Product Reviews

Ring Gate Latch Black

Ring Gate Latch Black
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
3 of 10(30%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Review 1 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suffolk Gate Latch
29 May 2015
By jimsouthstand
, Newtownabbey
" Latch is of a heavy gauge, well manufactured and great value for money. Paint job on mine is superb and definitely recommend this! "
Review 2 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks good
22 Jul 2014
By Bythecanal
, North Wales
" This is well made and does its job very neatly. Easy to install and looks good. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well made
14 Jun 2015
By woodtype
, Wallington
" Well made and easy to fit. Not failed yet but should last, no parts under strain "
Review 4 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Expensive and poor quality
8 Aug 2015
By JimmyTheTrumpet
, Suffolk
" Purchased this last week and before I had even fitted it I started to get the impression it isn't going to last. I bought it in store from the catalogue so didn't have the benefit of the reviews which are usually a good way to gauge the quality of a product.
The paint chips easily, the handle was very stiff, it doesn't line up very well, and it feels of very low quality. "
Review 5 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
10 Jan 2015
By DougyS
, Worcester
" The axle was too short, the internal shaft was un-fettled preventing the axle from seating properly. Within one week the latch keeper failed, the internal circlips failed, it started to go rusty. The turning became very sloppy very quickly and eventually failed with 2 weeks!!!! WE SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR THE BLASEN TIME WASTING FROM SELLING US THIS USELESS PRODUCT.
When I returned it the guy stood at the till next me said the same thing happened to the one he'd recently bought. The reviewer 'Bythecanal' is obviously very lucky! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Circlip on handle too frail.
22 Jun 2014
By Ray26M
, Wallingford
" This gate latch is a nice enough looking latch but the issue for me is that the circlip which holds the rear handle in place breaks too easily. When that circlip breaks, the handle comes off and no-one seems to sell circlips that suit (but then why should you keep having to replace it?). "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor quality
16 Nov 2013
By Lacstermac
, Inverness
" Fitted this product and it fell apart the next day. I took the part back and another part broke. I've got a replacement part for this but I think I will take the whole thing back next time I visit the store and go for the heavy duty latch. Sick of going backwards and forwards. "
Review 8 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfit for purpose - replaced
8 Nov 2013
By Rog69
, East Devon
" When I came to fit this item, I found the square section spindle only just reached the handles at either end and was very crudely cut to length. That would have been acceptable had the square holes in the handles not been so roughly formed, they had only 2mm of contacting depth. Result; when I turned the handle, it would not lift the latch. I replaced it with what is obviously the original design Screwfix's Far East-manufactured version is based upon. This was of heavier gauge metal, had deep, cleanly formed square holes and a spindle which could be cut to length. Otherwise, it looks exactly the same. I bought the replacement from my local independent ironmonger for almost £1.00 less than Screwfix's inferior version. To be fair, Screwfix gave me my money back immediately, but that did not compensate me for the wasted time and mileage. Neither did it reinforce Screwfix's claim on their receipt,"We will not be beaten on price". "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Low quality product
17 Jul 2011
By Scruffymid
, Wolverhampton
" Very Low quality product.
Not fell apart yet, but very sloppy in operation (almost unuseable) and the black poder coating is microns thick and fades quickly.
Needs a coat of smoothrite and a bigger internal bar. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring Gate Latch Black 152mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor quality gate latch
19 Jun 2011
By wizzawozza
, Billericay
" I was disappointed with this product as it fell apart in less than 2 weeks. the latch bar came off the handle and the latch bar retainer broke too. the square spindle is also smaller that the handle backs so when it went on it was already sloppy to operate. Waste of my time too taking it back... "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.