Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Anti-vibration one-piece forged hammer with anti-slip handle. Patented tuning fork design reduces torsion and vibration. 75% larger head gives larger sweet spot and increased user accuracy.

Anti-vibration one-piece forged hammer with anti-slip handle. Patented tuning fork design reduces torsion and vibration. 75% larger head gives larger sweet spot and increased user accuracy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Fatmax Xtreme 20oz Avx Curve Claw Hammer
Review 1 for Fatmax Xtreme 20oz Avx Curve Claw Hammer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What A Performer...Why oh Why.
29 Apr 2014
By DIYorProfessional
, Warrington,Cheshire.
"Why oh why did i ever think that estwing was better for me. Not that i am knocking Estwing,But for me i will have to say this......
I owned one of the first Anti-Vibe hammers for a long time,I then was drawn to a Blue handled Nylon Estwing that reminded me of the good old times while being an Apprentice many many moons ago. Cleaned it up and before you know it the hammer looked as good as new. This is where things started to go down hill from then on. I started to get fatigue and pain in my right elbow (by christ it hurt). So i began to look in to Hammers the effects they can have on the body and instantly i thought about the Stanley AVX,The new breed of Anti-Vibe hammers. Thinking to myself,Would i get rid of this pesky arm issue if i used a different hammer ?. Well what i can tell you ?,Even though this annoying trouble with the pain in my arm has not gone 100% (which it probably never will anyway) I can say that i dismantled some pallet wood using my new AVX Hammer,A hefty 20oz one as well. I can vouch for the well being of how hammers are designed for ppl and for how they reduce the injuries caused to humans over a long period of usage. So what i am saying or trying to say is that with the aid of this fantastic hammer from stanley,yet again they have not let me down with a very thought out design in aiding with the ability to keep doing what i like doing within the woodworking/hobby that i have. no longer do i have to look at the prospect of hanging up my hammer for a few more years.So anyone thinking or having trouble should reconsider replacing the tool thats causing issues before giving up and putting it down to old age,lol.
"
Review 2 for Fatmax Xtreme 20oz Avx Curve Claw Hammer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does What it says on the tin
28 Dec 2013
By toonoc
, Sussex
"Awesome hammer, tad on the heavier side of claw hammers but i like that in my kit! Doesn't feel flimsy in any way handy magnet on the top of the head to keep your fingers out the way on the first strike on larger nails, shame this isn't designed for smaller nails which is where you want your fingers out the way! Nicer feel than an Estwing"
Review 3 for Fatmax Xtreme 20oz Avx Curve Claw Hammer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's a Hammerfor?
30 Jan 2013
By Bossmansir
, Sevenoaks
"Knocking in nails with!
Oh and all sorts of other stuff....... Seriously though... Perfectly balanced easy to use all day every day... the Fatmax Extreme"
Review 4 for Fatmax Xtreme 20oz Avx Curve Claw Hammer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant hammer
22 Jul 2011
By SpoonySparky
, stockton on tees
"didnt think it would be that different to other hammers when i first got it but i underestimated stanley, this is so comfortable to hold and the power you can get with it is more than expected.. i dont use a club hammer anymore when chasing out.. this is all the hammer you need, the anti vibe works for sure.. dont feel any vibrations through the handle at all.. buy it and youll never go back to a normal, cheaper hammer again!"
Review 5 for Fatmax Xtreme 20oz Avx Curve Claw Hammer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carpenters review.
2 Feb 2014
By oldskoolgaz
, Birmingham
"This is a VERY GOOD hammer but ranks 2nd place to estwing and ill explain why.
The build quality of the hammer is second to none and I highly doubt that you would ever break one. seriously you just wont break one of these hammers unless your using it as a wrecking bar.
The handle has extreme grip/ maybe to much grip in my opinion. The hammer tends to stay in the position that you've picked it up/ making it harder to micro adjust the position one handed like you can with an estwing. This also makes it harder to spin/ twist the hammer one handed if you wanted to use the claw side. The curved shaft doesn't help either.
This hammer has stupid grooves on the side of the hammer head making it impossible to tap chisels / knock things into place using the side of the hammer. That's a massive no no in my book.
The weight and balance is very forward which is a good thing for driving nails with fewer hits but it makes the tool feel more clumsy and also gives less speed and elegance making the tool more tiring to use for extended periods.
85 percent of the time hammers are not used to drive in nails. There used for other tasks.
To sum this hammer up I find it to be the perfect nail driver. The build quality is first rate. just remember 85 percent of the time hammers are not used to drive in nails."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fatmax Xtreme 20oz Avx Curve Claw Hammer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raaver 'andy
3 Aug 2011
By John221
, Yorkshire
"A good hefty hammer with surprisingly good handle damping & the handle's so soft you can use it as a soft hammer in it's own right! Plus the very well formed claw makes denailing simple. Well designed, well made, good product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fatmax Xtreme 20oz Avx Curve Claw Hammer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good hammer
18 Jun 2011
By Smitch
, Antrim
"this is good for hammering. the magnetic nail starter is only good for certain nails but the magnet is strong so it is useful for dropped nails or screws. I got this as i thought it would have the big head in it but that's only the 16oz but im still glad i have it"
Review 8 for Fatmax Xtreme 20oz Avx Curve Claw Hammer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stanley FatMax Claw Hammer
26 Sep 2011
By Larri
, London
"Having read the reviews on this hammer I can only assume some peaple are easily pleased. I have never handled a more badly designed and badly balanced, with the worst claw design. A load of gimmicks which don't measure up to much. The only place I would recommend it for is scrap."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.