Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ace Saw
14 Apr 2012
By
, Barwell, Leicester
"As a professional mechanical engineer i have used many types of saws over the years,band saws,chop saws even a saw made by Evolution about 12 years ago when they were new on the scene in this country,and that will rip down an 8ft/4ft /6mm thick ally sheet like hot knife through butter.
So when i saw the stealth saw i bought one, it really is very good.
I rang up the manufacturers in sheffield and asked them about it, it has the heavy duty Rage motor/gearbox so at £150 you can't go wrong.
I bought it to fit a new garage roof on my extension, can't wait.
"
Review 2 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best Mitre Saw Ever
31 Mar 2012
By
, Newtownards
"An excellent choice for a D.I.Y. amateur. I received my purchase the next day allowing me to get to work, well done Screwfix."
Review 3 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!
29 Mar 2012
By
, bradford
"NOt let me down, does what it says on the tin, nice saw and so far happy with purchase."
Review 4 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sliding Mitre Saw (Evolution)
7 Mar 2012
By
, Rural Lincolnshire
"A first class piece of woodworking machinery.
This was being used to replace a Mitre Saw that I had been using for years. This does so much more than the saw it replaces. It is quick and tackles wider boards than the previous saw - I will be able to do so much more with it. I have however reduced the star rating above on value for money as the day after delivery I noticed in my Lincoln branch of Screwfix that it was being reduced by a further £20 - I wish I had waited to buy at the cheaper rate!
"
Review 5 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evolution Rage 255mm Slid M S
20 Feb 2012
By
, Gosforth Cumbria
"Very pleased with my purchase the whole ordering process could not have been easier. The saw has already proved what a good buy it was."
Review 6 for
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Crackin Chop Saw, Great Value
10 Feb 2012
By
, Preston
"Does what it says on the tin great for all round use and nice and light to lug about.Metal Cutting ability is very useful for Sparkys but just go careful on some types of plastic trunking etc as can shatter/crack.Build quality not as good as dewalt etc but then what do you expect at this price??All in all for the price difficult to beat!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality at the right price !
20 Sep 2012
By
, biggleswade
"Having suffered a very destructive workshop fire I needed to aquire a core of tools and equipment to start the process of rebuilding. Having scoured the internet for a suitable saw the Evolution sliding mitre saw ticked all the boxes and was at a good price. Delivered next day it was immediatly put to use and has proved to be a versatile and efficient piece of equipment, and has been well used.
No complaints and thoroughly satisfied with the product and service.
"
Review 8 for
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good features.
27 May 2012
By
, North Devon
"Well built piece of kit, easy to use and accurate. Have only used the saw to cut wood and plastic trunking, sure it will be Ok with metal as well."
Review 9 for
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
26 Mar 2012
By
, Bridgend
"Great value for money product. Its a dream to operate. Make sure you take the time to adjust all the adjustable bits so that you can get it set up square. There was little in the manual regarding this but its not rocket science. I got this as a replacement for a smaller one that didn't feel right and the guys at Screwfix (Bridgend) was really helpful."
Review 10 for
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value for money
20 Mar 2012
By
, Nottingham
"I bought this for a kitchen project at a time when it was on offer and to my mind it's good value for money.
Having never used a tool like this before, it's easy to get good clean cuts on the angle with the blade that comes with the saw, even though this is a multi purpose blade. It also went through sections of a stainless steel splash back with no difficulty they blade retained it's edge and didn't make a dogs dinner out of the plinth's and cornicing.
Reliability, well if it didn't last for the one job that would have been poor, so i am hoping for a good life out of the machine.
Build quality is fine, but castings are a little rough in places. the dust bag is neither use nor ornament in my opinion, but other than that it's fine for the money.
Had it not been on offer, would I have bought it? Not sure, I might have looked further afield."
Review 11 for
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent sliding mitre saw
29 Feb 2012
By
, Newbury
"A good product which cuts angles etc very accurately. The blade is a bit fierce for fine wood cutting but cutting for carcass work is excellent. Nice soft start and blade brake works well. The laser line is spot on even with the blade tipped for 45deg cuts.
Minor criticism, it does, even with a vacuum extraction, still send a lot of sawdust out the back of the machine but most of the dust does go down the pipe.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointing build quality
1 Mar 2012
By
, Horsham UK
"The Rage 185 circular saw is an excellent and versatile tool that I have found tremendously effective. I was expecting the same rugged, no-nonsense performance from the Rage 255 mitre saw, but I was disappointed. The build quality is poor. For instance, a taper locking pin constantly sticks and jams because it is so roughly machined. The dogs that select the preset angles are plastic and engage very shallowly so they do not provide accurate or precise angles, which means that you have to ignore them and set by hand for anything other than rough work.
I suspect the so-called limited edition Stealth finish is just an attempt to hide the roughness of the castings on machines that wouldn't make the grade otherwise. Having everything black makes the machine hard to use, and the uniform blackness makes the low-res photographs in the manual utterly unintelligible. When you stop to think about it, the idea of a stealth power tool is somewhat bizarre anyway.
All of that said, it was not a hugely expensive machine, so maybe I was expecting too much. It has got the excellent and versatile Evolution blade, of course, so no doubt I'll use the machine until it wears out - I just hope that that is not too soon."
Review 13 for
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good but not everything works
26 Mar 2012
By
, London
"Good but not everything works.
The vacum on top doesn't work.
"