Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Versatile saw, ideal for construction work, carpentry and joinery. Supplied with carry case, carbide-tipped TCT blade and hex wrench.

Versatile saw, ideal for construction work, carpentry and joinery. Supplied with carry case, carbide-tipped TCT blade and hex wrench.
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Review 1 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality at a great price
18 Apr 2014
By Crankshaft
, Manchester
"Having had most of the diy brands before I decided to treat myself to a proper 110v saw, I wasn't disappointed with this Makita.
Quiet yet powerful and an effortless cut in everything from t&g to worktops (gives a clean cut in worktops if you cut them upside down).
The blade that's included cuts very well too.
My only criticism would be the slightly flimsy rip fence.
Thoroughly recommended.
"
Review 2 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great piece of kit
6 Feb 2014
By Loadstodo
, Huntley Glouc
"Not used it loads yet but works very well on long board runs etc. Does need a guide tho as will twist easily. Worth checking the bed for accuracy mine arrived with marks all lined up but was out of true, so now has new zero degree marks. Other than that comfortable good tool"
Review 3 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marvellous Makita
4 Jul 2012
By MikeTibet
, Milton Keynes
"I am renovating an old house that requires a considerable amount of cutting large sheets of MDF, hardwood and softwood. I have in the past purchased Bosch and other branded power tools, all of which have failed at various points in the short life. I converted to Makita recently starting with their awesome hammer/chisel drill that powered through 2ft thick walls like a razor through butter. The decision to buy the Makita 5704RK was proven correct. It is powerful, stable and does what it says on the tin. In addition Screwfix deliver the goods on time. Excellent job Makita and Screwfix."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Makita Quality
27 May 2012
By Edmunds
, South East England
"Bought this as the first 240 circular saw that I have ever owned, normally have just used my Makita cordless circular saw up until now. Honestly don't know how i never bought one before.
Has great power, weighted well, brilliant dust extract feature, had mine working in conjunction with my Earlex hoover and it was fantastic at pulling all the swarf up. Blade it comes with is pretty good and unlike other reviewers I found I could get a good cut with it if I moved slowly through the doors I was cutting down. However a thin fast cut blade would be better, Will be buying one this week. Haven't got anything bad to say really on the product. Cable length could be a bit longer!!??? Possibly.
If your considering buying its a no brainer. Makita tools all the way."
Review 5 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usual Makita....Top Value
14 May 2009
By LancsJoiner
, Lancashire
"You get the usual Makita standard with this tool. I expect i'll still be using this saw in years to come.
First job I used it on was to cut 45mm solid firedoors down. I had to stop it to check it was cutting it...it was that smooth. Only bad point is like a previous reviewer commented on, it would be better with a slightly finer blade, but other than that its still the best rip saw i've used for this price range.
"
Review 6 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent saw.
9 May 2009
By peanuts
, West London
"This saw is a great piece of kit. It cuts true and has all the power you need for a saw of this size. The saw is well built but is relatively light. It also comes with a good quality blade. I doubt that you could get a better saw especially at this price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
30 Apr 2009
By NoNeck
, Norfolk
"I bought this thinking it will do for now until I can afford one of the much more expensive, fancy looking saws. Other than corded vs cordless I now see no reason, as this saw is excellent.
I've only had it for a week or two so I can't really judge the reliability, I gave it 5 stars based on previous experience with Makitia products including chop (mitre) saws, all excellent.
The blade that comes with it is very rough indeed, I'd naively hoped it would be more of an average cut. I was however able to make a more than respectable MDF cabinet with a little bit of filling and sanding on the edges. Now coupled with a 24 tooth Bosch speed cut blade, the cuts are perfect, no sanding needed.
This is the first circular saw I've owned, even used. The only use I can see for a table saw now would be cutting materials which are already narrow. It's easier to run the saw over the workpiece than the workpiece over the saw, certainly when dealing with large sheet materials on your own.
For 90 quid this is unbeatable, it's already made its money back by making me 2 pieces of furniture."
Review 8 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great saw
20 Aug 2008
By elbarto
, warwickshire
"an excellent saw.
I needed it to cut somw 2.5 inch solid thick pine worktops and it went through them no problem.
nice accurate cut"
Review 9 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb piece of kit
18 Aug 2008
By natty15d
, Fife
"Bought this to cut up new softwood railway sleepers and it went through them like a knife through butter.
Im always a bit wary using power tools but this one is really nicely balanced with a very smooth strong motor.
Would highly recommend it
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now that's what I call a saw.
16 May 2008
By Cornishcrofter
, Cornwall
"I bought this on the recommendation of a well respected chippy, and he knew what he was talking about.
They seemed to have every aspect of the design right. The saw cuts beautifully and accurately, and above all it feels safe to use.
There is no kickback from the blade and the whole assembly is 100% true so cutting against straight edges camped down onto the job gives as good a cut as passing the job though a bench saw.
Anyone who has had a headache using a £35 saw really needs to try this. I used mine to trim up a load of genuine victorian pine doors for refitting into new linings and it was completely effortless.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita cost beater
20 Mar 2008
By ls13plumbing
, Leeds
"Dont bother with a cheap alternative or a brand you have never heard of. Have used this dozens of times and always had true cuts and minimum scabs."
Review 12 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita excellence
7 Mar 2008
By Dubhead
, North Yorkshire
"Excellent value circular saw. Easy to use and comfortable in use"
Review 13 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust, solid and accurate
2 Jun 2014
By WilliamIII
, Cumbria
"Fitted a fine 48tooth Bosch crosscut blade to cut 3 inch oak, the result was surprisingly clean and accurate.
There is no soft start but the cut is pretty smooth.
Impressed so far, hopefully the reliability will be up to the Makita standard."
Review 14 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
14 Aug 2012
By Aidan
, Dundee
"Cuts cleanly, easily adjustable, solidly built. Very happy with the purchase."
Review 15 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value saw
14 Aug 2012
By SBSurrey
, Surrey
"Great saw well built and works very well on a range of materials.
The blade included is ok for rough cutting but a finer one is needed for use with higher quality materials.
The fence is poor and lacks accuracy needed for precision work.
Overall, a good product.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Saw
8 Nov 2011
By CCREST
, Oxford
"As with all Makita kit, seems built to last and powers through all tasks.
I have added a finer blade for wood (using on laminates at moment) and this has improved the cut.
"
Review 17 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best
7 Mar 2008
By Brits
, Aberdeen
"Tried a few circular saws but none have lasted. This is as good as a professional saw, easy to use, smooth action and excellent value."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good saw shame about the fence
26 Mar 2013
By chippychap
, Birmingham
"Just bought this saw and ive only used it to do 3 cuts ,taking 10mm off each side of a moulded door and 10mm off the bottom. first cut down one side went all over the place....reason?....the rip fence is a total load of rubbish!.... for one thing its only about 40mm long so it hasnt got a chance to hold and stabilise the saw properly(my dads b&d saw that was about 50quid has a better fence than this and is more accurate) secondly theres too much movement once its tightened up,and thirdly there are no measurement markings on it at all. In the end I had to go over the first cut and clamp on a straight edge as a guide(this is how i will do all cuts from now on with this saw unless i can source a better fence somehow. so apart from the fence its seems like a nice little saw, its light, its feels well built generally and you get a decent enough case that makes it easy to carry and store."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solid tool
18 May 2011
By Lilrossy
, Hertfordshire
"Solid enough tool the only draw back is the blade it does leave a very rough cut not clean!"