Product Reviews

Acrylic Undercoat White 2.5Ltr

Acrylic Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
9 of 18(50%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Review 1 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent undercoat
12 Nov 2015
By
, Stourbridge
" A great product that covers well and an added bonus of being quick dry so less time waiting around to carry on with the top cost. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primer
11 Oct 2015
By
, Cardiff
" Good quality product and great price - covered well and not too thin so little dripping. "
Review 3 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value primer.
2 Apr 2015
By
, Penzance
" This primer undercoat compares favorably with paints costing the same for a third of the amount. "
Review 4 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, good coverage
20 Aug 2015
By
, Surrey
" Used this on a tanalised fence prior to undercoating. Covered as well as any other branded paint I've used and dried nicely - not too quick so as to cause brush clogging if you know what I mean. Day wasn't hot mind, just normal temp. I also used a mini foam roller which also performed well. Recommended. "
Review 5 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Acrylic undercoat/primer
24 Jun 2015
By
, Derby
" A paint that flows on well and covers very well,and at a good price.There is quite an amount of thickness at the bottom of the tin, but stirs in quite quickly and must add to the content. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad primer
11 Apr 2015
By
, Maidstone
" So in my work I use lots of this primer and as a money saving idea thought I would try this, overall not a bad primer. As normal I thinned it by 10 - 15% otherwise these are much too thick to use, it covered well but was a little harder to flatten down before undercoating but that might be because I needed to thin it slightly more. Overall good value and will use again.
P.s there are a few reviews on here complaining about not being able to stir in the lumps at the bottom, all large tins of primer have these so just leave them be and ignore its there!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent primer/undercoat
17 Aug 2014
By
, Sunderland
" Needs a good stir before using but after you've done this its as good as any of the main painting brands acrylic primer u/c.I know its classed as an undercoat as well as a primer & it does a decent job of undercoating but for a top class finish with less brush marks i prefer using a stand alone U/C after priming with this.All in all its a decent product for a decent price. "
Review 8 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best primer ever
26 Mar 2014
By
, Barnsley South Yorks
" Having used this product is the best I`ve used against other brands,hope screwfix keep it in stock. "
Review 9 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good stuff!!
20 Jul 2013
By
, Bedfordshire
" Usually go for Leyland but thought I would give this a try. Needs a good stir first.......but liked the way it performed. Good opacity and dried quickly.
Now I think I actually prefer it.!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A mixed review
30 Nov 2015
By
, Market Harborough
" Whilst this paint goes on nicely and covers well, I found the same problem as another reviewer - there is a thick layer of semi-solid paint at the bottom of the tin. It's too thick to stir it in so will be wasted. I haven't got to the bottom yet, but guess there's about 20% of "solid" paint at the bottom. Shame because it's otherwise a good paint. "
Review 11 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Leyland Acrylic U/C is better
10 Sep 2014
By
, London
" Does not mix well, and very drippy. Got this in error instead of the previously used Leyland equivalent. Finish is the same but Leyland much easier to use and same price. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor quality
26 Jul 2013
By
, huddersfield
" not impressed, was all lumpy at the bottom and unable to mix. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Paint crackling
7 Feb 2016
By
, South East
" I dont know if i got a bad batch but my paint had a thick layer on the bottom as others have said. I used a mechanical stirrer to mix it in and this may have been a mistake.
I was painting some skirting boards which had been treated with woodworm killer the paint went on OK but on drying it looked like it had shrunk away from the wood and cracked - like a crackle glaze.
I put this down to the woodworm treatment somehow repelling the paint however I have recently painted some virgin white wood architrave and unfortunately had exactly the same effect. Twice bitten third time shy so the paints gone down the tip.
I could have sworn I'd used this paint with no issues or thick bottom layers before and wonder if the formulas been changed.
"
Review 14 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst primer/undercoat ever!
6 Nov 2015
By
, Tonbridge, Kent
" It's unusual for Screwfix to supply poor general purpose products! I've just purchased 3x 2.5 litre cans of this acrylic primer/undercoat and all cans appear to have the same problem. It may be down to old stock or a formula mix up!
Most acrylics are good to go from opening the can but this had a thick layer of sediment at the bottom. I tried to stir this in, but the layer was too solid. I used the paint as best I could, the results of which were like eggshell finish (when rolled) and difficult to rub down when dry. The layer remained at the bottom and resembled soft rubber. Needless to say the other 2 cans are going back to be exchanged for Leyland's product.
"
Review 15 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor product
6 Oct 2015
By
, Leeds
" Used this product on bare and previously painted woodwork which was prepared well. Same problems happened on both during application which was sagging when drying even though well brushed out and reacting badly to further top coats of water based satinwood. I have used other brands in the past with excellent results. Took this product back to get a refund! "
Review 16 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Paints like water
18 Apr 2015
By
, Plymouth
" Despite its name, this is no use as an undercoat paint. Agree with other users that it is difficult to stir - never come across a paint with such thick lumps like this. I cannot comment on its effeciency on bare paint, but as an undercoat, it went on like water. It did not stick to the previous paint (I did rub down well to give a good key). I wiped it all off and went out and purchased some better undercoat paint. "
Review 17 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst ever primer
11 Jun 2014
By
, Cheddar
" This primer was a disaster.
Impossible to mix, even with a mechanical mixing paddle.
This is my second try at 'No Nonsense' paint. The first was emulsion with similar excruciating mixing characteristics - but a least it finally mixed.
Low turnover/old stock perhaps? "
Review 18 for No Nonsense Trade Acrylic Primer Undercoat White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The one to AVOID
17 Jul 2013
By
, London
" Very thin runny paint, with lots of paint stuck at the bottom of the tin. Regardless of what you do to mix it, it won't mix. Avoid it not even worth concidering. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.