Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sentinel X400 System Restorer

Sentinel X400 System Restorer
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
23 of 25(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Review 1 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
central heating cleaner
31 Jan 2016
By
, glasgow
" Used this on system with micropore and 15mm pipes. Works well no more cold spots in any radiators. Easy to add, drained some water off to de-pressurise added contents to radiator via plug. Re-pressurised system and let it do its thing. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for old systems
13 Jan 2016
By
, North Essex
" I have an 8mm microbore system that was installed in 1979. Despite having been power flushed in the last 2 years, the system really isn't working that well. I know several rads don't even warm up. I know that there are blockages too. We live in a very hard water area.
Having added X400 in to the system and left to run for 2 days, Radiatprs that haven't worked now do. The hot water system is hotter, in fact, all the rads in the house are much hotter.
The X400 was added to an empty rad and left to run through the system. As per the instructions/advice all rads were left fully open and the system was heated up.
After 48 hours the difference can be felt. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sentinel X 400
23 Nov 2015
By
, Dover
" Had a few issues with the central heating I was recommended this product so followed the instructions all the rubbish that came out of the system was quite shocking finished the job and now all working great, "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Central Heating System Cleaner
30 Sep 2015
By
, Southampton
" If you are restoring an older CH system, this is THE cleaner to use. It loosens sludge, rust and general dirt. Leave it for up to 2 weeks then flush with clean water and add inhibitor. "
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sentinel Ultimate Cleaner
10 Jul 2015
By
, Sheffield
" Used this after fitting two new radiators as system was slow to fill ,run for over two hours and left in overnight ,drained and refilled using no nonsense inhibitor so far system running ok only used to heat water so far but it does seem to be hotter,system certainly quieter. "
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400 System Restorer
29 Apr 2015
By
, Lancaster
" We had a serious problem with noise coming from the pump in our open vented CH system.
I used Sentinel restorer to give the system a really good cleaning and then took care to flush this out thoroughly.
I topped up with Sentinel 100 inhibitor and the results have been great.
The system can now run hotter than before increasing the efficiency of the rads and making the house much warmer.
I would recommend these products to all CH owners. "
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400 Sludge Remover
17 Apr 2015
By
, Loughborough
" Have been having problems with some of my radiators not getting hot, put the liquid in and within minutes the problem was cured. Could not believe how quickly it worked. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant!
7 Apr 2015
By
, Brighton
" For the size of our ancient one pipe CH system, I had to buy two bottles...so a little pricey.
But what a difference! The boiler is a lot quieter, the water is a lot hotter and several of the radiators that were only ever luke warm are now hot.
We should have used it 10 years ago when we first moved in this property. "
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400 Works
4 Mar 2015
By
, Kent
" I bought this because our domestic hot water supply had been reduced to a trickle and I reckoned that the pipes from the hot storage tank were full of sludge and limescale. Having run the bottle into the tank and allowed it to do its job for an hour, I was amazed at the difference it made when I flushed the system through. Sentinel X400 really works and we've never had the hot water running so well in our house.
Thanks ScrewFix for selling such a thoroughly useful product!
"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cent intel heating cleaner
16 Jan 2015
By
, Manchester
" Does the job !!!. And screwfix is open when others are not,stores in most towns friendly and helpful staff. "
Review 11 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
20 Dec 2014
By
, Rutland
" Order this for central heating - Does what it is says, great "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400 C/H Cleanser.
10 Dec 2014
By
, Pembrokeshire
" Bought (in conjunction with Sentinel X100) to clean a system that was old and sluggish and then add the Sentinel X100 to preserve any improvement in circulation,
The cleansing was dramatic, obviously, judging by the rapid heating up of radiators after just a couple of days and I intend running the cleanser for the remainder of the week and then draining down and filling up with the X100 rust inhibitor I bought at the same time.
If X400 will do this for an old 8mm micro bore system in a couple of days what will it do for larger bore piping ?
Thoroughly recommended. "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable brand name
23 Jul 2014
By
, Stoke-on-Trent
" Sentinel X400 is recommended by Potterton and many other boiler manufacturers, easy to use and suitable for all types of boiler and pipe work. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by plumber
2 May 2014
By
, Plymouth
" This sentinel 400 was recommended to me by the heating engineer who had come out to replace a broken boiler pump. I was advised that there was too much rubbish (he didn't actually use that word!) in my heating system.
It was simple to administer and I now look forward to it doing its job in sorting out my sludge! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Give it time
29 Sep 2013
By
, Nottingham
" Left this product in systen for two weeks and it made a marked improvement to heating system. I gave cool spots in radiators a few taps with rubber mallet to help loosen sludge and after a week they had gone.When I flushed sytem out there was a good amount of black sludge came out. Just give it time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
De-sludged!
27 Apr 2013
By
, Nottingham
" We had a noisy boiler, Our plumber fitted a new pump and suggested we de-sludge. I am a bit sceptical about such things but thought I would give it a try and bought two bottles of X400. With trepidation, we drained some water off, poured it in and crossed our fingers. It's 3 weeks since we put it in and the system needs draining down again but it's worked a treat. It took a few days but the boiler is now unbelievably silent so I'll be following up with X100 & X200 to complete the job. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sentinel X400
24 Jan 2013
By
, Southall Middx
" I purchased this product to disolve a sludged microbore system which could not be powerflushed. I double dosed and found that the system during it's cleansing had already started to perform better. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for me
17 Dec 2012
By
, Hampshire
" It must vary according to the kind of water and sediment you have, but in my experience it is fantastic at loosening black iron oxide sludge from old open-vented systems. On one 30-year-old system I drained and gave it plain water flushes and fitted a Magnaclean first, and waited until the water appeared to be clear. I then added X400 and within days was getting enough sludge out to fill several jam-jars. I later converted it to fully-pumped and got a lot more out of the HW circuit that had not been dislodged by the gravity flow.
Radiators heated much more quickly and evenly, and the boiler was quieter - unsurprisingly when you see the amount of sludge that came out.
The boiler was still bonking due to limescale, and I subsequently added X200 which took some weeks to quieten it and wash away the hard limescale..
The customer who says he got little sludge out must have been lucky enough to have a relatively clean system. You can clean radiators more effectively if you close all but one so all the flow goes through that one to wash away the sediment. Then close that one, and open the next. This might take all day but I think improves the clean.
If you have a system filter, keep emptying it at least weekly at first. You will be able to see when there is little new sediment appearing, and reduce the frequency of emptying.
Very good price at Screwfix. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Definitely works given time
28 Mar 2012
By
, Yorkshire
" We have a big 3 storey house with 18 radiators most of which are 20 years old. Simply added 2 containers of this to a partially drained system and allowed to circulate. It took 6 weeks over winter, running the system normally, for a change to be noticed in the poorly performing radiators. Drained the system completely after a few more days, flushed through for half an hour, filled and drained again, before adding 5l antifreeze/inhibitor plus one container of inhibitor and the difference is truly impressive. I have had to rebalance all the radiators since they were simply too hot upstairs and this has allowed the ground floor radiators to benefit from the balance of heat. We need the heating on for less time now and it is quieter and quicker to heat up. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sentinel X400 System Restorer 1Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one that works
3 Oct 2008
By
, Biggin Hill
" Very easy to use, makes so much difference to the system, I dont get woken up with the boiler banging any more and the radiators are hotter. I had to turn the thermostat down too which will save me money. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>