Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Varilight Dimmer 1G 400W/VA

Varilight Dimmer 1G 400W/VA
Average Customer Rating:
4.047 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
37 of 43(86%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Review 1 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it is supposed to
5 Feb 2016
By
, Hertfordshire
" I replaced a leading edge dimmer that was incompatible with the LED spotlights. This was a simple swap that took only a couple of minutes to do and it works perfectly. I had read that it might need programming to get it to work with different lighting setups, but this was not necessary for me.
It dims down to a very low level and is very smooth in its graduation through to max output. There is a slight delay (c. 1 second) between changing the brightness on the switch and the lights changing, but you soon get used to it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what is says!
21 Jan 2016
By
, suffolk
" Installed the dimmer switch because had buzzing in old one and it's perfect now and it works well with the lap cool white gu10 spotlights I bought from screw fix as well!! "
Review 3 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for LED.
17 Nov 2015
By
, colchester
" After much researching into trailing and leading edge dimmers for LED. i decided on this one. It works perfectly ! I have single gang running 1x bulb@4Watt and also the 2 way 2 gang version of this switch running 65 watts led Downlighters. The switch has a special learn feature, so it gets the optimal dim for your circuit. So easy to set up and the dim is smooth with NO flicker. NO buzzing.. IF YOU NEED A LED DIMMER, THIS IS THE ONLY ONE TO USE. I ALSO FOUND SCREWFIX LED BULBS part no. 3797G .. 2700K, 5 WATT.. they give such a good light , exactly the same brightness and real warmth of a old halogen bulb "
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Varilight dimmer excellent
4 Nov 2015
By
, Ross on wye,hereford
" Found just what I wanted with this switch not all switches being suitable for purpose.previous reviews pointed me in right direction.Easy to understand and install,works well.Great screw fix service from helpful friendly staff. "
Review 5 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Varilight trailing edge dimmer
31 Oct 2015
By
, Wolverhampton
" I bought this dimmer switch for going onto LED
dimmable bulbs, this dimmer is of good quality and made for the job with push on push off switch and rotational dimming, with trailing edge technology of which stops your LED's from flickering between brightness and fade positions.
This varilight dimmer switch replaces my old dimmer switch which had leading edge technology, this old dimmer switch worked well with halogen bulbs but caused my LED's to flicker badly when dimming the lights.
I used the new varilight 400 watt dimmer switch, which has a soft start function, with six, 6 watt LED's
what a difference, excellent operation.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Dimmer Switch
28 Oct 2015
By
, Alfreton
" No buzzing, no flicking very easy to fit.
It took me three attempts to find this switch the other two 'leading brands, were very poor and made constant buzzing sounds when fitted.
I would choose this led dimmer switch again. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best dimmer so far
23 Jun 2015
By
, Leicester
" This is a lovely dimmer that can dim leds without a flickering problem, only down side is i cant seem to find the same dimmer in chrome or brushed chrome for some customers that have chrome already around the house "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pretty good for price
14 May 2015
By
, Lincolnshire
" Good reasonably silent as for daughter's bedroom. Some very very slight buzz if you put your ear right up to it, but way better than non- trailing edge dimmers
Nice firm terminals and in general quality pretty good for price
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Varilight Trailing Light
6 May 2015
By
, Mobberley, Cheshire
" I recently replaced my halogen bulbs for LED and choosing the right dimmer is always a challenge. You need a trainling edge dimmer for LED / Low Voltage lights and these are more expensive than the standard Leading Edge dimmers. I found these to be the msot competive on price and worked very well. Look no further than Screwfix for your lighting accessories.. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted
22 Apr 2015
By
, Scotland
" Delighted with this dimmer... Always nervous buying LED related items, and there seem to be so many problems. Other reviews put me at ease, and I'm pleased to say installing this and getting it to work was a breeze.
I'm using it with 6 x 6 watt dimmable LEDs from eslewhere and it works perfectly. Quiet. Functional.
I didn't need to adjust the factory settings, though I tried to set the minimum dimness to less, but it was already at minimum possible, so to speak.
I'd prefer if it went a little dimmer on the minimum setting, simply because it's my toddler's bedroom - on minimum it's too bright to be used as a "nightlight" - but the product is great and works fine. I'll be buying more... "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Varilight Dimmer
27 Mar 2015
By
, Merseyside
" The Varilight Pro Dimmer range are absolutely fantastic.
They do more than you could want from a dimmer.
Highly recommend,
Brilliant "
Review 12 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Varlight Trailing edge dimmer
26 Mar 2015
By
, Cleveleys
" This dimmer is not only great value for money and simple to install but it is really good in operation. It is silent and dims the lights really low. I bought two of these units, one was used to control two 7watt dimmable LED down lights and the other controlled 5 of the same. Both dimmers worked perfectly. The manufacture quality also appears good as the units are robust. I recommend this item. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly customisable
15 Mar 2015
By
, Southampton
" This thing has more operating variables than i could ever have imagined that you would require in a switch. Out of the box, factory settings worked just fine, but I tweaked the bottom end brightness down a bit anyway.
Runs leds silently and controllably. Has a "push on" action with a soft start which will increase bulb life even further "
Review 14 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stopped the buzzing
2 Feb 2015
By
, Bracknell
" Recently swapped to LED GU10s in one of the bedrooms and had a constant buzz when not on full power.
Changed the dimmer switch to this model after reading reviews and now absolutely silent. Everything worked on the standard settings without having to switch modes. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Dimmer!
10 Dec 2014
By
, Bedfordshire
" I have tried other cheaper dimmers for LEDs and this one is massively superior!
No issues with this unit at all and will be buying more :-)
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value LED dimmer switch
18 Nov 2014
By
, Teynham
" Great programmable dimmer switch designed to be used with modern day LED's. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent dimmer
4 Aug 2014
By
, Gloucester
" I purchased this to replace an old dimmer that was not really suitable for an LED lamp, although it did dim the lamp.
The new dimmer is excellent, works over the full range of dim to full, worked straight out of the box and there is no buzzing at all from the dimmer or lamp (unlike the old dimmer where the lamp buzzed). You can change the settings on this dimmer if necessary, although I did not need to.
Only been fitted a few days so I cannot really comment on the reliability, but I hope it's as good as the excellent performance.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value LED Dimmer Switch
5 Jun 2014
By
, St Ives
" It does what it says with no hassle and great value. "
Review 19 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Worked with my LEDs!
6 Mar 2014
By
, Ipswich
" I have tried several switches to find one that will work with the Integral LED bulbs I bought elsewhere, but this one works fine.
I have three 6.5W dimmable LEDs in an old lamp, my 15yr old MK soft start dimmer wasn't happy without a regular incandescent bulb, nor where two cheaper switches from screwfix.
This switch however has solved this problem and is also able to dim a single 6.5W LED.
Looking through the instructions highlighted that it is capable of different Leading or Trailing edge modes too. So if it initially doesn't work (default mode1) you can modify it with a sequence of pushes/turns.
Reliability has yet to be proven, but review system requires a marking. This is why I have marked it as average.
Well chuffed.
"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 1G 1/2W 400W/VA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Varilight Trailing Edge dimmer
8 Feb 2014
By
, Farnborough
" Used this dimmer with the LAP LED GU10 lights, also sold by screwfix (5W dimmable version screwfix# 36891) and it worked perfectly. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>