Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sheltered arbour with integral seating for two adults. Stylish roof with arched bearers and finial.

Sheltered arbour with integral seating for two adults. Stylish roof with arched bearers and finial.
Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Review 1 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Corner arbour
16 Sep 2011
By tez1
, Sale Cheshire
"Looks great definitely need drill for pilot holes and ideally electric screw driver.
Fitted to ground with 75mm fencing post inserts and it is really strudy so didnt need concrete or flag base than laid a short eckign bit to fron of the arbour..
Is a 2 person job to erect but I managed alone so can be done by one person if experienced enough just takes a bit longer.
Fits perfectly in corner of the garden and feels cosy.
Screwfix were the best price and eliver came in less than the 21 days advertised.
I put it up and gave it the protective coating then dismantled and painted again as I put it up so it will be ok for 2/3 years now but will do the roof every year.
My wife is delighted with it now its up and it is a real feature to the garden making use of space that was not being used.
I highly recommend this product and saving money by sourcing throiugh screwfix.
Sept 2011"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very cute, cosy Arbour
28 Sep 2013
By Trickynicki
, Dorset
"Took 2 big strong men 3 hours to put together, design of centre roof piece could have been easier. Overall excellent."
Review 3 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Corner Arbour
10 Aug 2013
By MariaJ
, Staffordshire
"Delighted with this Arbour. Made of substantial wood & very pleasing to the eye. It was delivered from Kings Lynn to my door by 10 a.m. & I was the fourth delivery stop. Hubby put it together with no fuss. It is amazingly heavy when completed. Great value for money in my opinion."
Review 4 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SHIRE GARDEN ARBOUR.
27 May 2012
By Santi100
, Sheffield.
"Although the timber is pressure treated, I sprayed each section with preservative prior to assembly. The assembly instructions, although being printed out of sequence, were fairly simple to follow. It is recommended that two people are needed for assembly but with a little experience of DIY, one person can manage the assembly as I did. I prepared a paved area for the base a week prior to delivery and with my drill and screwdriver at the ready, the whole construction took about five hours and now the completed 'Arbour' makes quite an attractive feature in what was quite a boring and uninteresting corner of the garden.
I purchased the 'Shire Garden Arbour' on line and after looking at several sites I found 'Screwfix' offering the best price. The delivery was conveniently arranged for a time to suit me. So In conclusion, If you are considering buying an Arbour as an interesting feature for the garden, I would recommend the 'Shire Arbour' as a good buy.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Corner Arbour
16 Apr 2012
By LittleOwl
, Dartford
"Although it's early days to test its durability and reliability etc. It seems that this Arbour is well manufactured. I will, however, give it a coat of paint to help its longevity.
I managed to errect this Arbour on my own which took about 3 hours but two people would obviously make it easier, if only as an extra pair of hands. everything slotted into place although some better instructions would have made it easier.
the whole unit seems solid enough and the wife seems happy with it. Although she expected it to be larger, but then she say's that about most things.
"
Review 6 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garden Arbour
11 Apr 2012
By Andone
, Bedfordshire
"Really really pleased with the garden Arbour, quality, price and overall design of the arbour are excellent."
Review 7 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good solid product
20 Mar 2011
By Anonymous
, Renfrewshire
"This is a first class product for the price. Very solid construction. If you have a corner to fill this is ideal. Instructions are pants, but if you are a reasonable DIY er you should have few problems. The roof is the most difficult, and I would recommend buying some strips of wood to finnish off
T & G sections of the roof that meet up with the roof support to stop rain entering down the edges, but apart from that I would recommend this product to anyone. I constructed the full item on my own but ideally you should have at least one more person to assist. For the price you cant better this.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
16 Mar 2011
By Anonymous
, Wiltshire
"Great product, delivery was quite speedy as well. Easy to put together, but instructions were tiny and not in any order.
Painted this product before putting together which when put together looks excellent.
Only minor concern was when it was delivered product was slightly damp and covered completly in mould, but a quick brush off removed this very easily.
"
Review 9 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Arbour
14 Aug 2014
By Lissan1
, omagh
"I was glad I took a gamble and ordered the Shire Arbour just from seeing the photograph and description given on the Scewfix website. Easy construction for the DIYer and looks first class in my garden. Quality product. Good customer service from Shire as well, kept me well informed re delivery. Highly recommended."
Review 10 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product poor instructions
17 Sep 2012
By HarryF
, West Wickham
"It looks great, some of the roof timbers were smashed, all the internal roof supports were poor, but you dont see them. The instructions in places were wrong, but a bit of common sense gets the job done. The only niggle was the gaps between the roof pannels and frame."
Review 11 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value arbour
18 Jun 2012
By Dave456
, UK
"This was surprisingly easy to assemble. The supplier did not provide any fixings (the delivery driver assured me they were included in the bundle of bits - they weren't!) but this wasn't a problem as I was planning on using better quality decking screws which hopefully will have a longer, rust-free, life. Agree with many comments below - the finish & cuts of the panels are rough in places and need some "tweaking" for a good fit. The seat section sags a lot when two people are sat at the sime time - I added an extra support leg underneath the front inside corner of the L-shaped seat section which is much better (many other arbours on the market seem to provide this type of support). The instructions point out the structure isn't waterproof but with a couple of coats of preservative and some silicone sealant on the joints between the roof panels and frame it has proved watertight even during the downpours of our great British summer. Good value compared to others on the market & the finished product looks good."
Review 12 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Corner Arbour
16 Apr 2012
By Coleman
, Tighnabruaich Argyll
"Excellent value,reasonable quality for the price, but the instructions are rather poor why they could not be formated to run in sequence and the right way up I have no idea.
The section on the roof assembly was particularly poor.
For the extra cost involved adding metal sliders to the central core piece into which to drop the 4 structs into would make it a whole lot easier and more importantly much more accurate to assemble to ensure the roof panels sit right.
Overall despite the above very pleased
"
Review 13 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value arbour
15 Apr 2012
By charbens
, Warwickshire
"This arbour is good value for money but the quality of timber used leaves a little to be desired, some of the parts were what you might call rough and ready. The roof is probably the trickiest bit to assemble and unfortunately the roof panels although fitting well leave a 6mm gap between the boarding and the roof trusses. For me this was not a problem as I was fitting shingles to the roof panels so could cover up these gaps. If you are prepared to put in a bit more work like painting the panels and putting shingles on the roof then you will end up with a fine looking arbour for a reasonable cost."
Review 14 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Corner Arbour
12 Apr 2012
By Belle2
, Dorset
"This sturdy arbour and attractive was quickly put up by a friend without too much trouble. The roof was a bit difficult to assemble without some help. The finished thing looked good but there were gaps in the roof which will need some attention.
It looks great in my garden!
"
Review 15 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shire Corner Arbour
11 Mar 2012
By Eldon
, Holywell North Wales
"Promptly delivered. 2 damaged panels replaced immediately without fuss. Assembly instructions clear and easy to follow. Difficult to attach the roof beams to centre post. Needed sealant to fill gaps between roof panels and beams. Very satisfied with resulting structure which we constructed in one day - faster than anticipated."
Review 16 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shire corner arbour
25 Jun 2011
By idiot
, scunthorpe
"I saved £50 by shopping round, screw fix was the cheapest.
Everything went well putting it up , until we got to the roof, the roof is a night mare, it would not square up correctly, took us 3 nights to put roof together, still does not sit on the chair correctly. Had to put some extra bits of wood in to make it sit level...
"
Review 17 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Experience.
26 Jul 2012
By Nellspeed
, Hereford
"Quality not as good as the picture shows.
Assembly instructions not the best.
Company that delivers the item are unreliable - 21 days qouted for delivery, the item arrived 2 weeks after this - still waiting for a missing item. Telephone contact with the company not a nice experience.
"
Review 18 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
poor manafacture
29 Apr 2012
By howster
, Rotherham
"Good design but poor assembly of individual pieces eg rough sawn ends,wood frame work poor quality and nails sticking through in places.Delivery was one week late and was just piled up on my drive like a heap of bonfire wood not on a pallet or any packaging what so ever poor service for the price"
Review 19 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
An adequate garden arbour
27 Jul 2011
By rkm37
, New Forest
"It does what it says on the tin, and all the parts - and reasonable assembly instructions - arrive on a pallet. The quality of the wood is adequate though by no means good - with lots of knots and rough surfaces. The seat of ours was particularly rough. The EXACT number of screws are supplied, so you can't afford to lose or mangle any!
The instructions are easy to understand, though not altogether easy to execute. Assembling the cruciform structure for the roof is particularly difficult unless you're an octopus - since you need to hold the awkward shaped parts together at exactly the right angle while you insert the screws. The roof panels fit BETWEEN the diagonal supports - not over them - and it's virtually impossible to avoid slight gaps through which daylight can be seen - and through which rain would leak in. [I ran some sealant down the inside of mine to try to prevent leaks].
The delivery arrangements are a nightmare - particularly if you can only receive it at certain times. [Mine is at my holiday property and needed to be delivered while I was in residence there]. Once Screwfix have passed the order to their supplier (Shire) that is the end of their involvement. They won't supply contact details for Shire so you have to wait for Shire to contact you. When it is ready for delivery several weeks later, Shire pass it to their delivery agents. Shire won't tell you who their agents are so, again, you have to wait for them to contact you. This is all very nerve wracking if you need it to be delivered within a fairly narrow time window. In my opinion, Screwfix need to take a much more hands-on approach to orders which come direct from the supplier. As it is, you receive the 'despatched' email once the ORDER has gone to the supplier!
Now that it's painted (two coats prior to construction) and assembled, it looks quite good and we are reasonably pleased with it.
So would I recommend it? Yes - but only if you're a pretty competent DIY-er because you're likely to find that you'll need to develop a few new unexpected skills!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Corner Arbour 1.2 x 1.2 x 2.4m
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ummmh
20 May 2012
By fixitsteve
, lincolnshire
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Firstly the unit arrived with parts missing.
Once assembly was underway I realised that the roof panels did not meet up (see pic units in place).. I noted the bevel had been cut the wrong way and I contacted Shire. Replacement panels were collected by me some weeks later from their Wisbech depot..
The overall quality and finish is not good. The thin boards are not accurately machined and without a plane a snug fit would not have been possible. The materials are thin...
Yes you can get a structure that resembles the picture but dont look too closely...
"