Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sentinel X400 System Restorer

Sentinel X400 System Restorer
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Review 1 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable brand name
23 Jul 2014
By
, Stoke-on-Trent
"Sentinel X400 is recommended by Potterton and many other boiler manufacturers, easy to use and suitable for all types of boiler and pipe work."
Review 2 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by plumber
2 May 2014
By
, Plymouth
"This sentinel 400 was recommended to me by the heating engineer who had come out to replace a broken boiler pump. I was advised that there was too much rubbish (he didn't actually use that word!) in my heating system.
It was simple to administer and I now look forward to it doing its job in sorting out my sludge!"
Review 3 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Give it time
29 Sep 2013
By
, Nottingham
"Left this product in systen for two weeks and it made a marked improvement to heating system. I gave cool spots in radiators a few taps with rubber mallet to help loosen sludge and after a week they had gone.When I flushed sytem out there was a good amount of black sludge came out. Just give it time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
De-sludged!
27 Apr 2013
By
, Nottingham
"We had a noisy boiler, Our plumber fitted a new pump and suggested we de-sludge. I am a bit sceptical about such things but thought I would give it a try and bought two bottles of X400. With trepidation, we drained some water off, poured it in and crossed our fingers. It's 3 weeks since we put it in and the system needs draining down again but it's worked a treat. It took a few days but the boiler is now unbelievably silent so I'll be following up with X100 & X200 to complete the job."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400
24 Jan 2013
By
, Southall Middx
"I purchased this product to disolve a sludged microbore system which could not be powerflushed. I double dosed and found that the system during it's cleansing had already started to perform better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for me
17 Dec 2012
By
, Hampshire
"It must vary according to the kind of water and sediment you have, but in my experience it is fantastic at loosening black iron oxide sludge from old open-vented systems. On one 30-year-old system I drained and gave it plain water flushes and fitted a Magnaclean first, and waited until the water appeared to be clear. I then added X400 and within days was getting enough sludge out to fill several jam-jars. I later converted it to fully-pumped and got a lot more out of the HW circuit that had not been dislodged by the gravity flow.
Radiators heated much more quickly and evenly, and the boiler was quieter - unsurprisingly when you see the amount of sludge that came out.
The boiler was still bonking due to limescale, and I subsequently added X200 which took some weeks to quieten it and wash away the hard limescale..
The customer who says he got little sludge out must have been lucky enough to have a relatively clean system. You can clean radiators more effectively if you close all but one so all the flow goes through that one to wash away the sediment. Then close that one, and open the next. This might take all day but I think improves the clean.
If you have a system filter, keep emptying it at least weekly at first. You will be able to see when there is little new sediment appearing, and reduce the frequency of emptying.
Very good price at Screwfix."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Definitely works given time
28 Mar 2012
By
, Yorkshire
"We have a big 3 storey house with 18 radiators most of which are 20 years old. Simply added 2 containers of this to a partially drained system and allowed to circulate. It took 6 weeks over winter, running the system normally, for a change to be noticed in the poorly performing radiators. Drained the system completely after a few more days, flushed through for half an hour, filled and drained again, before adding 5l antifreeze/inhibitor plus one container of inhibitor and the difference is truly impressive. I have had to rebalance all the radiators since they were simply too hot upstairs and this has allowed the ground floor radiators to benefit from the balance of heat. We need the heating on for less time now and it is quieter and quicker to heat up."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one that works
3 Oct 2008
By
, Biggin Hill
"Very easy to use, makes so much difference to the system, I dont get woken up with the boiler banging any more and the radiators are hotter. I had to turn the thermostat down too which will save me money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cool stuff
18 Aug 2008
By
, london
"do not economise here as this product is no nonsense"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked for me
31 May 2008
By
, Bristol
"My CH had suddenly gone from OK to 'something wrong' within a week. A few days later with everything else shut down I could just get a single downstairs radiator lukewarm after an hour. Clearly there was a major blockage somewhere - big plumber's bills loomed. Drained system and refilled using X400. It said it could take 4 weeks - after that period there was almost no improvement. Then suddenly after a couple more days there was a dramatic change. Left it in for another week then drained and flushed. The contents were jet black! After multiple flushings the water ran clear and I refilled with inhibitor. No big plumber's bill."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slight improvement
1 Mar 2012
By
, BH21
"Although my system was not blocked, I decided it was due a clean, as it was ~5 years since last done and the boiler had started 'hissing' a bit.
Ran it for a couple of weeks in the system and although the water came out slightly dirty, I'm not convined this really helps clear the sludge in the bottom or radiators .. but would probably help clear a blocked system.
System does seem better for it .. and now has Sentinel X100 and X200 in it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work for my system
9 Mar 2013
By
, South Yorkshire
"Hi I constantly have problems with sludge in my system in spite of using gallons of sentinel products throughout the last few years. I have power flushed the system 4 times in the last three years have fitted at least 4 pumps and as many Mid position valves, changed all the downstairs pipework to plastic the latest sequence of attempts was to power flush over 2 days using sentinel X800. This seemed to work well with the extra push provided by the power flush pump but as soon as I went back to the normal pump I was unable to get a proper flow once again I have now put in some X400 and still so far 3 days in the circulation is no better. So I have no confidence in any of the sentinel products, I always put inhibitor in and have had an Addey Magna clean filter in for all of the 3 years yet I still get pump & valve failures due to sludge.
Neil"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sentinel X400
26 Nov 2010
By
, Chchester
"I put this product into my central heating system and left it for the advised 28 days. I cleaned out system before re filling with Sentinel X400.
After 28 days I drained it all down and guess what? the water that came out was virtually clear!
My advice, dont waste your money on this product, it doesnt work.
My radiators are hotter than they were but are still cold at the bottom meaning the sludge is still in there.
Any increase in performance is probably down to the water flushing and the inhibitor I used FERNOX MB1"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.