Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Yale uPVC Door Lock 35mm

Yale uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Review 1 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a life saver!
8 Feb 2015
By kitchensandthings
, Sussex
" I'm a bit selfish as I often benefit from reviews but don't write them very often.
However I had to write one for this product. I have a 20+ year old Anglian front door and I knew the lock was on it's last legs. I tried in vain the other day to get a few more months life out of it and the lock broke internally whilst I was outside trying to fix it.
Short version is I found this kit and was expecting it to not fit my door as it so old. It actually worked perfectly and was easy to fit and has saved me the expense of a new door which is what I had resigned myself to months ago.
It is also so much more secure than the mechanism it replaced. Despite locking myself out when the old mechanism broke it was all too easy to break in with a small crow bar. That was with both the top and bottom bolts in the secure position as well.
The new mechanism has mushroom bolts and roller cams top an bottom and a hook in the middle. Plus of course the latch and standard deadbolt with it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
replacement mech
4 Feb 2015
By bazlock
, Nottingham
" This is a great lock mechanism. Ideal replacement for a broken/damaged system. Easily fitted and quick to re-elign. Always a good reliable company manufacturer. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NEW LOCK IN 5 MINUTES
19 Dec 2014
By KKDIY
, KINGDOM OF FIFE
" Fantastic universal lock - easy fit, recommended for lock replacement.
was in stock locally & saved me any time without front door lock that i broke key in.
"
Review 4 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
18 Oct 2014
By maverik1911
, LLanelli
" Don't waste time trying to dismantel the lock,it's a nightmare trust me!Got the kit from Screwfix,easy to re-fit,Simple's "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
16 Aug 2014
By Oldbiker3679
, Banbury
" After buying a new house we were told the lock on front door was broken. I went on line to find a replacement for the lock, what a nightmare. Different sizes and makes.
I then came across this in Srewfix what a lifesaver. Picked it up from local store and within a couple of hours front door was fixed, easy to install, clear instructions, what a product. Thank you Screwfix
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good replacement
27 Jun 2014
By murdz26
, Nottingham
" I purchased this to replace a broken door lock. Very easy to fit, nice clear instructions. Worth every penny. "
Review 7 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional bargain lock
5 Jun 2014
By Weeman1
, Reading
" Brought this product after seeing it in their book ideal as my security lock had broken and I needed one fast , it was extremely easy to fit and the security feature is sturdier and better than my original ,I would definitely recommend this product. "
Review 8 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saved the day
24 Apr 2014
By Skip21
, Stafford
" Having just been quoted £150 - £250 to replace my door lock that failed, and being told I'd have to wait till the following day to have it done, I found this and did it myself.
I reserved it on line and collected it within a few minuets as it was in stock.
It was surprisingly easy to fit, and took about an hour.
Job done saved around £100 maybe more. Thanks screwfix.
"
Review 9 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yale door lock
5 Jan 2014
By mitchcanfixit
, leicester
" a very good product easy to fit .the measurements are standard 35mm x 92mm
just followed instructions. kit needed was a pozi screwdriver.drill .tape measure . took just under an hour to fit ..
"
Review 10 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
replacement pcvu door lock
25 Oct 2012
By xxxooobbberuod
, tilbury
" My own lock broke up whilst trying to fit a new barrel.
At 6pm where was I going to find something to secure my door for the night.
Scewfix had a direct replacement and was open.
The staff was very helpful in matching my old lock and hey, 1 hour later it was like having a new door, much better that the original lock.
well done screwfix once again
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy lock to install
18 Oct 2014
By forgemaster
, Oxfordshire
" This was installed as a replacement lock as the original despite oiling was very stiff and unreliable. By reading the instructions first and following the step by step guide the job was completed in an hour and a half,this includes stopping for tea!.Would recomend you do it in daylight. "
Review 12 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good replacement
19 Sep 2014
By GeoffreyP
, Kent
" Easy to fit replacement lock, most of the time was spent doing adjustments to make it smooth in operation. Grub bolts were a little on the short side, a few mm longer would make them a little easier to use. I've only given three stars for reliability, as it hasn't had a good work out yet... "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saved me replacing a door
31 Jul 2014
By SleepyJoe
, Wolverhampton
" If, like me, you have a uPVC door out of guarantee and the locking mechanism breaks then this is the best way of fixing it and saving money.
The backset, is the distance between the edge of the door body (ignore the sealing overlap) and the lock location.
You even retain the old lock barrel, so no need to change what's on your key ring or get more keys cut.
The kit contains everything needed other than a posidrive screwdriver.
For me no cutting of the door, nor the frame, was needed. The instructions were clear and in total it took me about 2 hours to fit, much of which was be double checking the instructions and final adjustments to ensure that the door closed snugly. "
Review 14 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Replacement door lock
12 Jan 2013
By L7Computers
, Uxbridge
" The existing door lock mechanism failed... was getting quoted £140-£240 for a replacement that might take several days to get... googled the product.. Screwfix appeared on the screen, and they actually had one (£70) in stock at my local branch (has to be said that that was unusual), but the staff were very helpful and allowed me to compare the original to the new. Only challenge was to make 2 minor adjustments to the new part, but now I have a secure door for a fraction of the price i was quoted from elsewhere, so I felt the need to write the review. Thanks Screwfix and the young lady in the West Drayton Branch today. Job Done! "
Review 15 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Check handle type first...
6 Jan 2015
By CaveDweller
, Cambridge
" Opened pack once home only to read instructions and find that I need to buy new door handles as well! Note that if your existing door has separate spindles for inside and outside handles, you will not retain this feature when fitting this lock.
Also, the Uni-bracket feature on the keep was no good for my frame - had to spend half an hour with powerfile removing plastic to get the keep to fit, and had to remove all Uni-bracket parts.
Alignment was fairly straight forward, after all the above.
"