Product Reviews

Philex Network Cable Tester

Philex Network Cable Tester
Average Customer Rating:
3.526 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
11 of 19(58%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Philex Network Cable Tester
Review 1 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most Useful Electricals
2 Feb 2015
By ChrisA2
, Reading, UK
" A Must-Have device when wiring ethernet/telecoms yourself. An excellent value, easy to use, reliable tester in its own protective case; comes with intelligable instructions too! "
Review 2 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philex Network Cable Tester
5 Dec 2014
By Clarkycat
, Middlesbrough
" Great bit of kit, cheap & cheerful, does what it says on the tin! "
Review 3 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does the job
27 Jun 2014
By FMVideo
, Penicuik
" Really simple device, compact and great to have to check out any dodgy connections. Does the job very well and comes with a zipped pouch. The pouch is flimsy but a card insert to add protection against damage is a must. Good price too. "
Review 4 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful!
16 Sep 2013
By SMS50
, Chester
" Given the low price of this tester i was very skeptical. However, glad to report that it works really well. It helped me find a couple of cabling faults within minutes.
The construction seems fairly cheap so i'm not sure how long it will last, but certainly for intermittent use its well worth a adding to your toolbox.
"
Review 5 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little device
19 Mar 2013
By Oakleylimos
, Basingstoke
" Tested my first cable and it identified which cable was at fault straight away.. Saved me time and money...
Excellent tool rest of the cables past first time "
Review 6 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic, spot on.
13 Sep 2012
By MSPARK
, Southampton
" Got this just to stick in the van because was allways forgetting to pinch my bosses one when I was installing data points.
Indercator lights show good connections or shorts or missing connections.
Can't go wrong with it!! "
Review 7 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Network Cable Tester
12 Nov 2011
By AnilB
, Bromley
" Just picked up this cable tester from Screwfix to sort out my cabling mess and all I can say is that it works fine, identified that I had crossed the cables: so sorted.
Very Easy to use. Just remember to buy a PP3 9v battery to be able to use. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
just what i needed
21 Feb 2015
By ray9h4
, huddersfield
" had broken wire in line of 8 just tested all wires and found the correct wire to mend "
Review 9 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant item
6 Sep 2014
By Caliwali
, Caernarfon
" Very happy with this item would definitely recommend it. Easy to use good value for money "
Review 10 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tester - fixed switch
28 Nov 2013
By MarleyandMe
, Isle of Wight
" As other purchasers have found, this tester does not switch off. Simple fix, remove the front cover (4 screws at the back) reveals the switch is square in an elongated round slot. Use a small file and round the switch on one side and hey presto, it switches off - problem solved!
Apart from this the tester works very well and identifies incorrect wiring in a jiffy.
Fine for DIY network cabling, probably not suitable for every day pro. use as its rather light weight.
I was going to return this, however after the fix and use, its worth keeping for the next networking job.
"
Review 11 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ideal fr home
7 Mar 2013
By scottiescotland
, faversham
" I bought this as a quick fix as my original tester stopped working.
It is ideal for a few connections or for testing a few cables but not for pro use, it is a bit slow.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Passable, barely
31 Jan 2015
By Milambar
, Manchester
" It does the job I needed it to do, but only just.
The unit I received had one of the labels on upside down, hiding all the LED's. forcing me to decide, did I want to return it, or did I want to peel it off and hot glue it back in the right position? I opted for the latter as it was the only one they had in stock.
I opened it, and as a previous reviewer said, the connections and soldering is very poor quality. Like he did, I fixed that up. Once done, it works. But has absolutely no frills.
One thing to note, the copytext of the product on the website says "Push button control", its not a push button, its a sliding "On/Off" switch. "
Review 13 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The wiring diagram
8 Aug 2014
By RDS1
, Hull
" I was really surprised to discover the printed user guide that came with the unit had a major printing error. It quotes T568B is as follows - WG, G, WO, B, WB, O, WB, B. In actual fact this is T568A!!!! Good luck if you follow this guide. "
Review 14 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expensive
17 Jul 2012
By Offcs
, Shrewsbury
" This is only one pound and forty-four pence at etradehouse. And that includes VAT! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
works but probably wont last
29 Sep 2013
By AndyDR
, Brighton
" Cheap plastic wasn't expecting much. It did work ok and found a mis-wired cable. The on/off switch didn't work and the only way was to disconnect the battery. Believe it or not that was easier said than done, connection was so tight on one pole that the battery terminal broke off, the first time I've ever seen that (top brand gold battery). This product does do the job, yes it's a little slow. Suggest that you check this product works ok whilst still at the trade counter, if it does it's cheap enough, if not get it swapped. "
Review 16 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Philex Network Cable Tester
26 Sep 2013
By ITDave
, London
" Bought this item locally as I managed to break mine. It is a cheap build with poor quality plastic, however it does test Cat5 cabling pairs ok.
The on off switch on mine did not work so
I returned it for a refund, I did not want a replacement.
You get what you pay for. "
Review 17 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sorry about this
21 Feb 2015
By Maintenanceguy
, Reading
" I think that I have been unlucky.
I bought one of these units and it was faulty. Lights 4 and 5 on the remote unit came on together even when used with a known good cable. Returned it to my local branch (Reading) and they replaced it without question. The second one also had a fault in that neither lights 2 nor 3 would illuminate on the remote unit. I secured a refund on that one without question although I had taken the necessary kit to the branch to prove the fault.
Five stars for the Screwfix customer service (as usual) but I will go out of my way to avoid Philex kit in the future, hence the one star rating.
I finally got a functional LAN tester from another supplier which worked first time and it was a few pence cheaper. Slightly better constructed as well. Screwfix may wish to review selling Philex kit. "
Review 18 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality construction
5 May 2014
By SB42
, Cambridge
" I retuned the first unit due to one light/LED not working.
Removing the back of the replacement unit, which does work, revealed some very poor construction.
I'm keeping the second unit but only after re-soldering the joints and trimming off trailing, and nearly shorting, component legs to get it in a state that I am confident it may keep working.
An enclosed leaflet refers to red lights that indicate "opposite connection"; after taking the back off it is clear that there are no red lights/LEDS in the unit so don't expect this feature to work. "
Review 19 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst tester
7 Oct 2013
By angryspark
, london
" do not buy this pretend tester as it is completely useless and doesn't even switch off "