Product Reviews

Mountfield Blower Vac

Mountfield Blower Vac
Average Customer Rating:
3.231 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
16 of 26(62%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Review 1 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value
5 Nov 2015
By
, Cambridge
" I went for the cheapest and it performed far better than I thought. "
Review 2 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield petrol blower
5 May 2015
By
, Bury
" Item works well. The engine started on the second attempt. After the first use started first time. Delivery was promised within 48 hours - came in 24 hours. Excellent piece of equipment matched with excellent service. "
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great leaf blower/vac
31 Dec 2014
By
, Leominster
" Bought this as replacement for the equivalent McCulloch which lasted less than a month before it stopped working. But of luck really as it was cheaper and lighter than the previous one. I live way out in the countryside and there are mountains of leaves each year so it has really been put through its paces this autumn and has not let me down.
Really happy with it so far.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little blower
26 Oct 2014
By
, london
" Bought this today and was not disappointed. Putting it together was a slight pain, the tubes can be difficult to fit as the plastic in smooth and difficult to rotate (hands kept slipping). Used a pair of dry marigolds and it worked a treat. Started with the hoover and it did the job no problems. Used the blower and it was great, blew all the leaves off the wet grass with no problems.
The measuring bottle which comes with the machine as someones already mentioned is a waste of time. "
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Petrol Leaf Blower
12 Dec 2012
By
, Surrey
" This garden appliance is excellent and has certainly performed exceptionally well. It has ample power and is easy to use. I would certainly recommend it to anyone needing a leaf blower. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best blower/vac I have used
13 Sep 2012
By
, Norwich
" I bought this to replace my McCulloch. I only used it for tidying my garden. It has a full crank engine with bearings either end although it doesn't state in the text which it should do. I was told they are much better.
The blower is not the lightest but certainly feels comfortable. The tubes are a little tricky to remove having had to rotate them to lock which is my only small gripe. It started fine and has a good meaty feel although did not use full wack as instructed to wear it in.
Mountfield make good garden tools and this is one of them. With £70 off it had to be bought.
Screwfix service excellent.arrived next day.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good all rounder
16 Nov 2015
By
, Cumbria
" Easy to put together and start although after reading other reviews we sought advice on the correct fuel mix.
Blows very well but was surprised at the amount of vibration on the hand. Will see if a lanyard helps "
Review 8 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Be aware
9 Oct 2015
By
, St Andrews
" Bought this as I liked the idea of both being able to vaccuum up leaves as well as blow them into piles. Adjusting from one mode to another is not straightforward and it took TWO PAIRS OF HANDS to untwist the plastic tubes, not an easy task! I have resigned myself to realising that what I have just bought is essentially a reasonably priced leaf blower. Forget switching between modes as it is just not worth the effort. It comes with a 1 litre fuel bottle which is marked on one side 25:1 and on the other 30:1. As it wasn't clear and WAS NOT MENTIONED ANYWHERE in the otherwise reasonable manual I had to phone Screwfix who passed me to Mountfield. Apparently the actual ratio to be mixed is 50:1. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plenty of blow
1 Sep 2015
By
, Wiltshire
" Got this today.. Will only ever use it for the blowing of leaves after hedge cutting. It's surprisingly very quiet for a petrol machine and has plenty of go in it.. Just as powerful as some of the top brands. "
Review 10 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Powerful machine
30 Dec 2014
By
, County Tyrone
" I bought this to clear leaves and beech nuts from my 180 foot drive which is lined with Beech trees, it does exactly what I want, if blowing or sucking the power is fantastic, highly recommended. Quick delivery and well packaged. "
Review 11 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good leaf blower great price
2 Dec 2014
By
, Northumberland
" Tried leaf blower was very good at removing leaves from driveway, was dissapointed that there was no lanyard to hold the leaf blower as vibration to hands, but will be easy sorted "
Review 12 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Garden blower
27 Aug 2014
By
, portsmouth
" Great price and does the job. seems well made and easy to start.
dual function vac and blow - swapping the tubes a bit of a faff at first , but easy once sussed. "
Review 13 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed!
16 Jun 2014
By
, Broadway
" We have a Willow tree that overhangs our decking, which drops leaves all over it, Even in the summer months. Sweeping is not possible as the leaves go through the gaps.... Bought this Blower / Vac to pick all these leaves up.
I have used the electric type Garden Vacs before and not been very impressed. This however does the job with ease.
Started first time out of the box.
Has a nice mulching feature on Vac as well so bag does not fill too quickly and contents can easily be emptied / Composted.
My only issues are that the supplied screwdriver/ spanner does not fit the screw you have to remove to change from Vac to blower and the mixing bottle does not have 50:1 scale (which is required for this machine) on it!!!!
minor things though really.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seem ok so far
31 Oct 2012
By
, Mansfield
" Used it for both blowing and as a vac and seems ok. As already written the tubes are difficult to fit/remove, the vac tube is EXTREMELY tight, I've had to file the plastic 'pips' down a bit and round them off which makes it far easier but the tube is just too tight a fit.
It vacs up well even on half throttle and have filled a ton bag so far.
Not so easy to start, the spark is very weak and it takes a lot of effort when the weather is cold, 10C and it starts fine, 5C and its a pain.
Weird that the supplied fuel mixer bottle has the wrong mixing instructions for this machine, its a 50:1 mix and the bottle only has markings for 25 or 33:1, I fill a pop bottle top (10ml) with oil and drop it in the bottle then top with 500ml petrol.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value
21 Oct 2012
By
, Cornwall
" I bought this because it was a recognized brand and has a good reputation. So far it has not let me down and is also good value for money. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than Stihl?
4 Oct 2012
By
, Essex
" Ok, so this is not a professional grade product like a Stihl but it does work like one.
The engine may be a bit louder and the whole thing may be an ounce heavier but it does work.
It was on offer at time of purchase and as i'd been saying for ages I needed a blower i saw it and purchased it.
Time will tell how good or bad it is but so far so good.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
premature failure
4 Jun 2015
By
, Northants
" Bought this otherwise perfect tool a couple of years ago and this week found both fuel lines had broken inside the fuel tank. managed to bodge a running repair but cant get replacement fuel lines as spare parts for the machine. Hunting for generic replacements is a pain because they are both different id and od dimensions and have to fit the fuel tank grommet to ensure a fuel seal....
my local garden tool specialist tells me the tool is a write off!
"
Review 18 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not as good as I thought
8 Jan 2015
By
, poole
" I've bought other Mountfield products in the past without any major problems.This was different matter, fitting it together before I used it, the blower tube fits easily, switching to a vacuum is a different matter, eventually got the first vacuum tube on, At one point I was using it as a blower with one of the vacuum pipes still attached as I couldnt remove the pipe. Then using it for a second time the choke lever snapped off making it difficult to start and wouldnt tickover. One worrying thing is the website instructions are different from the instructions you get with the machine nowhere in the English part do they state 50:1mix you have to look in the Italian part where they state 30:1 so which is right ??? "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrating tool
10 Oct 2014
By
, Reading
" I've had this blower for over a year and have been frustrated with it. The choke is very flimsy and it stalls when you try and increase the revs even after you've left it to "warm up" for ten minutes. Disapointed with Mountfield because my mower is a first class product! "
Review 20 for Mountfield MBL260H 25.4cc 2-Stroke Petrol Blower & Vacuum
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
avoid- don't waste your money
6 Jun 2016
By
, esher
" Like others, I ignored advice to avoid this product as Mountfield products are usually very good. This one is very poor. It's OK- ish once you can coax the thing to start. The positive reviewers either have some magic way of starting it , are using a different product or I'm a numpty. I've tried every combination and what works one time doesn't the next. I'm familiar with 2 strokes so know they can be temperamental. This one is a sulky, lazy teenager. "
Page : 1 2 next>