Product Reviews

Profesional setting tool to be used with the Rawlplug Interset Fixings.

Profesional setting tool to be used with the Rawlplug Interset Fixings.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
10 of 19(53%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Review 1 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I Found it Sooner!
7 May 2014
By Vennie
, Stoke on Trent
"This tool will allow you to fit and secure the metal raw plug in 10seconds after you've drilled the hole. You'll get it right first time, every time and (more importantly) without digging a big hole in your plasterboard wall!"
Review 2 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rawplug setting tool
3 Jan 2013
By jazzyjam
, suffolk
"This is a brilliant tool, which easily fires metal raw plugs securely into hollow walls. A must have for cavity walls, so easy to use."
Review 3 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time Saving Tool
28 Nov 2012
By Axminsterfurback
, Hounslow
"I have used this for dozens of drywall fixings. It is plenty strong enough so long as you use the correct length anchor for the job (length of cylinder below collar must be equal to or just less than thickness of plasterboard)...if you don't it will put undue strain on the tool which is what I suspect another reviewer fell foul of!
In my experience hollow wall anchor lugs alone are seldom good enough to secure the fixing while tightening; this tool eliminates any errors."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why mess about
9 Nov 2012
By nodrog2
, Blackpool
"I have been a Joiner for 40 years now. Have messed about with spring toggles and the like for years, not again. If you are fixing anything heavier than a poster frame to plasterboard then this baby, with the proper length toggles IS a must. A good strong and fast fixing to get you out of a FIX."
Review 5 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plaster board fixing tool
26 Mar 2012
By pusherman
, east sussex
"good quality tool which does what it says on the box."
Review 6 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rawlplug Setting Tool.
23 Aug 2014
By jgh69
, Telford
"When I first started using the tool I could not operate it to "squeeze" the Anchors that I was using!
I then realised that the Anchors were not Rawlplug ones so I changed to Rawlplug Anchors and the tool worked perfectly!!!
I would recommend but only for use with Rawlplug Anchors!
"
Review 7 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Essential Tools
15 Sep 2013
By Corvette55
, Norfolk
"I first used the Interset fittings some time ago and was unaware - that this tool existed - general DIY man.. but once I got to grips with this little machine..I think the fixings are exactly what I wanted. This tool holds everything together for you as the fixing settles nicely behind the cavity and gives you a feeling that it will hold your item with confidence, especially on plasterboard. I managed to put up what I wanted - fixed to where I wanted and it feels very solid/
Recommended. Although.. As there are similar tools at much higher prices, if you are putting these fixings in all the time, then a stronger one would be better.. I'm happy.
"
Review 8 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not for the professional
9 Jan 2013
By Goldenboyjones
, N Wales
"This tool is a fantastic idea and works well with rawl plug fixings, but is not strong enough to compress Fischer fixings as they're made from a harder metal hence the setting tool just slides. But perfect for a cheaper fixing. I've just noticed though screw fix sell the Fischer tool. you get what you pay for I suppose."
Review 9 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good buy
30 Oct 2009
By Bass
, london
"good value, simple and quick to use , makes life easier to fix these type of plasterboard fixings"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NOT as good as everyone says
22 Feb 2012
By Yorkiee
, Nottingham
"Bought this due to the reviews, used it once and the handle bent which made it difficult to use had to keep bending the handle back to enable to use it, very cheap so not taken it back."
Review 11 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ignore The Photo!
11 Dec 2011
By Coupe
, Peterborough
"You will not get the item pictured in the photo! The Rawl setting tool is actually near identical to the Screwfix version at the same price. The body of the tool is not metal but black nylon.
That said it works fine and does the job.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not good for regular use
19 Mar 2014
By Schlampe
, Gateshead
"I bought 3, but the life time is very short from this tool. If you need to work with that type of fixing often, i would recommend the fisher tool.
code 38788
"
Review 13 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kind of does the job, flimsy
29 Jan 2013
By limac100
, Aylesbury
"Contrary to the catalogue picture this tool is plastic with short arms so has no leverage to tighten the plug comfortably. It is also plastic and to soft as you can feel the arms bend when you use the tool. It does the job but it is not a good quality tool. It is my second as the arm in my first one has broken ( and cut my hand by the way) . I would buy different but there is no choice. The cheaper version from screwfix stopped working after a week so no option- you have to stick with this one or buy somewhere else."
Review 14 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not robust
1 Jul 2014
By chawl
, West country
"after 25 uses this would not even compress an anchor outside a hole. Not robust"
Review 15 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality
6 Mar 2014
By Patman666
, Birmingham
"Tool is predominantly plastic with a useful ratchet function.
Worked well for one plug and then lost ability to grip the rod under pressure which pulls the screw back, rendering tool useless.
Will be returning for a refund, bought another one made of metal without ratchet function which has worked flawlessly."
Review 16 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy!
12 Nov 2013
By MrsBOfH
, Finchampstead
"Woman Reviewer: I did not have the strength to use this, could not even get one anchor to work. Don't buy!
I bought the Fischer one and it worked perfectly!
"
Review 17 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not fit for purpose
6 Nov 2013
By repairmaster
, Bournemouth
"Purchased this tool as I have a large number of fixings to do in my refurbished house, when I opened the box the tool visually seemed to be OK After using the tool on three holes the tool would not pull the M5 screw and secure the fixing, it just slipped on the pull rod. When you look closely at the pull mechanism its similar to the cheap mastic guns you buy in the DIY stores and they fail regularly, I shall be returning the unit tomorrow for a refund."
Review 18 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wouldn't recommend
13 Oct 2013
By Hedgie
, North Shields
"Sorry to say bought this and 1st time of using just wouldn't hold any pressure on the screw head to pull it back, seemed there was no connection to the piston/spindle rather like a silicon gun that won't engage, took it back to Screwfix and they changed it no problem, however 2nd one exactly same problem as first one, so ended up getting full refund from Screwfix and buying a different model from an on line supplier - However couldn't fault Screwfix full refund no arguments 5* service from thyem."
Review 19 for Rawlplug Interset Fixing Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
buy the more expensive one.
2 Jan 2013
By Skwike
, Burton on Trent
"Basically the guts arrive lubricated, always good when you buy a tool, except when its based on a very small sealant gun. The friction lock mechanism has a smooth rod and soft metal clamp like caulking guns do in the pound shop. The first few sets were fine... now its rubbish.
So you squeeze the handle and one of three things happen, either the thread of the fixing rips out, it sets properly, or wont set at all. I think I might try using the one I bought when I was an apprentice in the 80s.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.