Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wireless Room Thermostat

Wireless Room Thermostat
Average Customer Rating:
4.159 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
37 of 44(84%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Review 1 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice
3 Dec 2014
By uzboth
, Scarborough
" Easy to install, good features, looks nice in place and best of all...... works ! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
15 Nov 2014
By timbo918
, cheshire
" Bought and installed on same day. Been in use for just over one month now. Heating system never had any room stat previously and now this has allowed us to save on our gas usage. "
Review 3 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wireless Thermostat
14 Oct 2014
By Phil007
, Telford
" Easy to set up can be used freestanding or wall mounted complete with batteries good selection of prog's and accurate too. "
Review 4 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy
15 Sep 2014
By RetiredPlumber
, Co Durham
" Excellent product ,excellent value . Free next day delivery what more can you ask for . I would definately recommend both this item and Screwfix to everyone . "
Review 5 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality device.
13 Jan 2014
By BIFO
, Henley on Thames
" Wired the receiver by following the wiring diagram - no probs.
Permanent live and neutral to be connected, and
switch wire (demand on).
Programmable sender easy but a little tedious to set up.
Set low temp (eg 10*) at night to ensure OFF function.
I set one initial all day temp and then adjust according to need. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
3 Feb 2013
By stephen295
, Abergavenny
" East to install, reliable product @ half the price of compatable products "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great and relioable
17 Nov 2012
By SparkandPlumb
, Solihull
" Had one of these fitted now for 4 years and recently bought one for someone else.
Easy to set up and use.
Reliable needing only a battery change once.
7 day or 5/2 day, 10 minute increments and 5 settings per day.
Button to set to 5 degrees override setting which I use to leave the heating off during the warmer months.
"
Review 8 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wireless thermostat
27 Aug 2012
By V12abo
, Essex
" Great product really easy to fit and plenty of programme options and at an excellent price. It should easily pay for its self in saved fuel bills! "
Review 9 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't go wrong
17 May 2012
By Jayboy123
, Goole
" Cheapest wireless thermostat Screwfix sell but don't let that put you off. Fantastic bit of kit. I have very limited electrical skills and knowledge but I was able to work out how to fit it (with a bit of help from a tutorial on you tube which wasn't for this make or model but it gave me a good insight to the job in hand) and did just that. I've fitted this to a floor standing Worcester Bosch combi boiler and routing the cables was more difficult than the actual wiring of the thermo. Don't forget to use heat resistant flex - which in hind sight is far better value purchasing the smallest roll that Screwfix sell - I went to a local electrical store as I only needed 4 metres and thought it would be cheaper than paying for a full roll from Screwfix - it wasn't !! It cost me £2.20 per metre and I only just managed to wire it up with what I bought, so my advice would be to buy the full roll then that way you've got plenty as it often turns out you needed more cable than what you imagined. I think the thermostat transmitter is pleasing on the eye as is the receiver and it's packed full of settings that will easily accommodate the household heating requirements. Very easy to set up and use even in manual mode. It's made a big difference to the boiler also - its hardly ever on whereas before when it was powering independent radiator thermostats it was always on ! In summary great bit of kit that works well and has plenty of user settings and all for a reasonable price :-) "
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read instructions twice!
10 Nov 2011
By SL74
, Darvel
" Easy installation if you are experienced with working around boilers and central heating, otherwise you need to dig out the manual for the boiler and sit and read both installation instruction sets to be 100% sure what is what.
RF range can be affected, depending on selected channel number, I found that we couldn't get anywhere near the range required (the transmitter was in a fixed wall location due to replacing an old stat that had been disabled by the plumber installing the new boiler, who'd torn out the hardwiring to the stat, hence going RF). Factory setting and channel setting 1 did not work, in the end channel setting 5 got it working fine, possibly a lot of other RF devices in the same building?
Point to save reprogramming, confirm the range and reliability BEFORE you put in the time and any programming, as the transmitter has to be fully reset each time you change the channel jumper, losing the settings.
Despite the comments about confusing programming, read the instructions and be clear that you are programming target temperatures, NOT a boiler timer, so you are simply CHANGING temperatures at set times, not turning anything on or off, if you think about matching the time and temperature with the boiler timer settings, it becomes very logical.
Overall, neat unit, simple for end user to operate like a basic digital stat and override once it is programmed and really good VFM. Would buy these everyday of the week for a retrofit.
Also has cooling mode option, not mentioned on the website, so can be used to control AHU and airconditioners which accept no volt or AC mains control. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the Job
8 Nov 2011
By GiveItAGo
, Surrey
" If you require a wireless thermostat then cannot go wrong with this. Has more functions then the more expensive ones, very flexible features via jumper settings such:
- degree or 0.5 degree increments.
- Every day or weekday/ weekend time set
- Change the frequency it uses if someone is also using the same as you are.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy and easy to set up
12 Sep 2010
By DrummerBoy
, Beds
" I had been looking to replace my old wired room stat and this device fits the bill perfectly. There are two items included, a control centre (the thermostat that you can place around the home) and the receiver unit which is located in a fixed place to receive instructions from the control centre. The receiver unit requires a mains feed as well as the two switched live wires from the thermostat (4 wires altogether). The control centre uses two batteries. Easy to install, took me an afternoon as I needed to pick up a mains supply. Really good coverage, I can switch the heating on and off from anywhere in my home including 90ft away in the back garden! I found the instructions easy to follow. The heating cannot be fully switched off from the control centre but you can press frost protection which sets the unit to 5dg. To fully switch off you have to use the on/off switch on the receiver unit.
Overall a great buy, easy to install and used in conjunction with TRV's on the rads will really help me to save on the heating bills, balance my system/ only heat what I need when home alone.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good buy
7 Dec 2009
By BlackJake
, Bristol
" The programmable thermostat from Horstmann is very easy to set up, use and seems to work really well.
I would definatley recommend this to anyone "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy
25 Nov 2009
By Steve2
, Gosport, Hampshire
" What an absolute bargain buy at this price.
I had been thinking about moving my old existing 70's room stat from the living room to the hall for some time and this little beauty saved all the hastel for me. I was able to pick up a mains supply for this new units reciever very close to my existing stats location and therefore it was a piece of cake to install after that.
Programming the control centre is no bother at all as long as you read the instruction manual fully and I have gone for the default 5-2 days default program with a liitle increase on most of the temperature settings.
With the control centre now normally sited in the hall the temperature in the whole house is now perfect.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot On
20 Sep 2009
By FulwellPlumbing
, Sunderland
" I've just installed this product on a Vokera Unica boiler, easy to wire in and works well, for 40 odd quid you can't go wrong. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking Buy
25 Jan 2009
By DaveS
, Salisbury
" What great value, works a treat, easy to program if you don't like the default setting, even my electrician was impressed! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value
4 Dec 2008
By centre13
, Canterbury
" This thermostat is easy to set up and install.Very good value.Only problem is that perhaps the tempreture is not very accurate "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good enery saving devise
6 Nov 2008
By panther
, glasgow
" I have fitted over 15 of these devices and everybody have been pleased with the results.The latest with the five temperature settings is very nice and easy to use.The five temperature settings cover the most suitable temperature round the clock so I find most people do not need to fiddle with the temperatures.Wiring the devise is easy and all you need to find from the boiler manual the connections for the thermostat which so far has not been a probelm. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great temperature control
21 Oct 2008
By rufus610
, cornwall
" This is economic on your fuel bills for controling room temperatures.
Quick,simple and time saving
Brilliant!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Horstmann HRFS1 Programmable Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Horstmann thermostat
14 Sep 2008
By Anonymous
, Ilfracombe,Devon
" I find that this thermostat most convenient as it can be moved to the room I am working in, it is very pleasant to the eye,looks good in the lounge, not the ordinary ugly dial type of meter, and the temperature controls are easy to modify to your needs. The price was alot less than the one my plumber recomended, he now recomends this one. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>