Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NN Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr

NN Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Average Customer Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
39 of 41(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Review 1 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good.
16 Feb 2016
By
, Norfolk
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I used the vanish to some plywood flooring
Sanded with 240 grid and then applied a first coat with 10% water. Then added 3 coats. Then a light sand again of 240 and a final coat and she came out great. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
super no nonsense
10 Feb 2016
By
, colchester
" laid it straight down on sanded floors (both pine and oak) used a mask for the smell (not bad)
coat was dry by morning in a cold (near 0) and drafty house.
Colour builds up nicely on pine, and gives oak a superb warm glow.
1 tin covered (3 bedrooms a lounge and staircase and hall) not bad.
3 coats done, looking to do a light sand back and a final coat! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wife passed
8 Nov 2015
By
, Bion France
" Purchase for floors in old school house in France. Passed the 'wife' test. That says it all. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best quick drying varnish
6 Nov 2015
By
, Boston
" Bought this product to seal some outdoor plaques that our residents have decorated, it worked really well, it was low odour, easy to apply and very quick drying which is just what we needed for the type of people that it was being used by, would definitely buy again "
Review 5 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satin finish no nonsense varni
11 Sep 2015
By
, Trossachs
" Excellent as per almost all products I have purchased from screw fix
Easy to apply quick drying and provided the users don't forget to sand lightly between coasts excellent finish from an excellent product at a highly competitive price
Don't need to go for the big brand names with this
I"ll be purchasing more shortly for both bedrooms
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No Nonsense Varnish for stairs
3 Aug 2015
By
, Kent
" Bought to varnish wooden stairs I had stained. Applied very easily and dried fast. Instructions and information on the tin were accurate. Would like more choices of size and/or the price reduced but it is competitive. Have only applied two coats so far so can't comment on longevity but it seems as though it will do well. "
Review 7 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the Job
19 Jul 2015
By
, Nr Goole
" It says it all on the tin, low odour quick drying, water based. A very good product and reasonably priced. Gets my vote! "
Review 8 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, good product!!
6 Jun 2015
By
, Newport
" I've used this on my stairs and I like the finish this varnish gives. Quick drying, no bad smell overall good product in my opinion. "
Review 9 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Finish
21 Apr 2015
By
, Swindon
" I have just completed a solid wood flooring project on the entire ground floor of my house. I needed a varnish that for obvious reasons had to be quick drying, and reviewed several products before settling on this one.
I am glad I did. Taking advice I applied the varnish with a large micro fibre cloth to give a streak and hotspot free finish, and applied two coats, sanding only once before the third coat. The results are outstanding.
The tin states touch dry in 1 hour and re-coatable in 4. I found touch dry in 20 minutes and re-coatable in 1.5 hours. I am sure this has a lot to do with the timber (pre UV oiled) but was nonetheless very time and effort friendly. Excellent product and highly recommended "
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
7 Mar 2015
By
, St Levan, Penzance
" First time I've used this varnish and was most impressed with it. Easy to apply, covers brilliantly, dries quickly with an even finish and all at a low cost. This is a no-brainer. Highly recommended product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what you need
18 Feb 2015
By
, Preston
" I bought the Trade Floor Varnish recently and found its straight forward to use, give great coverage and gives a strong durable finish. It is great value for money and I highly recommend it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very quick drying.
29 Jan 2015
By
, Gainsborough
" This varnish dries very quick. Bought to cover some upcycled painted furniture. Second coat went on within 30 minutes. Used a fine brush and got an excellent finish. Nice to have water based varnish because it doesn't pong like solvent based stuff and you can wash your brush under the tap also saving you stink and extra cost of buying white spirit. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product.
20 Jan 2015
By
, Norfolk
" We have just used this to treat a 5m x 5m new pine floor and it worked perfectly. The first coat was watered down 10:1 and the subsequent ones applied unthinned. We kept the room warm (its frosty outside) and well ventilated and the coats all were touch-dry in an hour and could be overcoated in three to four. Being water-based there is very little odour, and what there is isn't unpleasant at all.
I had a query about using a water-based stain in conjunction with it and both Screwfix and the manufacturer were more than helpful.
Like other No Nonsense products I have used, I can thoroughly recommend it. Its cheap and I'm cheerful! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
14 Jan 2015
By
, Aberdeenshire
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" laid a couple of floors of reclaimed pitch pine parquet, couldnt decide what to finish it with (hard wax oil or posh varnish or just no nonsense). ended up going for this as it was in stock and could get it same day, and the reviews were very positive. its every bit as good as i'd hoped, just like you'd want it to work. followed instructions exactly, watered down, sanded lightly between coats etc. I used an emulsion block brush worked well. just over 1 tin did 18 sq m all 3 coats. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solid
31 Dec 2014
By
, wiltshire
" this is a quick drying floor varnish. to get good results you do need to apply a lot of coats but it dries that quickly it doesnt matter too much. when finished the floor is withstanding wear from two dogs and three kids very well and still looks as good as it did when i first applied the varnish. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top floor varnish
7 Nov 2014
By
, wrexham
" A top product at a great price easy to use and quick to dry "
Review 17 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No nonsense varnish
24 Sep 2014
By
, Crumlin, Co.Antrim
" I have been buying this no nonsense quick drying varnish from Screwfix for years and it's great, does what it says on the tin "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Nonsense
29 Aug 2014
By
, Glenrothes
" No Nonsense floor varnish is a great varnish excellent coverage and a great finish too best of all half the price of the leading brands definately use NO Nonsense products again and would highly recommend them. "
Review 19 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top product
14 Jul 2014
By
, London
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Just finished applying this to some floorboards that I sanded back with a floor sander. Provides a top finish if you follow all of the instructions on the side of the tin.
For me, this meant using water to thin the first coat to seal the wood. The second coat I put straight over, 24 hours later. Then once that was dry, I sanded lightly by hand to take the "edge' off with 120 grit paper, hoovered and then wiped with a damp cloth and left it to air dry. After the third coat it was looking really good, so I decided to go for the sandpaper one last time - and the end results are great.
As with everything you get what you put in - and don't get worried about sanding your hard work after it's dry - while it may feel slightly self defeating it definitely provides a better finish for your final coat. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Floor Varnish Satin 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a no brainer
8 Jul 2014
By
, Wales.
" Simply the best value for money with exceptional quality. Really no need to consider other products. Have used this to varnish pine floor boards and also when renovating a parquet floor. Excellent. "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>