Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Cuprinol Power Sprayer

Cuprinol Power Sprayer
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
5 of 14(36%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Review 1 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great to Spray
15 Sep 2011
By PaulQ
, North Wales
" Needed a second unit and amazed to find these available at Screwfix at very good price AND with free delivery next day.
It arrived as promised next day and was "as it says on the tin"
The units gives good results with the Cuprinol Sprayable fence products and at the price from Screwfix it represents a very good bargain.
"
Review 2 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cuprinol power sprayer
1 Apr 2009
By fabaroony
, nr thetford
" well i have splashed out £75 on the power sprayer and 5 'bottles' of the paint (my sister got an employee discount hence the price) and i am sooooo glad i did. although the sprayer itself is a bit slow to set up - you have to run water through it first before you start painting, it's well worth the effort. each bottle covered 5 6x6 wayney lap fence panels one 1 side and gave very good coverage with no need for a 2nd coat. only problem i stumbled upon was when the paint ran out after the first 5 panels i then had to flush the sprayer through with water because it had an airlock and wouldn't work, i learnt my lesson from this and then topped up the sprayer after every 4th panel. it is also VERY messy when cleaning it out. overall a great product that i personally would recommend if you have a large area to paint (today i've done 20 panels and i have another 40 to do. if you don't have such a large area to paint then i would suggest you stick to brushes it's probably easier and much cleaner) and something else i just remembered was you have to constantly hold down the button for it to spray and trust me this really starts to hurt after a few panels. battery lasted for 10 panels then takes 1 1/4 hour to recharge which is handy as after 10 panels you kind of need a rest anyway. "
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just as advertised
9 Mar 2009
By ooopsadaisey
, Dorset
" Sprayer worked as advertised. Do note there is an initial lag after 1st squeezing trigger (as it says in instructions) "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product
22 Apr 2009
By Barny
, Midlands
" I was a bit worried by some of the bad reviews but I went ahead anyway. Here's what happened.
I got home from work at 530 and I had the whole job finished by 830. That's getting changed, getting the sprayer set up (assembled and pump primed with water) spraying 18 panels, dismantling the sprayer and getting it all cleaned up and put away.
It even includes a gap of 45 mins in the middle to recharge the battery - although I spent the time painting the tops of the panels with a brush. The Cuprinol video shows holding a peice of cardboard behind the fence but that looks like hard work and a waste of paint.
If you're one of the people who wrote a bad review, you probably didn't follow the guidance - I blame pilot error.
It's true it uses a lot of paint, but I found it used less than it said on the container. I used 15 litres for 18 panels, about 6 of which were weathered to grey and so took more paint. If you ran out of paint quicker than you expected, try reading the tin!
Top tips:
Watch the video on the Cuprinol website - what man ever reads the instructions!
Keep the tank topped up - it's the best way to avoid airlocks.
Hold the lance below the level of the sprayer when you're getting it started.
Pick a nice day - you're going to want to sit back and admire your handiwork!
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my best buy for 2years
30 Jul 2008
By Happy
, Hemstead Norfolk
" I have used it for weed control, its so much easeier to spray because its no pumping, but would be better if it could hold a little more liquid. For panel spraying it is excellent. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not rechargable
20 Jul 2014
By Badman2
, Milton keynes
" Super value for money but this product is not the rechargable model and has individual 1.5v batteries instead of the 12v rechargable one..
However saying that the unit was quickly returned and payment refunded so service was 5 stars "
Review 7 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Old Model
12 Nov 2012
By sidsan
, Manchester
" I prefered this older model because I had a spare battery from my defunct one, I suspect as is commo with all sprayers difficult to prvent blocking and the spray is expensive compared to the brush on. "
Review 8 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible toy
6 Apr 2013
By Paint490
, Taunton
" This sprayer is hopeless, it will leak from the nozzle both wasting paint and spilling it everywhere, it's painfully slow to use, it really isn't a fast way of painting at all, I guarantee you will have a paint brush out when using it, please don't waste your money on such a terrible toy "
Review 9 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money
23 Mar 2011
By Anonymous
, Oxfordshire
" Whilst the sprayer is very powerful and does cover a vast amount of woodwork in a fraction of the time it would take using a brush - I found that it had several major drawbacks that Cuprinol need to get sorted.
1. There is an enormous amount of collateral mess caused - I treated by garden shed which sits on a concrete base -and had to use dustsheets around the bottom - I kid you not - dustsheets in the garden!
2. The sprayable product itself was thick and I noticed what I thought were clots of the stuff when pouring it into the sprayer. This was confirmed whent he thing became clogged up after about 2 panels worth (and this from a brand new tub of liquid just opened)
3. Next use with a freshly opened tub - I strained the liquid before putting it in the sprayer (and yet there were clots) - the thing still clogs up whilst its being used - the liquid actually starts to dry whilst its in the sprayer tank.
I used 10 litres of liquid (2x tubs and spent more time cleaning clots out of the machine than actually spraying.
Conclusion - complete waste of money - wish I'd tried the Ronseal hand pump - its cheaper!
"
Review 10 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
completely usless
16 Jul 2010
By stewartyboy
, glasgow
" Im so annoyed twice ive tried to use this machine and found it hopeless spray nozzle drips constantly paint lays on to thick you have to work really fast to try and get a decent finish dont waste your money on this mines is heading for the bin. "
Review 11 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WASTE OF MONEY
12 Jun 2010
By Khalij
, Glenrothes, Fife
" This spray worked for less than 15 minutes and then stopped spraying. As it was still partially full of paint it was messy to empty and, because it no longer pumped, impossible to clean.
I have only put one star because of the software, it should have been zero.
A complete waste of money. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not perform as stated.
13 Apr 2009
By RonT
, Suffolk
" I purchased this product based on Cuprinols website and T.V. advertisements giving the power sprayer such a good review. I started to spray my new ( bare wood ) rough sawn fence panels and the jet became blocked on the third panel. No matter how good you are at spraying, this product has no adjustment for spray concentration, just your speed of each pass over the fence panel, and you also have to spray continuously. If you stop, then when you start to spray again the paint spurts out. The paint goes on thick and quick. You have to pass over the fence panel quickly, there is no time for subtle touches. I had to have a friend follow behind and work the paint in with a brush. After clearing the jet it blocked again and thats when i stopped using the power sprayer. Surely the cuprinol engineers can come up with a better jet design. The only positive out of this experience was the excellent attitude of the screwfix customer service people. The power sprayer will be collected and a credit issued. Do not expect this product to perform anything like you see on the T.V. advertisement. I would not recommend this product. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Surprisingly poor product
9 Apr 2009
By amheuwr
, Rhuddlan North Wales
" With 26 panels to be covered I needed something that would save me time and give a good finish. Unfortunately this sprayer was not up to the job. The first sprayer received worked for 5 panels then kept jamming. I contacted Screwfix and they dispatched a new sprayer which I received the next day. I was able to spray a further 19 panels with many blockages. Had to totally clean the parts every time to get it going again. Very frustrating and time consuming. Eventually had to finish the job with a brush. The second pump has been returned for a refund. If I hadn't followed the instructions to the T as well as watching the Cuprinol on line demo I might have thought that I was to blame for the blockages. I would not recommend this product to anyone, but I would recommend Screwfix, who's service was excellent. This was my first purchase with Screwfix, and I will return to them for future purchases. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for B and Q Power Sprayer Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
awful gimmick
5 Aug 2008
By slimrobo
, Essex
" I love a gadget & anything that can make my life easier.
I purchased the spayer & Cuprinol Sprayable Fence paint.
I was very very disapointed, it would NOT cover at all. Luckly i started at the rear of my garden out of view, & used nealy 2.5lts of paint barley covering 1 side of 3 fence panels. & the floor & the posts & gravel boards. I then gave up and went back to a brush to start again & do a proper job.
I've learnt my leson not to be lazy. its now cost me nearly £80.00 NOT to do a job which should have cost me no more that £20.00
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.