Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xpelair DX100H Humidistat Fan

Xpelair DX100H Humidistat Fan
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Review 1 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Useful humidistat feature
18 Dec 2014
By Brilec
, Addlestone
" Bought this to replace an old one in the bathroom. Nice that it comes on automatically, and is much quieter than the one it replaced. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good extractors
27 Nov 2014
By Cormick
, Settle
" I have fitted these in a number of bathrooms as a direct replacement, possibly not the quietest of fans, but I'm not fitting them in library's. Only gone for 4 stars on reliability as none of the ones I have fitted have been in long, but appear to be well made. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Xpelair
27 Oct 2014
By Jershe
, CHichester
" Very pleased with this product. We collected this from alocal store and had it fitted the next day. It is efficient and quiet. "
Review 4 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quiet effective fan
27 Oct 2014
By Matthew1974
, Edinburgh
" This fan is so quiet I cannot hear if it goes on when having a shower. Has made a big difference in clearing bathroom of steam and reducing mould etc.
If fitting through brickwork you will find the need to buy longer length of pipe- screwfix stocks this also- costs less than £2.
I fitted mine on ceiling above bath and it works great- should have got one years ago. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
extractor
19 Sep 2014
By daisymay
, Birmingham
" great product much quieter than my old one excellent. "
Review 6 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very quiet
31 Jul 2014
By Zilli
, Watford
" Very good fan very low noise output, Make sure that the base is level as it is flimsy and fan can foul housing. works with any need for adjustment. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quiet and effective
23 Jul 2014
By CJ39
, SE London
" I have fitted a few different makes of humidity fan but this is easily the quietest, easy to wire in and also comes with all ducting and outside louvre so you don't need to buy anything else.
Excellent! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fan with humidstat that works
1 Jul 2014
By Boatdiy
, Westcliff on Sea
" Bought to replace old basic fan. This one has humidistat and timer. Other Screwfix reviews commented on this and a different model so went for Xpelair one.
Showered this morning and on it came automatically.
Only wanted fan as it was replacing a fan but you get the wall fixing kit as well.
Good product.
"
Review 9 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable
25 May 2014
By ScrewfixIsGreat
, Norfolk
" These are great I only ever fit these when a customer specifies they want a Humidistat extractor as they are the only units I have come across that actually work as intended, Very good! also is a bonus is everything comes in the box for wall and window installation. "
Review 10 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect
21 May 2014
By ChirpyChippie
, Manchester
" Exactly what we needed, Humidistat works perfectly.
Fan has in fitted for a number of months now ..................... was made even better by getting it for £39.95 ! "
Review 11 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as advertised
28 Feb 2014
By ChatsworthRed
, West Midlands
" I bought this to replace our existing bathroom fan which was switch operated, so was either permanently on or never on.
This actually works really well for humidity, i have installed the manrose one in a different property but could never to get it to switch on through humidity however much I tried to tweak the settings.
I had relatively low expectations with this one, but the humidity stat just works straight out of the box, I haven't connected it to the lighting circuit, due to no feed being present and the walls being tiled so changing the cable would be pain. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb, just the job
14 Dec 2013
By Dan4DIY
, Poole
" I installed this in my bathroom which tended to fill with steam and condensation when using the shower.
I installed it in the ceiling, didn't adjust it or alter the factory settings, just installed as-is. I did not connect it to the light switch just left it to automatically come on.
Now whenever we use the shower, within 20 seconds or so it switches on itself and runs until all the steam has gone, even the mirror is clear.
Couldn't be more pleased! It's quiet, powerful and seems to work great. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Quality
24 Aug 2013
By KingJon
, Essex
" You get what you pay for. This is Just about the best "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Humidistat Fan Good Choice
16 Dec 2014
By TechSupport
, Loughborough
" I didn't want a fan that would come on each time the bathroom lights were used so I thought the humidistat would work for me.
Installation was straight forward and the fan feels of good quality.
In use the fan starts before you can notice steam in the air and runs smootly and pretty quietly until the air is clear, not that much vapour builds up, (a great change from the water running down the walls that we were used to).
If the reliability proves to be an issue I'll report back but so far well worth installing.
"
Review 15 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quiet unit
7 Dec 2014
By tommo101
, cornwall
" a good little unit....fairly easy to install....quiet, small, unobtrusive "
Review 16 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good, but not great
2 Nov 2014
By thermidor
, South West
" I fitted this into a bathroom as the house was starting to get a bit damp in the run-up to winter.
This unit is intended to be permanently live (not switched off a light switch); it decides when the humidity is too high and cuts in and out as it needs to. The advantage of this is the fan isn't running at times it's not needed - such as when you go to the loo in the middle of the night.
There are two controls: one for the humidity trigger level, and the other for the timer. The manual says the timer is adjustable so that you can set how long it stays on if connected to a switch (in which case it will turn on automatically when the switch is turned, then turn off after the timer expires or when the humidity falls below the threshhold, whichever is longer). Note that if you set it up like this, when you turn the light switch off again, the fan will NOT stay on - there is no facility to connect both permanent and switched lives.
I used the factory settings but found the fan was cutting in and out too often. I turned up the timer potentiometer to stop it cutting out so quickly; although the manual doesn't seem to say this is what it's for, it appears to have worked. It's not obvious which potentiometer is which but they are labelled on the PCB if you look carefully.
Other reviewers are saying this fan is quiet, but mine isn't. It's averagely noisy, but nowhere NEAR as quiet as some of the whisper-quiet fans which are becoming fashionable at the moment. If you want a quiet fan, don't buy this one.
For the price you get a well-built unit, and many of the fixings you're likely to need to mount it. There are cheaper humidistat fans, but the reviews of the others don't inspire me with confidence.
Apart from the noise, the other disappointment is that the throughput doesn't seem any more than adequate. I had hoped for a bit more oomph.
Backdraft protection is an added bonus and worth having - it helps stop the shutters on the vent from flapping in the breeze, and avoids cold air blowing back in through the fan.
For the money this is a good buy, but if you want a quiet, powerful fan be prepared to pay more.
I haven't had it long enough to know if it's reliable so it gets a standard 3 stars; however, the light on mine doesn't appear to work.
If installing this in a location containing a bath or shower, be aware that it may be notifiable work (depending on exact location), so may need to be done by a registered electrician who can certify it and notify Building Control. It will also need a suitable isolator (such as switched fused connection unit). "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Extractor fan
8 Oct 2014
By Zygi
, London
" Ordered online, kept informed straight away of
Shipment. Delivered as promised. Product well packed, works well
"
Review 18 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not so quiet a fan after all
4 Dec 2014
By LondonLandlord
, London
" I am happy with the Xpelair DX100HTA from a performance point of view as an efficient fan for clearing excess moisture from the shower room, but I have to disagree with others on this review board about the noise level. I have ceiling mounted it and rate it as extremely noisy. I have bought much more expensive quiet fans in the past and thought this might be a mid way solution. I bought three of these. Two of them are going straight back. The other one is going in the bin as soon as I have bought a better & quieter replacement. Shame for Xpelair as it was quite a pleasant surprise to see "made in United Kingdom" on the box. Don't see that often! "
Review 19 for Xpelair DX100H 12W Axial Bathroom Extractor Fan with Humidistat & Timer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NOT IPX4
17 Oct 2014
By BKH011
, South East
" When you open the fan it states IP25, had to return it and go back to the job again, no good for bathroom or shower min IP44 needed !!! "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.