Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Varilight Dimmer 2G 2x 250W/VA

Varilight Dimmer 2G 2x 250W/VA
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Review 1 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The answer to LED dimming
12 Apr 2016
By
, North Herts
" Bought this to replace a conventional dimmer that sort-of worked with dimmable LEDs, as long as at least one halogen (50W) bulb was left in the circuit. That unit failed eventually. The new one performs perfectly with 100% LEDs in the circuit, well worth the extra cost. Can't comment on reliability as too little time has passed. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dimmer, very good value
4 Feb 2016
By
, Peterborough
" Just fitted this in my mums house for her new lights, very impressed at the ease of use and how it copes with both low and high loads (initially running c. 120w per channel. now running c. 18w per channel (LED).)
the only complaint would be that the dimmer switch stands proud of the mounting plate such that you can see some metal work inside. "
Review 3 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Delighted
9 Jan 2016
By
, Hillingdon
" I purchased and fitted this dimmer pair a couple of days ago. Each dimmer feeds a single Philips LED lamp. The combination works beautifully with smooth flicker free dimming. The minimum setting produces a very subtle but still warm light . Dimmer programming allows this to be reduced even further to something very faint. I'm very happy with the purchase
There was a compatibility issue initially with a pair of 10W dimmable OSRAM bulbs I'd fitted. These lamps would not illuminate. Varilight customer services said that there were some compatibility issues with certain OSRAM bulbs, hence my follow up purchase of the philips
For anyone who might be interested , the phillips product number of the 9 W (60 W), B22, warm Glow bulb is 8718696481264. I think that Screwfix have these under their own product number "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best dimmers around
10 Dec 2015
By
, London
" Have always used varilight dimmers for years, now with low power LED lights we are replacing Halogen 35/50w GU10 down lights with LED's that use around 5w, about a 80-90% power saying.
Well standard dimmers only dim to about 40w but these V-pro's go as low as 10w so as long as you have two or more lamps on the switch you will get a very stable dim as long as you LED's are the dimmable type,
Always keep a switch or two in my bag, or should I say the dimmer modules as we tend to strip the switch down to use the modules as SF don't sell the dimmer module hence we strip them down. Plus its cheaper to buy a 2G white dimmer than 2 x modules at my local electrical wholesalers.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well with my LED bulbs
16 Nov 2015
By
, Warwick
" Why would anyone want to fit a dimmer now that doesn't work well with LED bulbs? This worked out of the box with mine. For me that really is the best thing about it - the quantity and quality of light from the latest generation of LED bulbs has made my living room a much better place to be at night than it used to be - and there is a substantial energy saving as well. Its thanks to this dimmer that I have been able to use them.
I didn't have to change the dimming mode but there are alternative modes if you need to try them. I did change the minimum setting - fading to black is more theatrical than really useful.
My previous Varilight dimmer was still going strong after 25 years or so - I hope this one does as well. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Buzz from this baby!
28 Sep 2015
By
, Cardiff
" I used this dimmer for a "Next" Lana light fitting.
It’s a 12Volt Halogen fitting with an electronic transformer 240v/12vdc (20W halogen G4 bulbs). The original dimmer made the light fitting buzz severely. This was the only dimmer I have found that stops the buzzing. Training edge must be the difference!
"
Review 7 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ideal for the job
29 May 2015
By
, north kent
" Trailing edge dimmer, a must for LED lamps. Nice smooth action so much so client asked me to change out his other switches. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dimmer switch
16 Jan 2015
By
, Aberdeen
" Easy to fit, great value for money. No buzzing. Need to check instructions as they have an initial setting to be set when first used. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential for Halogen bulbs
8 Dec 2014
By
, Staffs
" It's important you buy dimmer switches which are designed specifically for using with halogen bulbs. Even though basic dimmers may work in a fashion you may find they emit a buzzing sound. Equally there is a good chance the bulbs or switch may blow.
I am using this double Varilight dimmer switch to operate two light units containing 4*33w G4 halogen bulbs in each fitting.
The switch works perfectly with no buzzing noises. It is probably a worthwhile economy to purchase good quality bulbs.
Although more expensive than a "basic" dimmer switch it is certainly worth the extra cost.
I am confident that the switch will prove reliable in the long term.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dimmer switch
17 Nov 2014
By
, Yateley
" I have been through a few dimmer switches over the past few years and changed to LED bulbs in place of GU10 units about a year ago, they never worked that well with the last dimmer we had but I think that is because the GU10's were at the maximum of what the switch could handle and it died.
Bought this switch after reading the other reviews and it works perfectly straight out of the bag with no setting up required.
Perfect!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for LED lighting
19 Sep 2014
By
, Watford
" As per other reviews I bought this as my existing dimmer causes my LED bulbs to flicker which was unbearable.
This dimmer is superb, great range of dimming from very low (almost off) to very bright and doesn't flicker at all. Haven't tried the programmable features as it works great for me out of the box just how I want it.
More expensive than standard dimmer switches but worth it for LED bulbs and the quality looks good. "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little dimmer
23 Aug 2014
By
, perth
" A well made dimmer switch, witch can dim almost any type of light.
The programmable features are easy to use and make setting a rooms min and max light level simple.
"
Review 13 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trailing edge
9 Nov 2013
By
, Feltham
" Perfect for LED dimming, pretty generic design, simple wiring. Make sure the LEDs are dimmable. Does the job. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
an excellent dimmer
6 Feb 2016
By
, Worcestershire, UK
" Easy to fit and works well with the Phillips LED bulbs I also bought. As others have commented this is deeper that the old dimmer I replaced and I have had to order a spacer from another supplier as screwfix does not stock these. "
Review 15 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Dimmer - Great Service
9 Nov 2015
By
, Clopton
" These dimmers are excellent! Out of the box they do a great job on LED lights and there are even more options to adjust the set up of the dimmer. Made in England too! "
Review 16 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A must for LED bulbs
3 Jun 2015
By
, Berkshire
" Easy to fit. Default dimming mode gives about 50% light reduction with the bulbs I bought - haven't tried alternate trailing edge mode or configuration yet. Still think these LED products are over-priced with a long return on investment but maybe I'll save the planet meantime. "
Review 17 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Dimmer
15 Apr 2015
By
, Northampton
" Perfect general use dimmer. Dims beautifully and easy to configure max and minimum dimmer brightness. Working with our new dimmable LED downlights. As our lights have built in driver units they can be damaged over a period of time with conventional devices. This dimmer provides trailing edge control. i.e. turn it on or up and it gently raises the light. This prevents damage from in-rush current. Knocked off one star as although they are low cost the do feel a little cheap. Small thing but just misses out on a perfect score. "
Review 18 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what's claimed
10 Feb 2015
By
, East Barnet
" Unlike the older leading edge triggered dimmers this trailing edge version works with dimmable LED lights without causing any flicker. It also works with incandescent lamps and also has a good feel operationally. "
Review 19 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dimmer
21 Nov 2014
By
, Andover
" Have to recommend because there doesnt seem to be much else out there at the moment for LED lamps. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Varilight Trailing Edge Push Dimmer 2G 1/2W 2 x 250W/VA
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Trailing Edge Dimmer
13 Oct 2014
By
, Dorset
" I needed to replace my existing dimmer (leading edge) to enable the dimming of the LED GU10 bulbs that have now replaced the halogen ones. This product was perfect, a simple straight replacement that was exactly the same size as the original. Wiring was easy and it works perfectly. Can't judge reliability yet. "
Page : 1 2 next>