Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita 190mm Circular Saw 240v

Makita 190mm Circular Saw 240v
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 30(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Review 1 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good saw
1 Jun 2015
By Dawid82
, Tottenham
" Good saw,good price will recommend to everyone
Done the job very well
"
Review 2 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best cut
30 May 2015
By freddy74me
, Andover
" Very good quality and price. Does exactly what I want it to "
Review 3 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
effortless saw
30 May 2015
By redtop
, bishop auckland
" Used this to cut timber for my summer house. Effortless power and no signs of any slowdown. Could have come with a finer blade for the delicates but hey you dont get everything in life.
only thing that happened with me was the rubber surround that covers the wire going into the plastic housing popped out. Obviously didnt affect the saw or its capabilities in any way hence why there is no stars lost. Easily popped back in.
great saw you wont need any more power than this for general use.
"
Review 4 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another Winner for Makita
29 May 2015
By CornwallSimon
, Torpoint
" Now using it to build decking. Superb value for money and well engineered. "
Review 5 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great saw
29 May 2015
By CamH
, Oxford
" It's really a pleasure to use, made me realise how bad my previous one was.
Comfortable to hold and easy to make quick cuts accurately.
everything you want in a corded saw.
"
Review 6 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant circular saw
5 May 2015
By busyboy1
, march
" great saw, worth every penny, easy to use, comfatable grip, precise and clean cut. "
Review 7 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value
29 Mar 2015
By JSJames
, Bangor
" I use this saw almost every day running my fencing business. Great saw, comfortable to use, quiet on the ears, cuts fast and clean, easy to use. Does exactly what its made for, and a great price! Would highly recommend! "
Review 8 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita 5704RK
16 Dec 2014
By MonkeyBiz
, Devon
" So good i bought a second in case they changed anything. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita Circular Saw
12 Aug 2014
By Pugwas
, London
" Great saw, comfortable to use. I will enjoy using it on most of my DIY projects "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality at a great price
18 Apr 2014
By Crankshaft
, Manchester
" Having had most of the diy brands before I decided to treat myself to a proper 110v saw, I wasn't disappointed with this Makita.
Quiet yet powerful and an effortless cut in everything from t&g to worktops (gives a clean cut in worktops if you cut them upside down).
The blade that's included cuts very well too.
My only criticism would be the slightly flimsy rip fence.
Thoroughly recommended.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great piece of kit
6 Feb 2014
By Loadstodo
, Huntley Glouc
" Not used it loads yet but works very well on long board runs etc. Does need a guide tho as will twist easily. Worth checking the bed for accuracy mine arrived with marks all lined up but was out of true, so now has new zero degree marks. Other than that comfortable good tool "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marvellous Makita
4 Jul 2012
By MikeTibet
, Milton Keynes
" I am renovating an old house that requires a considerable amount of cutting large sheets of MDF, hardwood and softwood. I have in the past purchased Bosch and other branded power tools, all of which have failed at various points in the short life. I converted to Makita recently starting with their awesome hammer/chisel drill that powered through 2ft thick walls like a razor through butter. The decision to buy the Makita 5704RK was proven correct. It is powerful, stable and does what it says on the tin. In addition Screwfix deliver the goods on time. Excellent job Makita and Screwfix. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Makita Quality
27 May 2012
By Edmunds
, South East England
" Bought this as the first 240 circular saw that I have ever owned, normally have just used my Makita cordless circular saw up until now. Honestly don't know how i never bought one before.
Has great power, weighted well, brilliant dust extract feature, had mine working in conjunction with my Earlex hoover and it was fantastic at pulling all the swarf up. Blade it comes with is pretty good and unlike other reviewers I found I could get a good cut with it if I moved slowly through the doors I was cutting down. However a thin fast cut blade would be better, Will be buying one this week. Haven't got anything bad to say really on the product. Cable length could be a bit longer!!??? Possibly.
If your considering buying its a no brainer. Makita tools all the way. "
Review 14 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usual Makita....Top Value
14 May 2009
By LancsJoiner
, Lancashire
" You get the usual Makita standard with this tool. I expect i'll still be using this saw in years to come.
First job I used it on was to cut 45mm solid firedoors down. I had to stop it to check it was cutting it...it was that smooth. Only bad point is like a previous reviewer commented on, it would be better with a slightly finer blade, but other than that its still the best rip saw i've used for this price range.
"
Review 15 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent saw.
9 May 2009
By peanuts
, West London
" This saw is a great piece of kit. It cuts true and has all the power you need for a saw of this size. The saw is well built but is relatively light. It also comes with a good quality blade. I doubt that you could get a better saw especially at this price. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb
30 Apr 2009
By NoNeck
, Norfolk
" I bought this thinking it will do for now until I can afford one of the much more expensive, fancy looking saws. Other than corded vs cordless I now see no reason, as this saw is excellent.
I've only had it for a week or two so I can't really judge the reliability, I gave it 5 stars based on previous experience with Makitia products including chop (mitre) saws, all excellent.
The blade that comes with it is very rough indeed, I'd naively hoped it would be more of an average cut. I was however able to make a more than respectable MDF cabinet with a little bit of filling and sanding on the edges. Now coupled with a 24 tooth Bosch speed cut blade, the cuts are perfect, no sanding needed.
This is the first circular saw I've owned, even used. The only use I can see for a table saw now would be cutting materials which are already narrow. It's easier to run the saw over the workpiece than the workpiece over the saw, certainly when dealing with large sheet materials on your own.
For 90 quid this is unbeatable, it's already made its money back by making me 2 pieces of furniture. "
Review 17 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great saw
20 Aug 2008
By elbarto
, warwickshire
" an excellent saw.
I needed it to cut somw 2.5 inch solid thick pine worktops and it went through them no problem.
nice accurate cut "
Review 18 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb piece of kit
18 Aug 2008
By natty15d
, Fife
" Bought this to cut up new softwood railway sleepers and it went through them like a knife through butter.
Im always a bit wary using power tools but this one is really nicely balanced with a very smooth strong motor.
Would highly recommend it
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now that's what I call a saw.
16 May 2008
By Cornishcrofter
, Cornwall
" I bought this on the recommendation of a well respected chippy, and he knew what he was talking about.
They seemed to have every aspect of the design right. The saw cuts beautifully and accurately, and above all it feels safe to use.
There is no kickback from the blade and the whole assembly is 100% true so cutting against straight edges camped down onto the job gives as good a cut as passing the job though a bench saw.
Anyone who has had a headache using a £35 saw really needs to try this. I used mine to trim up a load of genuine victorian pine doors for refitting into new linings and it was completely effortless.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Makita 5704RK 190mm Circular Saw 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita cost beater
20 Mar 2008
By ls13plumbing
, Leeds
" Dont bother with a cheap alternative or a brand you have never heard of. Have used this dozens of times and always had true cuts and minimum scabs. "
Page : 1 2 next>