Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Yale uPVC Door Lock 35mm

Yale uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Review 1 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
4 Jan 2016
By
, London
" Good product, surprisingly easy to fit. I did have to adjust the opening for the main body of the lock slightly, but other than that it was very straight forward. I have only just fitted the lock so it is too early to comment on reliability but so far would definitely recommend this product. "
Review 2 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Universal upvc yale lock
13 Nov 2015
By
, Wrexham
" Excellent quality straight out the box and fitted with just a few minor adjustments to my door.
You don't need a PHD in mechanical theory to fit it, but knowing what end to use on a screwdriver helps a lot.
Simple to follow instructions are included as were all fitting screws etc.
Mechanism a little tight on initial install.
Slightly expensive, but not in comparison to tracking down spares and purchasing them.
Recommended for Mr Diy to secure a upvc door.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well designed and made product
30 Aug 2015
By
, Hornchurch
" I needed to replace the gearbox on my UPVc door but finding a replacement to fit the existing sliding connectors was near impossible so decided to go for a complete replacement lock. This is designed to replace existing locks and beautifully covers up old the old holes on door and frame with no tell tale signs. The lock dropped straight after minor adjustment with a drummer for the gearbox. I used the packing strips provided to file old claw holes and the swing out eyelets provided additional secure points. The keep lined up easily with a single datum line and was easy to secure although the adjustable brackets and grub screws didn't add much value and I removed them for a cleaner look. It otherwise secured fine.
Adjusting the door and looks took most of the time in fitting. As the rollers, catch and claw all line up vertically okay if your datum line is correct, it was their horizontal position that need adjusting using an Allen key on the door hinges. The keep catches were fine in line with the frame and shouldn't need adjusting - Tip: check the door first before adjusting the lock as it's precision made to fit itself.
I was hesitant about doing this as a DIY'er but it's beautifully made, fits over existing holes, has a nice stainless steel finish and the keep looks part of the door frame. Finally, it's a got a split spindle so fit 2 short spindles to ensure your outside handle cannot open the door (i.e key only). This will save you needing a key on the inside to lock during the day. "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Replacement Lock
5 May 2015
By
, Sunderland
" Old lock jammed, had to drill it out, this lock is far superior to the original, was easy to fit if you follow the well illustrated instructions, well pleased "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, highly impressed
13 Apr 2015
By
, Chester
" As above, I wouldnt say it takes five minutes took me an hour or so... Great quality. Minimal tools required I may just have been luckily tho.
Instructions are very well guided, I had to file away some of the door plastic on the exciting door hole to make the new piece fit ( the piece where the lock goes) but other than that went in well.
Box from screw fix was abit battered but product perfect and new.
Tip tho......... When you replace the strip on the frame not the door, I put my new where the old went and it left a small gap when the door was fully locked, enough for a draft and noise to get through. Just screw the top, bottom and middle first and test before putting all the screws in make sure it's nice and tight but not stiff.
Also some of the tiny screws ( Allen key ones ) will stop the door closing when testing I never needed them so never used them as sometimes you don't, it's in the instructions.
Hope this helps, highly recommended would do all my doors front and back but abit costly, changed because I had too other one broke. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great unit.
31 Mar 2015
By
, Slough
" Old lock broke so replaced with this unit. Easy to fit even if you have basic DIY skills. Markings on the unit helps with the installation. "
Review 7 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a life saver!
8 Feb 2015
By
, Sussex
" I'm a bit selfish as I often benefit from reviews but don't write them very often.
However I had to write one for this product. I have a 20+ year old Anglian front door and I knew the lock was on it's last legs. I tried in vain the other day to get a few more months life out of it and the lock broke internally whilst I was outside trying to fix it.
Short version is I found this kit and was expecting it to not fit my door as it so old. It actually worked perfectly and was easy to fit and has saved me the expense of a new door which is what I had resigned myself to months ago.
It is also so much more secure than the mechanism it replaced. Despite locking myself out when the old mechanism broke it was all too easy to break in with a small crow bar. That was with both the top and bottom bolts in the secure position as well.
The new mechanism has mushroom bolts and roller cams top an bottom and a hook in the middle. Plus of course the latch and standard deadbolt with it. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
replacement mech
4 Feb 2015
By
, Nottingham
" This is a great lock mechanism. Ideal replacement for a broken/damaged system. Easily fitted and quick to re-elign. Always a good reliable company manufacturer. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NEW LOCK IN 5 MINUTES
19 Dec 2014
By
, KINGDOM OF FIFE
" Fantastic universal lock - easy fit, recommended for lock replacement.
was in stock locally & saved me any time without front door lock that i broke key in.
"
Review 10 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
18 Oct 2014
By
, LLanelli
" Don't waste time trying to dismantel the lock,it's a nightmare trust me!Got the kit from Screwfix,easy to re-fit,Simple's "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
16 Aug 2014
By
, Banbury
" After buying a new house we were told the lock on front door was broken. I went on line to find a replacement for the lock, what a nightmare. Different sizes and makes.
I then came across this in Srewfix what a lifesaver. Picked it up from local store and within a couple of hours front door was fixed, easy to install, clear instructions, what a product. Thank you Screwfix
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good replacement
27 Jun 2014
By
, Nottingham
" I purchased this to replace a broken door lock. Very easy to fit, nice clear instructions. Worth every penny. "
Review 13 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional bargain lock
5 Jun 2014
By
, Reading
" Brought this product after seeing it in their book ideal as my security lock had broken and I needed one fast , it was extremely easy to fit and the security feature is sturdier and better than my original ,I would definitely recommend this product. "
Review 14 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saved the day
24 Apr 2014
By
, Stafford
" Having just been quoted £150 - £250 to replace my door lock that failed, and being told I'd have to wait till the following day to have it done, I found this and did it myself.
I reserved it on line and collected it within a few minuets as it was in stock.
It was surprisingly easy to fit, and took about an hour.
Job done saved around £100 maybe more. Thanks screwfix.
"
Review 15 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yale door lock
5 Jan 2014
By
, leicester
" a very good product easy to fit .the measurements are standard 35mm x 92mm
just followed instructions. kit needed was a pozi screwdriver.drill .tape measure . took just under an hour to fit ..
"
Review 16 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
replacement pcvu door lock
25 Oct 2012
By
, tilbury
" My own lock broke up whilst trying to fit a new barrel.
At 6pm where was I going to find something to secure my door for the night.
Scewfix had a direct replacement and was open.
The staff was very helpful in matching my old lock and hey, 1 hour later it was like having a new door, much better that the original lock.
well done screwfix once again
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Universal replacement lock.
10 Nov 2015
By
, Surrey
" As the instructions say, read carefully and proceed slowly, however the fault with my door is there is no keeper slot for a hook and I had to get help to drill and file a slot through the steel of the door frame.
After that plain sailing, but must have spent 6 hours before finishing, still it was managed as a DIY, so success.
"
Review 18 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy fit!
18 Aug 2015
By
, reading
" this came ready to put straight in place, was an easy fit with only a couple of small adjustments to door. "
Review 19 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy lock to install
18 Oct 2014
By
, Oxfordshire
" This was installed as a replacement lock as the original despite oiling was very stiff and unreliable. By reading the instructions first and following the step by step guide the job was completed in an hour and a half,this includes stopping for tea!.Would recomend you do it in daylight. "
Review 20 for Yale Universal Replacement uPVC Door Lock 35mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good replacement
19 Sep 2014
By
, Kent
" Easy to fit replacement lock, most of the time was spent doing adjustments to make it smooth in operation. Grub bolts were a little on the short side, a few mm longer would make them a little easier to use. I've only given three stars for reliability, as it hasn't had a good work out yet... "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>