Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer

Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer
Average Customer Rating:
4.388 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
46 of 49(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Review 1 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Planer
17 Apr 2015
By charlie233
, redruth cornwall
" Bought this Titan planer to alter some doors and what a great bit of kit . I also bought some spare blades but after fitting 5 doors I did not need them and I would highly recommend this product. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great planer at an amazing pri
19 Mar 2015
By Bloche
, Lichfield
" Bought this to plane down some doors and to make a table. Great piece of kit but make sure you go carefully with the adjustment and where you apply pressure at the start and end of the piece. I don't know why I haven't had one for years as it would have made a big difference. Definitely recommend it "
Review 3 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Planer
18 Mar 2015
By rbli
, kent
" bought this as i was due to fit 5 oak doors on a job,went by previous reviews and price and availability, couldn't be more pleased all the doors needed easing on one side some on two and this piece of kit didn't miss a beat, happy to give it five stars all round "
Review 4 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value and Quailty Build
27 Feb 2015
By RoosterCockbird
, Northern Ireland
" Bought this Titan Planer to replace and old Black & Decker unit that I have been nursing along for a good number of years now. Being a long standing fan of Titan products I'm glad I choose yet another Titan power tool to add to my collection. On first inspection I was very pleased with the feel of the planer and the fact that it came with the necessary accessories all neatly stored in the protective plastic case. The first task I gave my new planer was to smooth off the edges of a builders plank for a DIY project I'm currently working on. I have to say it completed the task with ease, much better than my old planer, and the finish was superb. The planer was used straight out of the box with no adjustment required, but because there are a few posts on here stating that the blades where out of alignment I did check the alignment before use. All in all I am very pleased with my new purchase in every way. Can't comment on reliability though because I've only just bought it. That's the only reason I've given it one star in that category. "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Planer.
27 Nov 2014
By MadDog5292
, Liverpool
" I have had another manufacturers plane before I bought the Titan model ( I will not return to them ).This plane is absolutely superb in operation, it is extremely comfortable to hold and operate, leaves an excellent finish and has the ability to take off minute amounts or lots when needed.
This is the third Titan product I have bought, without a doubt I will end up with a workshop full of Titan products.
I would recommend this planer to both d.i.yers and professionals alike.
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
27 Nov 2014
By Bigbaddom
, Northern hemisphere
" It has taken me a few minutes to fix a couple of doors and this machine has been superb.
On top of that, it has saved me probably £ 100 on a carpenter's call out charge.
Very easy to use, the proof is that I have used it and the job looks perfect.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality budget plane!
22 Nov 2014
By LandlordGav
, West Midlands
" This is the second Titan tool I bought from Screwfix, the first being an SDS drill.
In both cases I have been impressed with the price to quality ratio.
The plane worked just as well as more expensive ones I have used.
Made short work of the fire door I trimmed down for my first job. I gave 5 stars for reliability as it still works A1 but have only just bought it....
This would be a great back up plane for a professional chippy and a perfect budget choice for a DIYer or a tradesman who needs an electric plane from time to time.
Comes in a solid purpose built plastic case with accessories too which is a bonus "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great product for price
17 Nov 2014
By SportLee
, Chester le Street
" Love my new planner. I have only just purchased this so cannot comment on the reliability. It does a great job at a fraction of the price of other branded planners. I would recommended this product "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TITAN-ic....
29 Oct 2014
By arko
, Barry
" This should aptly be renamed to TITAN-IC. Its overall cutting power, features, handling comfort and very affordable price gives it titanic features compared to other larger brands with three times the price tag!. Not that I feel I would need to cut to a depyh of 3mm in one pass, it is nice to know this mchine can handle it. Also the carry case is an excellent feature which many top brands fail to supply at what seems to me to be a minimal cost to produce. .....and finally, replacement TCT double edge blades at only around £6, makes this a very affordable machine all-round! One of my better buys! "
Review 10 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Titan Planer
14 Oct 2014
By Simbo45
, Bridlington
" It does more than some very expensive planers, easy to use and got all the bits you need to do more.
As for the service from Screwfix they are spot on with there delivery and quick with it too.
"
Review 11 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beast
13 Jul 2014
By Harlee
, Kent
" This is really solid, feels strong in my hands and enough weight to slide over the wood.
Good price and nice, smooth finish.
Expert DIY (build homes in my spare time)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Planely the business
7 Jun 2014
By AndyBB
, Wantage
" Very impressive planer. Smooth cut and great value. Reliability not known yet. "
Review 13 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value for money
12 May 2014
By BenLee
, Cardiff
" Great value planer, which is powerful and precise. Ideal for all sorts of jobs and comfortable and easy to use. The only quibble I'd have is like many others, the extraction bag is far too small. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Tool
22 Apr 2014
By Dave2014
, Hertfordshire
" I did a fair bit of research on planers, needing one on occasion for various home DIY needs. I did not want to spend a fortune. The Titan was excellent, did exactly what it should. I have only used it a couple of times, to fit a custom built desk to a wall, but it worked really well. My only slight criticism is that the dust bag could be larger, and there was still a fair amount of dust generated that was not collected. But overall, this is a great purchase, and I would recommend it. Only time will tell how reliable it turns out to be. The carry case is a nice extra. "
Review 15 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fence panel prunning
17 Dec 2013
By andy101
, surrey
" used to help make a stupid amount of fence panels fit concrete post system . could not of done the job with out it , its sturdy , not too heavy, easy to use and a nicely balanced machine . leaves a good finish as its got a good bit of grunt and power behind it... well worth it even if we just use it for this one job "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I'd bought one years ago
12 Dec 2013
By Windu2000
, Stourbridge
" Fantastic product, does exactly what it's designed for. Nice clean finish, easy to use. Dust bag could do with being a little bigger.
A lot easier, quicker and simpler than a traditional plane. A massive time and effort saver.
Seems reliable so far...will see how it goes in the coming months.
"
Review 17 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovely planer
22 Jun 2013
By walshie
, harrogate
" being a typical joiner, always going for makita only for some reason thought id try a new cheaper make out. anyway, mega impressed cuts well, smooth finish and nice carry case.
one problem is working inside any big houses where its impractical to lug a door outside the dustbag is very small. 1 or 2 passes at 2 mm will have it totally filled up. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bit of kit
27 May 2013
By Longshanks1979
, Darwen
" Bought this to plane some sticky doors in the house. At a previous house this took all day with a hand planer. This is easy to use, neat and really fast. Bought it for DIY use and it works brilliantly and is great value. Have no qualms about buying Screwfix's own brand because they are excellent. "
Review 19 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for the cost.
14 Apr 2013
By Disciple
, Surrey
" I've used plenty of electric planers over the years, and until now the only one I thought was really good was a £220+ Makita.
But, this little beauty is amazing for the price. I bought it to plane 14mm off each side of a hardwood door (yes, I know, but the customer bought the wrong door and just wanted it hung regardless) and it handled the job admirably. Easy to handle and gives a smooth finish.
The only real negatives are the small bag and, I'll be honest, at it's maximum 3mm cut, hardwood does give it slightly too much to do, but at 2mm or less it's excellent.
Reliabilty? Who knows, not me, yet. Although I'd be happy with a couple of years for this sort of money. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Titan TTB291PLN 3mm Planer 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
great planer
12 Feb 2013
By bobjay
, Solihull
" Absolutely delighted with this superb tool. Has features you would expect to pay twice as much for. Precise cutter (carbide) adjustment combined with fully machined base plate results smooth operation and smooth finish. Moderate noise level. Only con - chip collector so small so as to be a joke. Almost glad the old B&D packed up! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>