

Allows any LightwaveRF device to be controlled remotely using a smartphone or PC. Energy usage can be viewed with an energy monitor device (available separately). LCD display. Set up in Seconds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LightwaveRF Wi-Fi Link Lighting, Power & Heating Control
Review 1 for LightwaveRF Wi-Fi Link Lighting, Power & Heating Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of kit
10 Sep 2012
By
, Kenoilworth UK
"I would wholeheartedly recommend this product. It offers most of the features I need, lack of heating control temporarily prevents this from getting five stars. I am working to integrate this to my home alarm via a blackberry pi. Beware the light switches and sockets - the backboxes in my house were not deep enough to house the RF receivers.
I also use the power monitor which simply wraps around your electricity supply wire and monitors kW usage continuously. It's a useful reference to minimise bills."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LightwaveRF Wi-Fi Link Lighting, Power & Heating Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightwave RF WiFi
6 Aug 2012
By
, N Wales
"Of the automation products I have installed, this has to be one of the easiest to set-up. The WiFi link is practically plug and play. Download the app first, install the switched hardware and plug in the box.
Light switches and sockets are easy to install and set up, but remember the MINIMUM rating of 40W for lights as these are not ideal for LED lighting.
Heating is not quite there yet, and once the heating control is released this will be a very good system for its cost. Definitely a product for the trade and competent DIY'er (due to the need to remove existing switches/sockets)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LightwaveRF Wi-Fi Link Lighting, Power & Heating Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Technology
29 Jun 2012
By
, Dundee
"I bought this system at a much higher price before it was offered by Screwfix, I thought I got great value for money then, now it's a snip!! The whole system is brilliant, so easy to install and use with your i phone or ipad.
I read a lot about other home automation solutions hanging or locking up but I've had this in for 6 months now and not had a single problem. Will definitely be buying more sockets/dimmers and some radiator valves when they come out.
If your considering home automation this system is exceptional.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LightwaveRF Wi-Fi Link Lighting, Power & Heating Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iPhone home automation
29 Jun 2012
By
, Hampton, London
"This is a brilliant product and although the Internet service had teething problems at the start, this is now sorted. You connect this to your router, download the Apple iPhone or other Smartphone app, buy just one replacement socket, light switch, either direct replacement or plug in.
You can then switch on an appliance or switch and dim your lighting from anywhere in the world, as long as you have 3G or wifi connection with your iPhone or Smarphone. I even have an energy monitor, and this can be view within the mobile app. Thoroughly recommended.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LightwaveRF Wi-Fi Link Lighting, Power & Heating Control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great product
28 Jun 2012
By
, Warwickshire
"I have to say I was very sceptical of this product before I purchased it, however I was proved wrong.
To be able to control my lighting & power whilst working away is fantastic. The thing that amazed me was how easy it was to setup the wifi link. All it took was the initial registration with my phone & the setup on the app was very easy.
Then I could control my home when I was away it is a great security feature. I have setup up sequences that mimic when I am actually in the house for when I am away.
I have looked at similar systems which are 7 or 8 times the price & this one works just as well."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LightwaveRF Wi-Fi Link Lighting, Power & Heating Control
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent basic automation
3 Mar 2013
By
, Newcastle
"I bought the LightwaveRF wifi link and two compatible RF light switches as I wanted a system that could operate my house lights on sequences and timers and also needed the remote (internet) functionality. I found the hardware itself very easy to install but would recommend watching the support videos before setting up system on the iPhone app, it is not difficult just not as intuitive as it could be.
Overall I think the system works well and is well priced, I will certainly be adding to it and look forward to some of the new products that are expected this year.
"
Review 7 for LightwaveRF Wi-Fi Link Lighting, Power & Heating Control
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interesting product some flaws
7 Jan 2013
By
, England
"Great to be able to control your Lightwave kit from any web browser or smartphone. Not so great when the wifi link thinks the date is 32nd December (apparently for the second year running). Can't comment on long term reliability but it has been solid (apart from the aforementioned date bug) so far."
Review 8 for LightwaveRF Wi-Fi Link Lighting, Power & Heating Control
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good and bad
26 Sep 2012
By
, Cambridge
"The product's hardware is good and works well. The wireless control box offers the promise of configuring the events and times using an iPod/iPad/Android. The theory is good, but the implementation of the software is very poor. It puts me in mind of a school project. Poor software design and lack of features. How about this as an example: if you create a schedule of events that controls various lights at certain times, but if you want to add a new device you have to delete the whole schedule and start again. It is so basic and certainly doesn't compare with modern, well-designed software for home applications (eg Sonos). This is a shame because the hardware appears to work well. I think somebody in the company doesn't understand software! Perhaps if you use the product with a simple remote control it it ok - they have set expectations of a control app that are just nowhere near met."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.