Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Basket Strainer

Basket Strainer
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Basket Strainer
Review 1 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value for money
17 Dec 2014
By Sparkey
, Warwickshire
" Old one broke, this fitted perfectly and no leaks first time ! just make sure you don't tighten the middle bolt too tight - don't want to risk breaking the plastic fitting. "
Review 2 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality
2 Dec 2014
By Geoheat
, Rhuddlan
" Good quality product and fair price,. Helpful staff , always have a smile. Great offers on all the time and if you can't find something they will go out there way to find it for you. "
Review 3 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
looking for a pair?
25 Sep 2014
By rrss
, brentwood
" this item matches up with stock 74806 if you need a pair for your sink. large diy stores had poor stock - or none at all and prices were mad. Screwfix had stock at the store ready to go and were less than half price. they are also better quality than the originals! "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the Job
18 Jun 2014
By BigPea
, West Yorkshire
" What's to say. It's a basket waste for a kitchen sink. It fits. It seems well made enough and it was half the price of any that I could find elsewhere. The seal on it is good which is the most important thing.
For me is was slightly shorter than the one it replaces as it has no side connection on. But pipework was flexible enough to work with it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sink strainer
16 Dec 2013
By gezman
, rotherham
" good value for the money well made good looking does the job "
Review 6 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quality, for price :)
7 Nov 2012
By Dazman18
, Stoke-on-Trent
" Fitted two of these because the rubber had perished on the one's supplied with the sink i installed a few years back.Quick simple to do, excellent price,some places wanted more than i paid to just supply the strainer, without the plug hole. Would recommend to anyone, just watch out for the sharp edges,around the plug hole when you install them, they are razor sharp "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
strainer basket
4 Sep 2012
By saltashron
, Saltash Cornwall
" the item I purchased from screwfix was first class ,the person on the phone was very polite and very professional , and the next day delivery was second to none , I recommend this product and screwfix any time , well pleased "
Review 8 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
25 Jun 2010
By Houseman007
, Milton Keynes
" Was a bit dubious when I saw the packing but when I actually installed it and now that has been more than a year that's been there, I've had no problem what so ever and every time I clean it it shins like the first day I bought it. Fabulous stuff, won't go wrong, no dripping no leaking. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
30 Nov 2009
By Ashmondo
, Hertfordshire
" Bought this for a sink from a certain large swedish chain whose own trap and waste kit was extortionate! Fitted prefectly. "
Review 10 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does exist
16 Aug 2009
By Chalicia
, West Midlands
" I have never written a review about any product in my life but was more than happy to create a username etc just so that I can let others know about this product.
My original basket strainer had a rubber bung which deteriorated and therefore the basket could no longer plug in.
When I went to the supplier, they said you can't get a replacement and the only solution would be to buy a new sink!
My husband and I everywhere where we though we'd be able to find another basket strainer but to no avail.
My last attempt to try and find one was to search on the internet and the rest is history.
I ordered 2 basket strainers and they were delivered the next day. My husband installed the basket to my new sink with no problems. Unfortunately one of the sinks needed the other type (9.87). I then realised that I have a Screwfit store nearby so simply got a hassle free exchange without having to post the product.
I'm over the moon and can now throw away the basin that didnt even fit in the sink and use my kitchen sink properly. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value
26 Mar 2009
By DonR
, Brixham, Devon
" You'd think you could get replacement washers for Basket Strainer plugs but I couldn't find them. Then I saw Screwfix were selling the whole Basket Strainer assembly for £5.99 - now we've got sinks that hold water until we let it go and a complete absence of "when are you going to fix that sink?" Great deal or what! "
Review 12 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Value and Service
7 Feb 2009
By stockie
, Merseyside
" I bought these two units as replacements for an existing double kitchen sink unit, on which the original basket strainers had failed. I had searched the high street and had almost given up hope of finding replacements, after being advised by several famous DIY outlets and some smaller bathroom specialists, that the only options were to buy a whole new sink unit or purchase two individual strainers at upwards of £50 each - all tried to justify their outrageous prices by classing them as a special order. Then a Screwfix leaflet landed on my doorstep. I visited the website, found the exact product I was looking for, ordered it on Saturday afternoon for standard delivery, and it arrived the following Monday morning - standard delivery, cheaper and faster than most premium express services !! The box was enormous, and on unpacking, I found that not only were the two basket strainers ordered included, but so were two new sink waste fitments and pipes. They came as complete units, together with easy to follow instructions, so I now have two brand new waste outlets - fitted in a matter of hours. Two complete units cost less than £5 each and standard delivery was less than £5 - substantially less than the £100+ it would have cost on the high street. The basket strainers and sink rims are high grade stainless steel and the overall quality is excellent - better than the originals in fact. I sent two query emails to Screwfix and the replies came within minutes. I found the overall service to be excellent, I got fantastic value for money, and needless to say the website now has a shortcut on my desktop. I would have no hesitation in recommending them. "
Review 13 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good idea for a Swedish sink
14 Oct 2014
By tamber
, Wales
" We inherited a Swedish sink with the house and the drainage just never worked. Eventually I got round to replacing the whole lot. This, coupled with 21296 telescopic P trap, did the job. The sink overflow connects onto the appliance hose connector on the P trap. I just held the overflow pipe in place with a zip tie.
This seems a better bet than the other Screwfix strainer 74806 because the overflow connector on that seems to be causing headaches
Even an amateur like me was able to get the sink draining well and without leaks in about half an hour. What's not to like ?
And as others said, this fits a 90 mm sink hole "
Review 14 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waste Trap
5 Jul 2014
By FastDog
, Scotland
" The product is very good quality
I just wish the web site gave more details of dimension/thread sizes/depths etc "
Review 15 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waste not want not.
2 Jun 2014
By CantDIY
, Sandhurst
" What started out as a simple tap change turned into a major overhaul as the drainer sink waste snapped off on removal. Luck for me that screw fix had a direct replacement that was a perfect fit and really looks the job. All that and very good value for money. Screwfix saves the day yet again. "
Review 16 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job as it should
12 May 2013
By Anonymous
, leicestershire
" see title. what else can I say, its only a sink plug and strainer "
Review 17 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A superb product
15 Mar 2013
By pazrob
, Lincolnshire
" I recently purchased this product to replace an old wast master unit. It does exactly what it is described for and as per usual, you cannot beat the Screwfix Price.
My rating is only slightly less than the perfect score due to the fact there is no mention that this product fits a 90mm hole or that the pipe connection suits a 40mm push fit.
These little extra bits of information can save the customer a wasted purchase or return journey. "
Review 18 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sink Strainer without overflow
26 Nov 2011
By Punter
, Brighton
" This pairs with Brushed Stainless Steel Sink Strainer Waste (74806), which has an overflow connection, although this isn’t immediately obvious from the current photos. The plastic bowl is slightly different (overflow connection aside, obviously) and is a couple of mm shallower, but all the other bits are identical. For most double bowl sinks you’ll probably want one of each. Quality is only adequate, but then the price is reasonable - you pays your money, etc. The large stainless steel central screw threads into plastic - do not over tighten! (use a small coin, not a big screwdriver...) "
Review 19 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit
14 Dec 2008
By CALVIN
, Burnley
" Good value for money and simple to fit even for an amateur. Cheaper that DIY stores "
Review 20 for Basket Strainer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nasty
1 Jul 2012
By Gazzagaz
, Hemel Hempstead
" My solid brass kitchen sink waste has lost it's decorative chrome finish. Can't complain, it must be 45 years old. Bought this as a replacement but upon inspection i found a hairline crack in the cheap and nasty plastic. If this item was intact, i can't see it lasting from the knocks it gets when items are shoved in the cupboard. It doesn't take much water to do a lot of damage to a kitchen unit. Not risking it, i shall return this and purchase a nice solid brass one but not from Screwfix as they do not stock them. I know a decent waste will be more expensive but quality comes at a price. "