Product Reviews

Fast-Drying Satin White 2.5Ltr

Fast-Drying Satin White 2.5Ltr
Average Customer Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
12 of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Review 1 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Leyland Trade Satin
21 Mar 2016
By
, Peasedown St John
" First itme I have tried a water based paint. Thought only cleaning brushes out in water was a breeze, so much easier than oil based paints.
It was quick drying, managed to get 3 nice coats on in 6 hours easily.
Cannot comment on the reliability yet.
Cost I thought was reasonable.
Happy with the finish as it is satin and not high gloss, Spread ok on MDF skirting, but didn't 'flatten' out as well as gloss does normally .
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great choice for Interior work
16 Feb 2016
By
, Stevenage, Hertfords
" I've been a painter and decorator for over 40 yrs so I can claim to know a little about paint. For interior woodwork this is an excellent choice if you want a satin finish. Easy to apply, very quick drying, reasonable covering on the first coat, 2 coats will give you an excellent finish when applied over previous light coloured paintwork. If painting over dark colours a minimum of 3 coats will be required, no problem due to the quick drying time. There is virtually no smell when using this paint and cleaning kettles and brushes is a doddle, simply wash under the tap. Leyland paints have always been reliable and of good quality and this acrylic satin is no exception. "
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Concurrence
15 Oct 2015
By
, Gloucester
" Just a quick follow up to the previous reviews. Totally agree with comments that it is easy to use and paints on well - best quick dry paint I have used. Loved a comment about a leading paint manufacturers version that it runs faster than Mo Farrow and fully agree! The Leyland version is much superior and very good value for money - will be using a lot more for my daughters hallway and stairs etc. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really impressed
4 Sep 2015
By
, Birmingham
" So far very impressed. Used over 6 month ago and no sign of yellowing unlike oil based gloss. Easy to apply and very fast at drying. Only issue is you have to apply it fast, otherwise if you wait to long and go back over what you have previously painted while it is still drying, then it flips the pigment which gives it a different shine. However so far I love this Leyland water based gloss, and will not be going back to oil based again. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NO NONSENSE!
31 May 2015
By
, Helensburgh
" Another brilliant paint. Used for a quick touch up job over a very bad satin paint from a big DIY store. Well worth every penny. I covers very well, didn't affect the paint below, created a smooth even finish and even with two quick coats looked professional. Very pleased, the price couldn't really be matched and the quality superior to other big brand names. Very low odor and minimal cleaning with everything washable with water. Brilliant! "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great water based satin
26 Mar 2015
By
, Newport Pagnell
" This is the best water based satin we've used so far, great opacity and dries quickly without any harsh fumes. It can be a bit tricky to apply as it is very quick drying, as with most water based satins some brush marks and orange peel effect from rollers is to be expected. The finish is very similar to the Ronseal Wood Paint (satin) that we used to buy which is a relief as we haven't finished all the woodwork downstairs and don't want to start all over again. The finish is a slightly matt satin and not 'mid-sheen' satin like a main brand of paint from other DIY stores, which we found to be quite glossy. The best thing about this water based satin is it's white throughout in the tin and doesn't separate as badly as other paints, stirred for a couple of mins and ready to go. "
Review 7 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent product
4 Feb 2015
By
, stratford on avon
" i dont often write a review, the paint is a new product is not many comment yet therefore i have to tell people this is absolutely excellent would highly recommended.
to get a good finish it needed a least two coats
however is quickly dried you can apply second coats within an hour.
you definitely would not be disappointed!!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leyland fast drying paint
7 Jan 2015
By
, manchester
" i bought this paint i am painting my grandson bedroom so I needed fast drying paint, ive done all the paint work and I am really pleased with the result, I ordered my paint on line and I could pick it up the next day, and me being a woman that likes doing a lot of stuff in my home I was asking questions about bath panels ex I was served by a great helper, and very pleasant. I was so delighted with the service "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to Use Paint
27 Aug 2014
By
, Co Down.
" I purchased this paint as I was looking for a white satin finish without the fast yellowing that occurs from new solvent based paints.
Application was easy with a brush to my bedroom skirting boards and wardrobe doors - two coats were needed to freshen up the white surfaces.
The tin is marked as "non-yellowing" and as it's only been on a few months I can't comment on this, but I sure hope that it doesn't yellow, hence the 3 stars for reliability.
Will be buying more for the hall and future bedroom projects. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
23 Aug 2014
By
, Reigate, Surrey.
" Great paint. No smell, quick drying, easy to clean brushes and tools, no drips, good coverage. I used for customer with pets who was extremely pleased with all of the above and even commented on the finish obtained with a brush, the customer couldn't believe I used a brush. I shall use this from now on for all jobs. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top paint
28 Sep 2015
By
, North Lincs
" Typical Leyland quality, as I had used before I had no hesitation in buying it again. Great coverage, low odour and great coverage. "
Review 12 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
leyland paint
12 May 2016
By
, maidenhead
" beginning to wonder who writes the reviews on screwfix website. recently bought a detector as some reviews said " great for finding studs", it doesn't find studs now i can't return.
Read reviews for this paint and screwfix just call it fast drying but don't say how long but one reviewer got 3 coats on in 6 hours. funny that considering on the tin its says 4 hrs drying time so not that fast drying.
water based is better as low odour compared to the eggshell leyland i have used but quite thin coverage so more coats needed in my opinion. other than that goes on well.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Difficult to get smooth finish
16 Feb 2016
By
, Coalville
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Unlike other reviews I cannot get the smooth finish I desire. Either I got a bad tin or I have higher standards than other users (!).
I've been painting MDF skirting and windowsills and the only words I can use to describe the paint is very 'draggy' and 'stringy'. Laying off just worsens the finish, leaving visible brush marks. With a damp brush and lightly damped surface (as advised on dulux YouTube water based paint guide) I got slightly better results.
On natural wood the finish is slightly better, probably hidden by the minor surface texture of the wood grain. I will persevere because I've got a whole tin to get through !
It does dry very quickly and I've found it hard wearing so far. "
Review 14 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not impressed
29 Mar 2015
By
, Skegness, Lincolnshi
" Even on prepared wood with good quality brushes it doesn't stick well or cover well. It looks a lot better dry than when it's going on but you need to try and get a good thick coat on, which can be difficult in intricate areas. Even then it really needs 2 coats. I had a lot of white woodwork to cover and wanted something to do the job quickly and thoroughly; this did not suit my purposes as I am going to have to do it all again to get the desired results, so no, I won't be buying again. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never Buying It Again
14 May 2016
By
, Worcester
" This is the worst paint I have ever used. I have used it to paint a desk and they only plus point is that the brushes wash easily.
I cannot get this paint to flow at all, no matter what I do (synthetic brush, roller, watering it down, painting in the coldest place possible to increase the drying time). And don't even consider putting the dried paint against something else because it will stick to that quicker that anything (even after 24 hours) making painting both sides a nightmare. It doesn't sand well so fixing mistakes is hard.
I got the paint out again yesterday as I didn't want to waste it and after a couple of coats gave up, it's going in the bin. "
Review 16 for Leyland Trade Satin Fast Drying Paint Brilliant White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst 'paint' ever
2 Apr 2015
By
, Burnham, Sluff
" Recently moved and have been buying Leyand Trade 10L emulsions by the bucket load so was expecting the same sort of quality.
Actually paid a professional painter to paint the woodwork around the stairs, skirting and door frames. Initially looked good but the slightest knock scratches off the paint. Few months on and hand rails look a mess.
Everything will have to be repainted which will be a nightmare due to all the scratches \ areas where it has peeled off.
When used with masking tape if allowed to dry half of the paint peels off with the tape.
Pro's: Will stay white longer than you oil based paints. Maybe useful for dado rails \ areas that will not have any contact. No smell and easy clean up.
Con's: Should not be classed as paint, never really hardens, slightest knock scratches the paint off. Needs multiple coats. Durability of jelly. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.