Product Reviews

Philex Network Cable Tester

Philex Network Cable Tester
Average Customer Rating:
3.743 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
24 of 35(69%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Philex Network Cable Tester
Review 1 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential tool
20 Jul 2016
By
, Burnley
" Bought this as I work on printers all day, sometimes the problems are down to the Cat 5 Cables, this unit can prove that the cable is good or bad. I've also made up 2 little fly leads and use this tool to check network points from the wall back to the switch or router. Great bit of kit for the price. "
Review 2 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential bit of kit
19 Jul 2016
By
, Wales
" I had hardwired our house a few years ago but as wireless became the norm stopped using the wired system.
Using this tool I reinstated the wired system and broadband speeds increased dramatically.
In addition, it is easy to check patch leads for correct connectivity. Very useful tool.
"
Review 3 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peace of mind
2 Jan 2016
By
, West Sussex
" I hardwired my broadband connection to the other side of the house where the wifi signal was weak. I ran 25 metres of cat6 cable on the outside and was able to test the both end connections with the remote unit. Excellent!
(Don't forget to order a 9v battery.)
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid value for money product
26 Aug 2015
By
, Doncaster
" Bought this to verify patch cables connections at work & home, it's a simple but very effective bit of kit.Highly recommended and great service from Screwfix as always! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How Did I Survive Without It?
29 Jun 2015
By
, Northamptonshire
" Great value for providing confirmation that your network is correctly connected.
Easy to use to provide rapid confirmation that your network cabling is correct. A must if your installing network cables. "
Review 6 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple and effective
7 May 2015
By
, Dunstable
" Bought this to test some LAN cables I was installing. It's simple to use and does just what's needed to prove that you have not made an errors or have any damaged cables. Obviously at this level it does not prove the quality of the connection but it's good considering the money it costs "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it Sorted!
2 Apr 2015
By
, Isle of Wight
" A great device, very good value. So easy to use and exactly the answer to finding wiring faults IMMEDIATELY! If you haven't got one, I'd recommend that you do! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most Useful Electricals
2 Feb 2015
By
, Reading, UK
" A Must-Have device when wiring ethernet/telecoms yourself. An excellent value, easy to use, reliable tester in its own protective case; comes with intelligable instructions too! "
Review 9 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philex Network Cable Tester
5 Dec 2014
By
, Middlesbrough
" Great bit of kit, cheap & cheerful, does what it says on the tin! "
Review 10 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does the job
27 Jun 2014
By
, Penicuik
" Really simple device, compact and great to have to check out any dodgy connections. Does the job very well and comes with a zipped pouch. The pouch is flimsy but a card insert to add protection against damage is a must. Good price too. "
Review 11 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful!
16 Sep 2013
By
, Chester
" Given the low price of this tester i was very skeptical. However, glad to report that it works really well. It helped me find a couple of cabling faults within minutes.
The construction seems fairly cheap so i'm not sure how long it will last, but certainly for intermittent use its well worth a adding to your toolbox.
"
Review 12 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little device
19 Mar 2013
By
, Basingstoke
" Tested my first cable and it identified which cable was at fault straight away.. Saved me time and money...
Excellent tool rest of the cables past first time "
Review 13 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic, spot on.
13 Sep 2012
By
, Southampton
" Got this just to stick in the van because was allways forgetting to pinch my bosses one when I was installing data points.
Indercator lights show good connections or shorts or missing connections.
Can't go wrong with it!! "
Review 14 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Network Cable Tester
12 Nov 2011
By
, Bromley
" Just picked up this cable tester from Screwfix to sort out my cabling mess and all I can say is that it works fine, identified that I had crossed the cables: so sorted.
Very Easy to use. Just remember to buy a PP3 9v battery to be able to use. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
21 May 2016
By
, Leicester
" I was a bit dubious how good it would be for the price but I need not have worried.
Performs just as good as an expensive one at a fraction of the cost.
Thoroughly recommend.
Remember to pick up a 9v battery as its not included with the product.
"
Review 16 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Network cable tester
23 Dec 2015
By
, South East
" Works well.
On off switch a bit cheap.
Wish screw fix had tried to sell me a battery at the same time.
Like the fact the two bits connect together so you can't loose them.
"
Review 17 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job well
3 Aug 2015
By
, Guildford
" The product is clearly built to a price and has a 'cheap' feel to it. My on/off switch was not well aligned and difficult to operate. That said it worked, and worked well. Great for occasional use and good value "
Review 18 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VERY GOOD KIT.
12 Jun 2015
By
, london
" I brought this item as we were installing some data points. Its very easy to use and saved a lot of time on the job. "
Review 19 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
just what i needed
21 Feb 2015
By
, huddersfield
" had broken wire in line of 8 just tested all wires and found the correct wire to mend "
Review 20 for Philex Network Cable Tester
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant item
6 Sep 2014
By
, Caernarfon
" Very happy with this item would definitely recommend it. Easy to use good value for money "
Page : 1 2 next>