Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sentinel X400 System Restorer

Sentinel X400 System Restorer
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Review 1 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sentinel Ultimate Cleaner
10 Jul 2015
By Torchy
, Sheffield
" Used this after fitting two new radiators as system was slow to fill ,run for over two hours and left in overnight ,drained and refilled using no nonsense inhibitor so far system running ok only used to heat water so far but it does seem to be hotter,system certainly quieter. "
Review 2 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400 System Restorer
29 Apr 2015
By LancasterDIY
, Lancaster
" We had a serious problem with noise coming from the pump in our open vented CH system.
I used Sentinel restorer to give the system a really good cleaning and then took care to flush this out thoroughly.
I topped up with Sentinel 100 inhibitor and the results have been great.
The system can now run hotter than before increasing the efficiency of the rads and making the house much warmer.
I would recommend these products to all CH owners. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400 Sludge Remover
17 Apr 2015
By poshmartin
, Loughborough
" Have been having problems with some of my radiators not getting hot, put the liquid in and within minutes the problem was cured. Could not believe how quickly it worked. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!
7 Apr 2015
By Anonymous
, Brighton
" For the size of our ancient one pipe CH system, I had to buy two bottles...so a little pricey.
But what a difference! The boiler is a lot quieter, the water is a lot hotter and several of the radiators that were only ever luke warm are now hot.
We should have used it 10 years ago when we first moved in this property. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400 Works
4 Mar 2015
By Rossyboy
, Kent
" I bought this because our domestic hot water supply had been reduced to a trickle and I reckoned that the pipes from the hot storage tank were full of sludge and limescale. Having run the bottle into the tank and allowed it to do its job for an hour, I was amazed at the difference it made when I flushed the system through. Sentinel X400 really works and we've never had the hot water running so well in our house.
Thanks ScrewFix for selling such a thoroughly useful product!
"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cent intel heating cleaner
16 Jan 2015
By Johnnywhitepants
, Manchester
" Does the job !!!. And screwfix is open when others are not,stores in most towns friendly and helpful staff. "
Review 7 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
20 Dec 2014
By CatManDo
, Rutland
" Order this for central heating - Does what it is says, great "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400 C/H Cleanser.
10 Dec 2014
By Pessimist
, Pembrokeshire
" Bought (in conjunction with Sentinel X100) to clean a system that was old and sluggish and then add the Sentinel X100 to preserve any improvement in circulation,
The cleansing was dramatic, obviously, judging by the rapid heating up of radiators after just a couple of days and I intend running the cleanser for the remainder of the week and then draining down and filling up with the X100 rust inhibitor I bought at the same time.
If X400 will do this for an old 8mm micro bore system in a couple of days what will it do for larger bore piping ?
Thoroughly recommended. "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable brand name
23 Jul 2014
By Woody73
, Stoke-on-Trent
" Sentinel X400 is recommended by Potterton and many other boiler manufacturers, easy to use and suitable for all types of boiler and pipe work. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by plumber
2 May 2014
By PracticalLawyer
, Plymouth
" This sentinel 400 was recommended to me by the heating engineer who had come out to replace a broken boiler pump. I was advised that there was too much rubbish (he didn't actually use that word!) in my heating system.
It was simple to administer and I now look forward to it doing its job in sorting out my sludge! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Give it time
29 Sep 2013
By Rayzor
, Nottingham
" Left this product in systen for two weeks and it made a marked improvement to heating system. I gave cool spots in radiators a few taps with rubber mallet to help loosen sludge and after a week they had gone.When I flushed sytem out there was a good amount of black sludge came out. Just give it time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
De-sludged!
27 Apr 2013
By RIck100
, Nottingham
" We had a noisy boiler, Our plumber fitted a new pump and suggested we de-sludge. I am a bit sceptical about such things but thought I would give it a try and bought two bottles of X400. With trepidation, we drained some water off, poured it in and crossed our fingers. It's 3 weeks since we put it in and the system needs draining down again but it's worked a treat. It took a few days but the boiler is now unbelievably silent so I'll be following up with X100 & X200 to complete the job. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400
24 Jan 2013
By Deckindad
, Southall Middx
" I purchased this product to disolve a sludged microbore system which could not be powerflushed. I double dosed and found that the system during it's cleansing had already started to perform better. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for me
17 Dec 2012
By PigletJohn
, Hampshire
" It must vary according to the kind of water and sediment you have, but in my experience it is fantastic at loosening black iron oxide sludge from old open-vented systems. On one 30-year-old system I drained and gave it plain water flushes and fitted a Magnaclean first, and waited until the water appeared to be clear. I then added X400 and within days was getting enough sludge out to fill several jam-jars. I later converted it to fully-pumped and got a lot more out of the HW circuit that had not been dislodged by the gravity flow.
Radiators heated much more quickly and evenly, and the boiler was quieter - unsurprisingly when you see the amount of sludge that came out.
The boiler was still bonking due to limescale, and I subsequently added X200 which took some weeks to quieten it and wash away the hard limescale..
The customer who says he got little sludge out must have been lucky enough to have a relatively clean system. You can clean radiators more effectively if you close all but one so all the flow goes through that one to wash away the sediment. Then close that one, and open the next. This might take all day but I think improves the clean.
If you have a system filter, keep emptying it at least weekly at first. You will be able to see when there is little new sediment appearing, and reduce the frequency of emptying.
Very good price at Screwfix. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Definitely works given time
28 Mar 2012
By Markymarkmark
, Yorkshire
" We have a big 3 storey house with 18 radiators most of which are 20 years old. Simply added 2 containers of this to a partially drained system and allowed to circulate. It took 6 weeks over winter, running the system normally, for a change to be noticed in the poorly performing radiators. Drained the system completely after a few more days, flushed through for half an hour, filled and drained again, before adding 5l antifreeze/inhibitor plus one container of inhibitor and the difference is truly impressive. I have had to rebalance all the radiators since they were simply too hot upstairs and this has allowed the ground floor radiators to benefit from the balance of heat. We need the heating on for less time now and it is quieter and quicker to heat up. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one that works
3 Oct 2008
By leebee
, Biggin Hill
" Very easy to use, makes so much difference to the system, I dont get woken up with the boiler banging any more and the radiators are hotter. I had to turn the thermostat down too which will save me money. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cool stuff
18 Aug 2008
By harish
, london
" do not economise here as this product is no nonsense "
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked for me
31 May 2008
By Carnaby77
, Bristol
" My CH had suddenly gone from OK to 'something wrong' within a week. A few days later with everything else shut down I could just get a single downstairs radiator lukewarm after an hour. Clearly there was a major blockage somewhere - big plumber's bills loomed. Drained system and refilled using X400. It said it could take 4 weeks - after that period there was almost no improvement. Then suddenly after a couple more days there was a dramatic change. Left it in for another week then drained and flushed. The contents were jet black! After multiple flushings the water ran clear and I refilled with inhibitor. No big plumber's bill. "
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slight improvement
1 Mar 2012
By duncsuk
, BH21
" Although my system was not blocked, I decided it was due a clean, as it was ~5 years since last done and the boiler had started 'hissing' a bit.
Ran it for a couple of weeks in the system and although the water came out slightly dirty, I'm not convined this really helps clear the sludge in the bottom or radiators .. but would probably help clear a blocked system.
System does seem better for it .. and now has Sentinel X100 and X200 in it. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work for my system
9 Mar 2013
By Neilb1898
, South Yorkshire
" Hi I constantly have problems with sludge in my system in spite of using gallons of sentinel products throughout the last few years. I have power flushed the system 4 times in the last three years have fitted at least 4 pumps and as many Mid position valves, changed all the downstairs pipework to plastic the latest sequence of attempts was to power flush over 2 days using sentinel X800. This seemed to work well with the extra push provided by the power flush pump but as soon as I went back to the normal pump I was unable to get a proper flow once again I have now put in some X400 and still so far 3 days in the circulation is no better. So I have no confidence in any of the sentinel products, I always put inhibitor in and have had an Addey Magna clean filter in for all of the 3 years yet I still get pump & valve failures due to sludge.
Neil "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>