Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Multimeter with Temp Probe

Multimeter with Temp Probe
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Review 1 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meter
10 Feb 2016
By
, Cornwall
" Excellent budget meter and temp probe as a bonus
I would buy another for the boat as well "
Review 2 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Continuity tester is bust
22 Sep 2015
By
, Berkshire
" About 7 months after purchase, and almost no use, the continuity tester now continues its tone even after being removed from the circuit. Has to be switched off and on again to clear. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philex 83002R/S
7 May 2015
By
, Harrogate
" Does what it says on the box. Excellent value for money. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit for the price
20 Mar 2015
By
, Liverpool
" Working in a busy workshop I have owned much more expensive meters than this. It has performed brilliantly coping with everything I have done with it. Even came with temperature probe which I have had to buy separately when purchasing other meters.
Don't forget it doesn't come with a 9 volt battery.
"
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous Item
25 Nov 2014
By
, Wilmslow
" After two days of chasing what I thought was and Alarm System wiring fault (replacing wires under floorboards etc) I bought one of these.
Within 5 minutes it had proved the fault lay in the circuit board of the alarm box - an intermittent fault.
Would highly recommend the product.
Ignore the previous comment that it does not do 240V ac - it does - but only if you turn it to the 240V ac setting :-)
Not sure about the reliability as I have only had it a few days.
DON'T FORGET TO BUY THE BATTERY FOR IT AS THERE IS NOT ONE IN THE BOX
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality volt meter
18 Sep 2014
By
, Dundee
" I reviewed a lot of volt meters before purchasing this one .I did not want to spend a fortune on one of the really expensive meters that are available as I only use them now and again but I had to have one that I could be trusted to give me fairly accurate readings . This meter ticked all the boxes for me and the price Screwfix sell it at is very good . "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little multi meter
30 Jun 2014
By
, cambridgeshire
" I purchased this for automotive fault finding and I am very pleased with it. For fault finding on cars there are much better meters than this but not for £22.48. It covers the usual volts (both ac and dc) current up to 10 amps, resistance of which I have found very use full today and a very handy temperature probe.
Unless you need to know frequencies and duty cycles this will cover most basic need's.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bit of kit
2 Apr 2014
By
, Lincoln
" Bought this to find faults in my land rover. Did the job with ease. Ok for a novice to use.
My tip is look on the internet for videos & you will soon pick it up fixing car faults. Also you can download the instructions off the screwfix listing , there are 2 A4 print off`s, then put them back to back & laminate them. Keeps them clean & easy to read outside.
Well chuffed.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real handy!
9 Mar 2012
By
, Halifax
" if it Electrics, Gas or Heating i find this a handy multimeter i does everything you would wish it to and its not got a dial thats full of stuff that you only understand if you have a electronic degree. good tool good price "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but incorrect listing
3 Oct 2015
By
, Surrey
" Good all round multimeter for the price.
Beware however that the product listing reads as if it supports AC current testing which it does NOT do. Read the attached user guide directly from Philex to confirm it does what you need. "
Review 11 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Test meter
27 Jul 2015
By
, Barton on Sea
" Used a model 8 AVO for 30 yrs, finlly could not get batteries, or see needle clearly. Finally updated ....excellent visual meter, temerature probe a bonus. Good price but don't forget the 9V battery! "
Review 12 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Temperature
4 Aug 2014
By
, Helston
" Exceptional service from your Penryn branch. friendly staff and having ordered on the telephone the product was ready and waiting when I turned up - despite it being Saturday morning. Well done Screwfix "I shall "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not too bad
6 Jun 2014
By
, leamington spa
" quite a nice little unit- the probes look a little cheap but work. would have preferred the continuity tester alarm to be a bit louder. "
Review 14 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the Job.
13 Sep 2013
By
, devon
" My main DVM is a Fluke85, an expensive professional voltmeter, which is very versatile, and has many other functions. After 20 years use, I had a problem with it's solder connections to the battery, so I needed to strip it down and re-solder them.
At the same time I was fitting an electric door bell, and required a meter to check everything was good. This meter fitted the bill quite well, and it had everything that I wanted to use. It is very light, and seems to be quite accurate. It also has a diode checking function which can be useful in some situations. It has also a temperature probe (thermocouple), which is excellent for checking the operational temperatures of your fridge/freezer.
A good little voltmeter, and I have no idea how they can produce something like this for £25. I only gave it 3 stars for reliability because, I haven't had it long enough to truthfully assess this. I think it will be reliable because it is reasonably well made, and if treated with care should last you a long time. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handy multimeter
5 Dec 2012
By
, Isle of Mull
" I bought this as I needed one quick and the cheaper one was ourt of stock.
Only used it for one job, testing for mains power. It did the job fine as i expected. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ideal everyday multimeter
3 Dec 2012
By
, London
" The LCD backlight is a really useful feature, as is the audible continuity tester. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Meter
24 Oct 2012
By
, Lake District
" Does what it says on the tin!
The selector dial a bit stiff and I hope it is up to a bit of mistreatment that it will get in my tool bag. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good instrument
3 Nov 2015
By
, London
" I am a electrian i have been in the industry for a long time and i have used no of multimeters including this one and i found this one good because its got functions to measure alot of values and its also got funtctions to do quite few tests. + blacklit. Best thing that its got temperature function and you can work out the conductor size to be used considering temperature.
Good one .
"
Review 19 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Digital Multimeter
27 Nov 2014
By
, Plymouth
" perfect item for what I needed. excellent price. this is the second one I purchased as my friend was also impressed. "
Review 20 for Philex 83002R/S Digital Multimeter with Temperature Probe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dodgy leads
19 Feb 2013
By
, middlesbrough
" bought may last year, I like the meter but first one lead cracked at the plug end then the other until it was dangling on a thread and finally snapped it was not as if it had been badly handled, could do with additional support insulation at each end of leads "
Page : 1 2 next>