Product Reviews

Compact and lightweight drill features innovative save mode enabling the speed and impact rate to be reduced for lighter work so as to minimise the risk of damage to smaller drill bits. Also features idle-striking prevention mechanism, ensuring the hammer impact is only transmitted when the drill bit is applied to the workpiece, reducing wear and maximising the life of the drill. Battery level indicator shows two lights when the battery is charged, one light when half charged and no lights when the battery needs recharging. Supplied with carry case.

Compact and lightweight drill features innovative save mode enabling the speed and impact rate to be reduced for lighter work so as to minimise the risk of damage to smaller drill bits. Also features idle-striking prevention mechanism, ensuring the hammer impact is only transmitted when the drill bit is applied to the workpiece, reducing wear and maximising the life of the drill. Battery level indicator shows two lights when the battery is charged, one light when half charged and no lights when the battery needs recharging. Supplied with carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Review 1 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good (great)........
3 Jan 2014
By J1Man
, Reading
"Looked long and hard for a drill that I could use for general masonry drilling but also for drilling concrete lintels, Thought I would have to get an electric SDS but then came across Screwfix and this drill. Its a good size for use as a general cordless, very powerful as it just drilled into one of the concrete lintels with ease. My two old drills (electric hammer & 18v hammer were having none of it. Can't comment on reliability yet but so far, really pleased. This almost seemed too good to be true for the price. Hitachi appear to be one of the better brands so confident it will last me a while. So relieved it went so easily through the reinforced concrete lintels! Effortless! If you don't need chisel/ hammer only mode then can highly recommend this drill. Perfect if you have an older house with solid walls etc."
Review 2 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi 18v lion sds
23 Nov 2013
By Ammacodaz
, West Bromwich
"Very impressed with the power of this drill. Drilled 16 M10 holes 80mm deep in reinforced concrete with ease and still had loads of power."
Review 3 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bit of kit
12 Mar 2013
By bazzagunn
, porthcawl bridgend
"Being a true dewalt fan over the years as a double glazing fitter I decided to get a new sds that was small and light, I spent nearly 2 weeks looking at all different makes and reading reviews, I finally bought this and when I got it home I really thought it would not be up to the job with fitting windows and doors, so I kept my 110 sds on the van honestly thinking I'd be using but this little Hitachi sds was excellent, effortlessly went through door reinforcing straight into brick work, I will be buying another battery and as it was on offer it will be one of my best buys for a little over 200 quid with spare battery, you won't be disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great drill
8 Sep 2012
By Nero
, Leeds
"I was abit sceptical about this drill due to the fact theres only 1 review on it but I thought I would give it a go. Having had it a few weeks I can highly recommend it, I have 4 hitachi drills now and haven't had any problems with any of them.
I have used it for mainly drilling into brick for putting pipe clips up and it has more than enough power for this. I also gave it a go for a 10mm hole which it did with no fuss but wouldn't go any bigger due to having a proper 240v sds.
Bad points? The only 1 is that you have to take the handle off to put it in its carry case. Only a minor point but I just leave the handle off now so little point in having it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hitachi SDS 18 volt
1 Nov 2013
By Daz6
, Kent
"Great SDS drill for the money have'nt had drill for long battery life is good.Only dislike is you are unable to stand drill up it just falls over."
Review 6 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little drill
7 Mar 2013
By eastlondonbuilderdotcom
, London
"For a small SDS drill it packs a punch.
For a nice lightweight SDS for screw holes in masonry it's brilliant not had a chance to see if it's good for core holes or large masonry drilling but very happy with it's performance as a High speed pistol drill and up tp 12mm SDS.
"
Review 7 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good (Battery) SDS Dril
8 Feb 2013
By Scarab59
, Barking
"A battery SDS drill that does just what you need it to do. I was concerned this drill would not be able to cope with hard bricks and concrete as it looked to be too small, It coped with holes into both materials, with drills up to10mm and drilling 50mm deep with no problem at all. Whilst only having used it for a couple of day's i cannot really say how it will fair over a long period but it seems quite rugged. One down point is that it only has one battery supplied, however being Li Ion you can frequently charge it in meal breaks etc (45 minutes recharge from flat) but I would have preferred one in use one back - up/ charging. That said I used it for 55 x 6mm holes drilled 50mm deep it made it through the day on one fully charged battery and still had some energy left in it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tool
14 Aug 2011
By TPBuilding
, Hertfordshire
"Superb power given the weight of the tool, will go straight into a concrete lintel quickly and neatly. Wish i had another battery for it as it only comes with one and only lasts a couple of hours, but you can't have it all!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK'ish, not totally convinced
22 Apr 2014
By Oddbod2
, South
"Had this drill for a couple of years now. It doesn't come out of the case that often but when it does it gets used as a proper trade tool.
Its probably been used about 20 times, for about 8 hrs total. Something like that anyway.
The problem it is doesn't feel like it's quite up to the job - it's more like a superior DIY tool.....
1. The chuck is getting very sticky to engage and release.
2. The hammer/drill lever is becoming difficult to engage and disengage.
3. It's a little underpowered in the impact stakes - only 1.4j
4. As a result of point 3 the battery doesn't last as long as a 3ah ought to.
All in all it feels like a tool not to rely 100% on.
Against that it's cheap and will knock out rawplug holes all day long if that's all you need to do.
I don't regret buying it, but I'd probably get something a bit better quality next time."
Review 10 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Weak Chuck
14 Nov 2012
By Freeranger777
, Mid Devon
"Have had the older version of this for two years, (identicle drill different battery). Only average use with 5.5mm and 7mm SDS bits. After less than two years the chuck has now jammed so I can't get the bit out. So if you want to use it for regular trade use the chuck probably isn't man enough to last and you will be buying a new one within two years. For DIY and occasional use it should be OK."
Review 11 for Hitachi DH18DSL 2.3kg 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless SDS Plus Hammer Drill 18V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broken after 6 months
2 Jun 2014
By cookieDJ
, Swadlincote
"Have had the drill 6 months and it has broken.
When it was working, it was OK at best, batteries like to overheat with a drill bit any bigger than 12mm and the charger makes a racket when its on.
Should have just forked out a bit more for a better brand, if you can, then do! If not, just save up a little bit more.
"