Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit 5.5mm

Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit 5.5mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.47 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
90 of 100(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Review 1 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best metal drill bit around
28 May 2011
By
, Bishops Stortford
" Very well made, strong and everlasting. Gives accurate and fast clean cut. Excellent waste removal "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent drill
5 Feb 2016
By
, Bristol
" I killed three different drill bits drilling holes in scaffold tubes. I read the other reviews on here and wanted to give it a try with this one.
Brilliant - job done, drill bit still perfect.
DeWalt drill bits for me all the way now.
"
Review 3 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed!
30 Jan 2016
By
, Manchester
" Bought a couple of cheap drill HSS drill bits, not from Screwfix, and they went blunt after a couple of uses drilling through only a couple of mm of metal. Following the advice of people writing these reviews I used 3 in 1 oil to keep the bit cool and took it steady when drilling, not adding too much pressure and it works a treat! Have been able to drill several holes so far and still going strong. The extra cost of the drill bit is well worth it. "
Review 4 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good
30 Jan 2016
By
, East Yorkshire
" Good drill bit at good price. Good few holes drilled now and still appears sharp enough to do the job "
Review 5 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dewalt drill bits.
2 Jan 2016
By
, Doncaster
" I bought 2 Dewalt drill bits, a 5mm & 6mm for drilling into 3mm metal, I have just got to say how fantastic these drill bits are for the money, they didn't skid of the metal at all. I would recommend anyone wanting to drill through metal with ease to use them. They are a stock item too which was a bonus. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but I am very, very pleased with the outcome & will certainly buy again. "
Review 6 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great quality drill bit
17 Dec 2015
By
, st. albans
" I've been using these bits for years, i bought the multipack originally and now just keep topping up what i need as I go along. they are expensive but they are a rare thing, HSS drill bits that actually work through any thickness metal and stay sharp for a decent length of time "
Review 7 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great quality drill bit
17 Dec 2015
By
, st. albans
" I've been using these bits for years, i bought the multipack originally and now just keep topping up what i need as I go along. they are expensive but they are a rare thing, HSS drill bits that actually work through any thickness metal and stay sharp for a decent length of time "
Review 8 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Quality Drill Bit
11 Dec 2015
By
, Northampton
" Wonderful drill dit. Used to hang blinds. Went through 4 HSS bits trying to get through steel lintel over bay window. Wish I had purchased this earlier. Went through steel within seconds with little to no effort. Great drill bit and highly recommend to whole Extreme 2 HSS range! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good product
10 Nov 2015
By
, Hastings
" I bought a set of these drills in smaller sizes by mistake and I am so glad I did. When I came back for larger 8mm & 10mm sizes I knew that I wanted this unusual centre tip design.
Has drilled through various metal sheet and beams with accuracy and ease.
"
Review 10 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These really work!
10 Nov 2015
By
, Hastings
" I bought a set of these drills in smaller sizes by mistake and I am so glad I did. When I came back for larger 8mm & 10mm sizes I knew that I wanted this unusual centre tip design.
Has drilled through various metal sheet and beams with accuracy and ease.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Drill
19 Oct 2015
By
, Shropshire
" Well priced and quality Drill.
Acurate and clean cut to holes. Waste is removed quickly.
"
Review 12 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill bit
7 Oct 2015
By
, Taunton
" Task: remove 1 very stuck cotter pin
Step1: After no luck with hammering, pressing etc. had to resort to
Step 2: Drill. After about 1 hour & 3 drill bits blunt\broken, retired to bed a frustrated man
Step 3: Collected this bit next morning. 10 minutes after getting home job done. Really gave this bit a hard time, but its back in the tool box now & looks as fresh as new!
So pleased with this bit I felt inspired to write a review & will be purchasing a set.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Drill Bit
3 Oct 2015
By
, Sutton Coldfield
" I've not used this on anything really tough yet but so far quick, clean effortless drilling. I like the unusual tip which does seem to work and give more accurate results. Very tempted to get a full set of these now. "
Review 14 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality HSS drill bit
15 Sep 2015
By
, Gloucester
" Unique design of these bits looks a little odd, but really performs well with no slip or walking. They start to drill on contact.
Have given a 10mm a good deal of stick on a canopy project, yet it shows no signs of wear.
Not cheap, but clearly durable and highly efficiently.
I'm so impressed I'll be getting a full set! "
Review 15 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Tough Drill Bit
13 Sep 2015
By
, Sandhurst
" My father always told me to buy the best tools I could afford - I bought cheap HSS bits to drill out some 8mm bolts and wasted my money. This bit drilled out all 6 bolts with ease and still looks new. Job done and lesson learnt. "
Review 16 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quite a bit better bit.
25 Aug 2015
By
, Cardiff
" I'm just an occasional DIYer so my tools don't get heavy use. I usually buy cheap sets of HSS drill bits but needed to drill some angle iron and my 10mm bit was ruined.
This one was impressive. Clean holes, drilled quickly, exactly where I wanted them (it didn't wander about as I started). The bit still looks like new.
The tip is an unusual shape so the effect is a bit like drilling a small pilot hole and following up with a larger bit. Probably not for people who sharpen their own drill bits. "
Review 17 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use the best drills
25 Jul 2015
By
, Essex
" Do not waist your time with cheep drills, These drills will last longer and get the work done in half the speed, buy the best and you get the best results
regards
PFG
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bit
3 Jun 2015
By
, Chester
" This bit was better than expected. It is HSS ground and made in Germany unlike other bits I could mention. Used with cutting fluid these breezed through stainless steel 3mm. I have done 30 holes so far and still looks new. No wandering and cut immediately. I usually use Heller or Gurhing but needed to complete a job quickly. Excellent substitute will go for the 10mm and see how it performs. "
Review 19 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazingly Great Drill
22 May 2015
By
, Worcester
" Really chuffed with this drill, was dreading all the drilling at this diameter into thick CS Angle. Went through very, very easily. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DeWalt 5.5mm Extreme 2 HSS Drill Bit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good
19 May 2015
By
, Somerset
" If you are looking for a good drill bit this is the best by far cheaper bits won't last. this bit is strong and will go a long way if looked after "
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 next>